We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you seen James Bond's 'A View to a Kill?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre to your Saves list
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Have you seen James Bond's 'A View to a Kill?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed one night as working in the area. Booked mainly on price but had also driven past and the view, even from the road is glorious!

Price was presumably due solely to the inexplicable lack of guests on the night.

What you get for your money is everything towards a four star hotel complex and the service is more reminiscent of five star.

Stayed in the annex accommodation, which wasn't unexpected bearing in mind the price I'd paid and, although teh room was perfectly appointed, did suffer a lack of temperature control. They are internal rooms, facing an internal walkway and an atrium. No air con means that it cooked a little and as its inherent in the design not much that they could do.

Food was good, and reasonably proceed, but depending on what you want/need the standout feature are the grounds/views which in truth I didn't really get to enjoy as had to be up early next morning.

Will probably return at some point for a more social stay.

Room Tip: If its what you want, make sure you specify a Chateau room and check the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Chateau Impney. Our staff all take great pride in the service they provide and will be very happy to see your kind comments.

We do have renovation plans for the Impney Court which will address both the design and quality of these rooms. Our prices do change based on demand and as Sundays are inherently quiet in most hotels we are able to offer our very best rates on most Sundays.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back for a social stay in the near future.
Kind regards,
Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    197
    104
    54
    65
See reviews for
102
255
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights, I actually live not far away in Worcester, but as too many family members are visiting my home currently, I decided to escape with my partner for a couple of nights of peace :) I remember my visits as a child in the 1970's, it was seen as very posh to go for Sunday lunch there, I held it in awe when I was a kid. So it was nice to visit again to see what has happened to the old place after the last few years of neglect, decline and mismanagement. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, both at reception and in the bar and restaurants. I understand that refurbishment is underway which is good as some of the rooms are tired, but if you like the retro feeling you will be at home :) Our room is awaiting a makeover, but it was nonetheless spacious and comfortable with wonderful views to the beautiful gardens, complimentary tea, coffee and flatscreen TV. If you stay here, check out the history as the Chateau has a colourful but sometimes sad past. I hope the new owners Greyfort Properties maintain the current standards and continue to give this eloquent old lady the TLC she deserves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of Chateau Impney. This beautiful property has seen some challenging times in recent years, but the work is underway to bring her back to the grandeur you experienced as a child. We have completed work on some of the rooms in the original Chateau, and work is now underway in some more rooms, our function rooms and our restaurant.

As always, our staff will be thrilled to read your kind comments about their service. Our owners are extremely dedicated to giving this grand old lady the makeover she most thoroughly deserves and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to see the progress we are making very soon.

Kind regards,
Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went here for an evening meal with my friend from work. The surroundings were lovely, it was lit up at night which was brilliant. The food was good, and good value too. We ate in Jasons Caring Room restaurant , 3 courses for £18.99 including a veggie options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Jason’s Carvery at Chateau Impney. We are delighted you and your friend enjoyed the great value carvery we serve and the beautiful setting of the Chateau.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were somewhat worried following the reviews we read on here beforehand. However we had an excellent stay at the Chateau Impney and look forward to returning again next year if not before.

The drive up to the chateau is beautiful and very grand with green fields, horses, sheep, ducks and ponies making you feel like you are miles away from the M5, although actually it is just around the corner so a very convenient stop off if travelling as we were.

We were checked in to the main house by a friendly and efficient receptionist who could not do enough to help. Our room was well decorated and modern but still in keeping with the building, lots of wooden furniture. The room was a little small and you had to shimmy past the radiator to get into bed but it was perfectly adequate and extremely clean. The window was also directly above the bed which was great for keeping cool and laid in bed with the window open you could believe you were miles in the country or in a time long ago!

We ate in Jason's carvery and the food was excellent and the service very good with every single member of staff being polite, friendly and making it clear that they were available for anything you needed. My only slight criticism of the whole stay would be that waiters should make sure that diners are settled with a drink before taking food orders and bringing out food as our starter arrived before our drinks. An extremely tiny complaint when faced with such a wonderful location and excellent food. As for the decor of the dining room, yes it may be old fashioned (or dated as some have called it) however we loved it, little alcoves to sit in made it romantic and the beams added ambience. I hope they don't change this with renovations...oh and as for only older people liking this, we are late 20s/early 30s so i hope we still count as relatively young.

We had a lovely walk around the grounds after dinner and then had a drink in the garden, again the bar staff were friendly and efficient. The bed was the comfiest i have slept in for a long time and i seldom sleep well in hotels. I slept a full 9 hours and still didnt want to get up to travel home the next day.

