We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistency” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the runnymede-on-thames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added the runnymede-on-thames to your Saves list
the runnymede-on-thames
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
our outdoor pool reopens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistency”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We return year after year. A busy atmospheric family Sunday lunch venue.
With the exception of having to ask for a refresh of the dessert selections our overall experience was enjoyable. Good selection of starters with the added bonus of a buffet in that those with healthy hearty appetites can return for seconds.
In fact I had two starters skipped a main and went for desserts and found this still good value.
Of course the added bonus of taking a stroll along the river just outside the hotel is a plus too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the Leftbank’s riverside location and found it to be good value, particularly enjoying the starter and dessert selection. I have passed your feedback onto all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    308
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
234
343
22
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I went here to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It is a lovely location sitting right on the banks of the river which allows you to take walks upstream or downstream. We were lucky with the weather which meant we could sit out on the terrace and enjoy the view and the sun. Dinner in the Left Bank Restaurant is a Buffet Meal and is only good value if you are not vegetarian which I am. I found the vegetarian options rather limited and bland.

Can't fault the hotel itself, spotlessly clean and staff very courteous and helpful. Great location as Windsor Castle is only 15 mins drive away. Do come with a lot of change for parking though. Free parking (even at weekends) is non-existent in Windsor.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the runnymede-on-thames on the occasion of your silver wedding anniversary and particularly liked our location. However, I am sorry you found the vegetarian options bland as we do endeavour to ensure that our salad / tapas and vegetarian selection is particularly flavoursome and innovative and that there is a good choice on the hot buffet. I have passed on your comments to the Head Chef for review. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We didn't get to see much of it, but the room and breakfast were great. Staff very helpful - they even charged my phone for me, checked me in on my flight and called us a cab.

The place is very nice - there is a really loud river nearby but you do not hear it inside. And they have a private jetty and boats for hire. Wish I'd been staying!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is a pity you could not have spent longer here but I’m glad you liked what you saw. For future information we hire the boats from Easter until the end of September each year for residents and non-residents so hopefully we will see you soon!
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend in September 2012. Ample parking, fast check-in. Rooms were a bit on the small side, but adequate. Bathroom tidy. Nice view from riverside rooms. Service in restaurants friendly and quick, especially in the lounge and at the breakfast buffet. Dined at the Lock as well (twice), the food was OK, but couldn't have managed a third time due to lack of choice on the menu. But they have daily specials. Location is convenient with short distance to Heathrow and just a short drive to Windsor, if you feel like sightseeing. Will probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. I have passed your kind feedback onto the team about their friendliness so they can see how much their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely hotel in great location. Just 2 issues and they were; service on the terrace for lunch was extremely slow. In the end I went to bar myself and was told it was table service. I pointed out not enough staff and wanted to serve myself. Staff are great but just not enough of them.

Secondly dinner menu in the Locks Kitchen was more like a gatsro pub selection than 4 star hotel.

Probably would go back but eat out for lunch and dinner

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you thought the hotel was ‘lovely’ in a ‘great location’. I am however sorry that it seemed that there were not enough team members on the terrace to serve you; I have passed this feedback onto the Lounge Manager; for her follow up. I think the unexpected sunny day took us a little by surprise on that day – our apologies. We do normally receive very positive feedback on the food, informality of the style of service and food offering in the Lock Bar and Kitchen. We altered the restaurant last year as a result of customer feedback, the majority of which found the previous, more formal style restaurant not to their liking, but I am sorry the new concept is not to your preference. You may wish to try our Leftbank Restaurant on your next visit which may be more to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my three children when we went for a short break to vist Legoland and Chessington.
Its an excellent hotel, great food choices, we are all vegetarian and the chef was very helpful in preparing vegetarian choices.
Beautiful location, we ordered a picnic and hired a small boat from the hotel and went sailing alond the thames!!
Rooms are very comfortable and the indoor pool was great, outdoor pool also had lifeguards on, however we stayed in the indoor pool.
The spa was also amazing, my three children actually went and booked a treatment as a surprise thak you for booking such a lovely hotel. Which was a nice surprise, my children sat having a hot chocolate whilst i had my nails manicured!!!

Will definetly visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you and your family had a lovely time with us during your visits to Legoland and Chessington. I am also pleased that you made use of our electric boat and enjoyed your sail along the Thames with a picnic.
It is also great to see that your children appreciate their mum and that you were treated to a manicure!
We look for forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We just had a fantastic weekend at The Runnymede, everything was perfect, the location of this hotel is beautiful, sat by the river on Saturday with a nice beer so relaxing, the room was very nice with a view of the Thames, and the bed Oh! so comfortable, breakfast everything you could want and more, the staff were so nice and friendly, I could just go on and on, but best thing you readers can do is go and try it, if you are wanting a weekend away they do a really good offer for two nights B & B plus help yourself buffet on your night of arrival.

Room Tip: We booked a Thames View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your kind comments about the hotel and the team to everyone so that they can see how much their efforts are appreciated. It is good to see that you can’t wait for the next visit’ and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to the runnymede-on-thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the runnymede-on-thames

Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW200AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — the runnymede-on-thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your the runnymede-on-thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede-On-Thames Egham, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the runnymede-on-thames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.