We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown and Sandys Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Crown and Sandys Restaurant
Main Road | Ombersley, Droitwich WR9 0EW, England
01905 620252
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crown and Sandys Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 51 Restaurants in Droitwich
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just back from having family meal and feel a little disappointed by the experience. Now I know it's Sunday and a cold February day but the welcome inside was almost as cold. It was not busy but the staff were like the crew of the Marie Celeste.
When we managed to get served the food was good and flavoursome so that helped.
There was a slight problem with the bill but this was rectified.
Overall not a brilliant experience.

Have dined at the Ewe & Lamb Bromsgrove (same group own both) and never had recent to mark the place down at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

January - a typically slow month in the service industry, when you would think pubs and restaurants would bend over backwards to attract paying customers. Not so at the Crown and Sandys, which apparently can afford to employ staff with little understanding of good manners and what decent pub food looks like. Hubby and I popped in for Saturday lunch and chose from the set menu deal, offering two courses and a bottle of wine for around £30. I am pleased we didn't waste any more of our hard earned cash in this place, I could have eaten better in a Burger King, and that's saying something.

My starter of a chorizo and tomato tart was inedible. Pastry already broken into eight pieces when it arrived on the table, extremely dry with tomato mush and burnt chorizo chunks, and on a bed of week old rocket. Waitress's response was: "Ok, I'll let the kitchen know". Fish for main course most definitely not fresh, peas stone cold.

What really took the biscuit was the staff attitude. Having paid for our meal at the bar. Waiter marched up to my husband at our table and loudly announced to the whole room that he would have to pay £1 extra because he wanted cheese on his beef burger. Then at the end of our meal we were presented with another bill. When my husband politely mentioned that we had in fact already settled the bill, the waitress, realising her mistake when a colleague also called to her from the bar, then completely ignored him and just walked off without apology.

Poor food, poor service and we'll never go again. Why would you bother when there are several other lovely pubs in Ombersley?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Meal with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited the Crown and Sandys on the spur of the moment to be pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome, roaring fire and excellent menu. We haven't visited here since the Summer of 2012 when the overall experience was mediocre. They have definitely upped their game, the staff were very welcoming and attentive, the young man that served us was professional and very accommodating. We chose from the deal menu which was unbelievable value, two courses and a bottle of house wine £30 for 2 people. The food was superb, freshly cooked, hot plates, well presented and crispy linen napkins! Delightful! I think they serve food all day, always a bonus. The ambience is relaxing and the glowing warm fire made all the difference. Can't wait now to return for a summer visit and sit in the sunshine, but maybe we will have to enjoy this again sooner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went here on Christmas Eve. Staff were rude & seemed more intent on looking at themselves in the mirrors. Toilets were just full of pineapple smell with towels on floor. Had a pint of Timothy Taylor beer which was flat within 10 seconds of pouring. No atmosphere to the place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food, superb service, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's been a while since I've eaten here, but popped over for lunch last week. The pub was very busy, virtually every table taken but the lovely manageress ( Rachael?) was incredibly helpful, finding us a table, ensuring we were looked after and not overlooked as we were sitting by the bar. The food was tasty, the portions were generous but not over-facing and the pricing was very acceptable. I would certainly recommend this place for lunch and am looking forward to going again for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown and Sandys Restaurant also viewed

Ombersley, Worcestershire
Holt, Worcestershire
 
Ombersley, Worcestershire
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Crown and Sandys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown and Sandys Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.