Unfortunately we didnt have breakfast but overall this was an unexpectedly wonderful stay. My only worry is that the prices will increase after refurbishment and we wont be able to afford to stay again next year. Thankyou for a fantastic stay and meal, all at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and the dining in the restaurant. Our staff are always pleased to see the feedback on their service and they will be delighted with your kind comments. We know our guests have a choice on where to stay and we pride ourselves on providing the attentive service which sets us apart.

We do have plans to update the restaurant area but rest assured, we will be doing our very best to maintain the unique feel that is Chateau Impney.

Our website always has our latest offers and best pricing for your future stays and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

For many years I used to drive past Chateau Impney and admire it, wishing I could stay there, however, now I have the illusion has been shattered. The building itself is stunning as are the views over the Malvern Hills, unfortunately it goes downhill from there.
I was booked into a room at the back of the Hotel in what is called the Court. The room had no outside window, no air-conditioning and to say it was dated is an understatement. Carpeted throughout, (including the bathroom), the whole scene was depressive. Toilet seats not fixed and the wrong size, damp smell, shower hose leaking, cobwebs in main room... . It was impossible to sleep as whenever anyone came into or went out of the building, the noise ricocheted around the courtyard and seemed to amplify and the room was stuffy and hot.
I wont continue but I complained and was offered an apartment which a least had an outside windows! The apartment was of generous proportions but really was like visiting a Crossroads set in the 1970's. Once again, lack of cleaning (animals living in he curtain pleats) etc., did not make for a relaxed sleep.
I have to say the staff were very helpful and did their best to assist whenever they were asked for assistance, it just felt as though they were swimming against the tide of lack of investment.
The evening carvery (admittedly for over 60 people) was another cause for concern. We were served our starters at 7.15pm but were not able get to carvery until 8.50pm. By having an additional member of staff serving, this could have been avoided.
Overall, I wish Chateau Impney well but it will take some serious investment to bring the rooms up to an acceptable modern level.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I were invited to the Chateau on the night of Saturday, 29th June. To attend a good friends 60th birthday party together with another 16 guests. As you approach the grounds and building are breathtaking. We checked into room 605 which overlooked the gardens and had been recently decorated and was spotless clean. Our party dined downstairs in Jason's Carvery the food was of good quality with ample choice and was hot. The staff were friendly and did their utmost to give us a good evening. We finished our evening sitting in the grounds as it was a beautiful evening. We would recommend a stay at this hotel it is an experience and although the dining area is a little dated we do really think to change it would spoil the overall character of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 605 which overlooked the grounds had recently been upgraded and was nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated rooms and the overall setting that makes the Chateau so unique. Our staff take great pride in providing the very best service and as such, will be very happy to see your kind comments.

We are about to start on the renovation to the dining area to bring it more up to date and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends to dine with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmile, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here with a large group (over 100) for 3 nights. The location is fantastic being a French style Chateau on an elevated position overlooking a river with an ornamental bridge and water meadows grazed by horses and sheep. Our room was in the Chateau and overlooked the formal gardens and fountains. I think that our room must have been recently refurbished - I couldn't fault it.
If you stay here ask for a Chateau room overlooking the gardens.
The staff were attentive and very helpful.
The dinners in the ground floor dining rooms were great. The decor is excellent, service and food really good although I think that the broccoli would have benefited from about 2 hours less cooking, for me it was inedible.
I would recommend this this hotel to anyone and hope to stay here again ( But I wont eat the broccoli)
Jasons Carvery is in the basement and reminded me of the 1970/1980's Berni Inns, rough plaster, exposed stone and dark wood furniture with the odd set of swords and suit of armour thrown in. Dead old fashioned but I hope that they don't change much when it's re-vamped.
The down side was waiting 25 mins for the carvery. One man was having to
cut meat and sort out diners and two others dithered about serving veg etc. WHY??? Get this sorted and the queue will be 5 mins.
Breakfast - Why does a traditional English breakfast not include a traditional fried egg but offers a non traditional hash brown and powdered egg style scrambled egg ?? And to be excellent the sausages could have been better. Although I did eat one 3 days on the trot
I very much look forward to visiting again.
This is a really good place to stay


Ian

Room Tip: Ask for a chateau room overlooking the gardens, ours was wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at Chateau Impney. You did indeed stay in one of our brand new rooms in the original Chateau overlooking the formal gardens and grounds and we are delighted to hear you found our new rooms faultless.

Thank you for the feedback on the carvery which I have passed onto our food and beverage team,

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Address: Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Droitwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Impney Hotel Droitwich
Chateau Impney Droitwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.