We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good British food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's

Hugo's
72 High Street, Egham TW20 9EY, England
01784 473077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 43 Restaurants in Egham
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: AT Hugo's we strive to provide excellent service and great Food. Locally sourced fresh food. Cooked simply and deliciously… Great Location, unique building. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, perfect ambiance for an intimate meal, business lunch or cocktails, live music and nibbles. We do it all. We also cater for parties and have an extensive bar menu. Sign up for our lunch club to find out about all our latest offers and live entertainment. Come along and enjoy...
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good British food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

They have some awesome burgers, the Veggy burger is definitely the best Veggy burger I ever had. The personnel is very nice and the whole service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
egham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfied from Egham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my husband won a meal for two at Hugo's in Egham after entering a raffle for Help the Heroes.
It was a cold wet Thursday evening and we decided to go out for dinner. We had a fabulous warm welcome by Sam the manager. The decor is just fabulous with lots of remaining features of the listed building.
I had goats cheese on a bed of rocket to start and my husband had the vegetable soup which was one of the specials from the board. Both were absolutely superb.
We both love steak so opted for the fillet steak cooked medium rare. My husband had jenga chips which were big fat chips stacked like the Jenga game. I had Julienne fries which were like french fries. Both came with a large mushroom, baby tomatoes and rocket and onion rings. We both also had a peppercorn sauce.
The presentation was fabulous, the food was served on a wooden chopping board which I thought was really unique and really practical when it comes to cutting steak. Although the steak really didn't need any cutting at all. It was like cutting butter, in fact I would go as far to say it was the best steak I'd ever had, it was cooked to perfection, and was so tasty and there was plenty of it.
For pudding my husband had the Hugobockerglory which was huge and I opted for a sticky toffee pudding with custard. Both were absolutely delicious.
There was so much to choose from and the special board looked fabulous too, there would be something for everyone's taste for sure.
The atmosphere was really lovely with really nice red candles on the tables. The staff could not do enough for us. Sometimes when you have a voucher for something you can be made to feel like a cheapskate but not in this case in fact quite the opposite. We were made to feel really special.
Thank you Hugo's for a fabulous evening and we will definitely be coming again and recommending you to all our friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, lack-luster food menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This could be such a great place, the live music was a good touch, and great to see them supporting local musicians. The service was fun, bubbly, informed and polite, but the food menu let it down. Looked very much like standard sub-par pub/american style. We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the quality of the food, but we went 100yds along the road to Bar163 and am pleased we did.
Shall definitely be back for drinks, cocktails etc but would love them to inject some excitement into the rest.
Not quite sure if it's a restaurant or a beer bar, or a cocktail bar, or a brunch stop, but at least it's all done with a big smile :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly staff, great food, and brilliant music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you are looking for a fun Friday night, head to Hugo's in Egham. The food is great, really good value, the staff are really friendly , plus live music from really talented local musicians.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A nice place, looks very welcoming every time you pass by, but they are open at weird times: sometimes late at night on Friday, sometimes closed on Saturday... Nice interior and outdoors seating though. Decent bar choices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's also viewed

 

Been to Hugo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.