We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rock B&B to your Saves list
The Rock B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3nts B&B for 2 from £165
Ranked #1 of 10 Coleford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have been staying at the Rock for several years when I've been working in the area, which was every 5 weeks. I've always found Chris and Lindy very welcoming, and easy to get along with. They supply a superb breakfast in the morning, and it's local produce as well. Chris will happily advise you on local attractions and walks that will keep you amused during the day.
Interested in Astronomy? Have a word with Chris, and with luck on a clear night a telescope will appear, and you'll be shown a few of the more familiar sights in the universe.
All in all a wonderful place to stay, even though I no longer work in that area, my wife and my self still visit, and will continue to. Wonderful place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    34
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
179
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I selected this b&b for it's top reviews and trip advisor award for excellence. Christ and Lyndy couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. I hired a studio to accommodate my two young children and I and my parents had a separate studio with stunning views. Both were very comfortable and perfect for us all. The breakfasts were delicious and portions were generous! Christ was particularly helpful with advice for beautiful walks from the door step, in particular the walk to Symmonds Yat rock - breathtaking!

We couldn't fault The Rock and would highly recommend it to families, couples and singles looking for a b&b that ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Booking a studio room/s offers flexibility for family bookings and rooms are quite with the end stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent five nights at The Rock and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Both accommodation and food was excellent. The owners were friendly and always able to advise us on the locality, walks and venues. Ample car parking.

Our room was spacious and well furnished and the bed linen was pure cotton which, for me, was a bonus!

We shall definitely return for another holiday at The Rock and have already recommended it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Forest views and long distance views across the most beautiful landscape/hills from rooms. Also an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had the absolute pleasure of staying here for an entire month. I was treated just like one of the family, I felt so at home. Chris and Lindy were the perfect hosts, food was exactly to my liking and I could never tire of 'that' amazing view. I will definitely return, if they will have me again!
Stanley J.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June as we were attending a Wedding at Clearwell Castle and so pleased we stayed at "The Rock". Our room was lovely with beautiful views and Chris made the most wonderful breakfast. The Information pack in the room was really helpful with places to eat - we would never have found the local pubs otherwise!
The only disappointing thing was the weather! Gales ripped through Wales when we were there and we couldn't sit on the rocking chair on the balcony and enjoy the view, which I was looking forward to. Unfortunately it didn't stop raining for the 4 days we were there. We would love to stay again and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My mum and I have just got back from a great time at Symonds Yat. We stayed at The Rock B&B for just one night. And were made to feel very welcome. We were meet at the car and taken to our room, we had the twin room with a forest view. The room was very pretty and spotlessly clean with views directly into the forest. We made a cup of tea and went to sit in the gardens to take in the stunning views before taking a stroll to the peregrine viewing point at the rock. The viewing point in only a short walk from the B&B and is seasonly manned by RSPB so you can get a little lesson on these wonderful birds. After a bite to eat at the pub we headed back to the B&B. The beds were very comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep. In the morning we were greeted by Lindy as we went down for breakfast and she suggested other ideas for a day out. Breakfast was delicious and was made using local ingredients. Overall we had a brilliant time and would highly recommend it, friendly people, clean rooms and lovely breakfast. Thank you, we will be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Rock B & B for 2 nights in June and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The studio accommodation was just right and had direct access to the garden, the dogs Oscar & Arthur, and the views. Chris recommended a couple of walks, including the one to Symonds Yat mentioned by an earlier reviewer - great easy walk with lovely views. Lovely breakfast - unable to fault the whole stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rock B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock B&B

Address: Hillersland | The Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stay at The Rock B&B Coleford near Symonds Yat Rock offers great value bed and breakfast in the Forest of Dean providing friendly family run Guest accommodation. Equidistant between Coleford, Monmouth and Ross on Wye within a mile of the Herefordshire, Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire borders, making this is a great place to explore the Welsh Borders Wye Valley and Ancient Forest of Dean by foot car or bike. Also, if you looking for B&B in Symonds Yat, The Rock B&B offers 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation. Located at 600ft one the ridge between the Wye and Ruardean Valleys The Rock B&B offers 25 mile views and is a short forest walk from Symonds Yat Rock in Gloucestershire and close to Symonds Yat East and Symonds Yat West, Ross on Wye, Herefordshire and the Symonds Yat Rock RSPB Peregrine view point. The Symonds Yat Walks start only 30 paces away from the door and activities such as river cruises, horse riding, climbing, canoeing, Lama treking and fishing are close by. A seven bedroom friendly family run establishment the rock offers a great value alternative to the Symonds Yat Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Rock B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock B&B Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.