We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Building - 60's Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Save Saved
You added Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Droitwich
Millport18
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous Building - 60's Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Impressive driveway and a lovely entrance to a grand lobby. All looked good until I went to my room. Small, 60's decor, coloured bathroom suite, tiny bathroom, dated furniture and decor. The contradiction with the public areas of the hotel was stark. Ate in the carvery restaurant and it was pretty good to be honest. Shop bought pate starter but three good and well cooked roasts to choose from. Quite happy with the food. Bar was nice as well but the whole experience is let down by the bedroom. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Chateau Impney. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the carvery experience and our bar. We are aware that our rooms are in need of some updating, which is actually underway now.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we do hope you will try us again in one of our newly renovated rooms when visiting the Droitwich area.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    173
    87
    47
    59
See reviews for
83
213
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They look after you very well and the food on Christmas day in the French restaurant was great. The carvery down stairs everyone was packed in. Lots more room in the French restaurant, it does cost more but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your Christmas dining experience at Chateau Impney. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the special service and food we provided in the beautiful French suite and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to dine with us again next Christmas, if not sooner.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute weekend break and it was fantastic! We were in one of the apartments on the first night which was a little dated decor wise, but was very spacious and clean. On the second night we were moved into the hotel and had 2 rooms with interconnecting door. These were again dated but spotless. The hotel restaurant food was what I call 'comfort food' i.e. prawn cocktail and proper English main courses - very nice! The staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do anything more to help us.

Room Tip: The apartments are spacious if you are travelling with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff and that you found your overall stay a fantastic one!

We are in the process of renovating our rooms and do hope you will visit us again soon for another weekend break.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a two day work conference last week. We were thrilled to find we had been booked into one of the top top turret rooms, which although a little dated had a comfortable four poster bed and was quite romantic. It snowed heavily during our stay which only added to the atmosphere.
Food and service were okay if unexceptional.

However, after our return on Friday we received an email from our boss warning us that some colleagues had reported their credit/debit cards and driving licences had been stolen during their stay. My wife checked her purse, and low and behold her debit card and driving licence had gone. It's important to note here, that during our two days in the hotel we never left, and my wife had her handbag with her at all times, so one can only surmise that a member of the hotel staff is a pickpocket. This was also the only explanation the police could offer us unless it was one of our colleagues, which seems unlikely, firstly because we know them all, and secondly because another reviewer who visited in the hotel in October last year says that six of her group were victims of theft.

Our company was picking up the tab for the whole event, the hotel staff knew we wouldn't be going to our wallets for anything, so they knew any thefts wouldn't be discovered.
This is of course conjecture, but it's hard to come up with a different conclusion.

We now have all the hassle of stopping cards and replacing the licence, not to mention the fear of identity fraud. There's a fee for the new licence, and a fee to register with an agency that will hopefully prevent the culprits from using my wife's identity. So a 'free' hotel stay won't be so free after all.

The hotel manager denied he had had any other complaints, even though we know he had from colleagues, and from other guests who have stated it here, so there appears to be a resident thief.

Going back to the hotel itself, I think it's probably nice if you get the right room. But I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it anyone - because they obviously have a serious security breach and they show little interest in plugging it.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in the main 'Chateau'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were greatly disappointed to read your recent review. We understand how upsetting and frustrating this sort of situation can be and we do apologise that you experienced this at our property. We would like to point out that we have been fully cooperating with both the police and your company representatives, including the offer to reimburse any out of pocket expenses which have been incurred. While we appreciate your frustration, we do feel it is inappropriate to immediately assume that it is a member of staff and there is no evidence to support this. Our hotel manager did not deny that he had no other complaints and we would like to stress that we take all matters of security very seriously indeed. We have and will continue to work hard with both the police and your company to resolve this situation.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having read the reviews and seen the travellers' photos I was already prepared for the dated decor and blue bathroom suite! Yes it does look tired and in need of investment but generally it was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was ok. However, the facilities in the room let the place down. Having checked into the room and eventually found the switch on the wall by the bed that enables you to operate the TV, it would not switch on with either the remote or the buttons on the side of the TV. This was a bit of an irritation but not the end of the world as I wasn't spending much time in the room. Although there was trouser press, there was no iron or ironing board in the room. I picked up the phone to ask reception if they could bring one to the room, but the phone did not work either! I therefore went to meet colleagues in the bar with a creased shirt. The bed was comfy, the staff were good and the food was fine, but I probably wouldn't book a night here with the wife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Chateau Impney. We are very happy to hear that our cleanliness, food and service met your expectations. We are aware that our rooms are in need of some updating, which is actually underway now. We are looking forward to launching our newly renovated rooms complete with everything a business traveller is looking for.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we do hope you will try us again when visiting the Droitwich area.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have visited the chateau every christmas & anniversary for the last 16 years and have always enjoyed the Jasons Carvery restaurant, the staff are very attentive and the food is tasty and well prepared. This year we decided to stay over after our meal and decided to book one of the lovely executive rooms in the old section of the hotel with four poster bed, we were not dissapointed! the room was on the top foor in the main front old section overlooking the beautiful gardens and grounds and was an unusual shape due to being in one of the typically french "turrets". As some of the previous reviewers have said, some people may find the hotel a little dated but I dont want to dwell on this subject except to say that the bathroom was a 1970's 80's style but we didnt care it was functional and clean and the main room was beautiful in style, the whole hotel itself (as other reviewers have said) "may" benefit from an overhaul BUT hubby and I both hope that IF this is done, the decorators are CAREFUL not to over do it as the reason we LOVE the chateau and keep going back is because of its DATED CHARM, we like this and everywhere is quaint and a bit old fashioned BUT we expect that when you are staying in an 19th century chateau...the way we see it is that if we were staying in a brand new hotel then we would expect all shiny new chrome everywhere and all mod cons everywhere BUT at the chateau we dont expect OR want that!! as i have mentioned above the staff are lovely and really look after you and we were so impressed with the room and the overnight stay AND the cooked breakfast the next day that we will certainly choose to stay over next time and each time we go to eat at the chateau

Room Tip: always ask for a room in the old original part of the hotel (18th century bit) as this is quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of Chateau Impney. We are honoured and delighted you choose to visit us every year for your special celebrations.

It is nice to hear our guests appreciating everything that makes Chateau Impney such a special place. Rest assured the renovation plans currently underway will be sympathetic to the unique features of this beautiful historic building.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We attended Chateau Impney just before Christmas on a works party and stayed the night. Driving up to the hotel it was very impressive, however, I had done my homework and therefore didn't have high expectations.
The staff were very polite and friendly on arrival. The function room was good and the food was amazing. They served a lot of people in a short period of time and the food was well cooked and still nice and hot when it reached our plates.
The rooms were very old fashioned and in need of an injection of cash to bring them up to date. Whilst the bed was comfy, the creaks of the floorboards above and the noise from next door (only divided by a door) would interrupt the light sleepers amongst us.
Otherwise, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the bedding appeared to be new.
I would recommend the hotel for the entertainment/function room and food and if the rooms/ ensuites were updated, would definitely stop again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben E, Manager at Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Chateau Impney. We are delighted to hear you were pleased with both the food and service for your Christmas works party. We take particular pride in both the quality of food and excellent service for all our functions and events at the Chateau.
You will be pleased to hear that renovations are already underway to bring our rooms up to date and restore the grandeur in the lobby and public areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Neil D’Souza
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre

Address: Bromsgrove Road, Droitwich WR9 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Droitwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Droitwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Impney Hotel Droitwich
Chateau Impney Droitwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.