We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Fosters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Great Fosters to your Saves list
Great Fosters
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
£149 B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Hamilton, Bermuda
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Summary:
- definitely recommended and worth the trip to Egham in Surrey
- great food and service, as well as several options to choose from, from £15 to £30 per person for afternoon tea
- better to make reservations as they can prepare your table for you in advance
- an option not listed online is the Pimms tea at £27 per person, which replaces tea with traditional Pimms
- for parking, the lot is free but remember to grab the exit barrier code at the reception before you leave!
- probably not good for large groups (i.e. >10 people) or perhaps another room would have sufficed for this

Our Experience

My husband and I were looking for a nice way to spend the late afternoon somewhere in the Surrey countryside without spending too much time outside as it was a chilly Sunday, and found Great Fosters hotel online.

The information from their website was promising as it described a large landscaped area (which would have probably looked a bit greener in spring/summer but of course no fault of theirs) in a nice location in Egham, Surrey.

We saw they offered afternoon tea, and called them to make reservations that day. Unsure of what traffic would be like, we allowed ourselves time to make any stops along the way but arrived there about 45 minutes early. This was fortunate as we had ample time to walk the grounds in advance of our reservation. Beautiful, even in February! They had an orangery, conservatory, private function rooms, and several statues among their garden, which we took great pleasure in visiting and exploring. It was nice to experience the sights of the water fountains, beautifully landscaped garden, and to walk across a wonderfully built wooden bridge, the whole area making for some very pretty photo stops.

Closer to our booked time, we went through a large wooden door, in which a much smaller wooden door serves as the entrance. It's hard to describe this but there was one large door with a smaller door which was part of it, and you must lower your head and watch your step as you enter.

Once inside, we went to reception where the receptionist walked us personally to our table which had been set with linens and silverware awaiting us. We sat next to each other in front of a large window, on a sofa that seemed antique, in a large room with high ceilings and an open fireplace. My impression is that the ideal location would have been in the center of the room, directly across the fireplace, and this is where another party (of 6 people spread over 2 sofas facing each other) happened to be enjoying afternoon tea.

I have rated them 4/5 due to the sitting conditions, which became increasingly cold as the evening wore on, and since we sat in front a larger window that was only single-glazed. I also would have enjoyed it better if I say across my husband instead of next to him. Finally, the sofa being quite old, was not the most comfortable and was a bit slanted so that it felt I was sliding down slightly. These are really the only negatives.

Something we didn't realize when seeing the menu is that the tea menu they have online which offers 3 options is excluding the Pimms option, at £27 per person.

The service and the quality of the 3-tier tray was very good. After taking our tea order, we were presented with the usual tray, and the server identified each item after setting them down. We were each given one large pot of tea, as well as a smaller pot of hot water, which was a nice touch.

We then proceeded to enjoy the finger sandwiches (cucumber, ham/mustard, salmon, and egg/mayo), scones (very fresh and the two of us were given two each) with clotted cream and fresh jam, and a misture of desserts (carrot cake, fruit cake, chocolate brownie, vanilla cake, almond cake, and a meringue puff, perhaps?), all delicious.

They came by once asking how everything was, and another to ask whether we were finished with different portions.

Afterwards, we went to reception to ask for the bill, and the man there was able to take payment there. A discretionary gratuity of 12.5% is added to the bill, but we were more than happy to pay this. At the reception desk is a small basket with the code required to exit the car park, which worked fine upon leaving. The car park is free and if there is not an event, more than ample for a visit for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Cathy Nolan, Hotel Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your visit to Great Fosters.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed wandering though our grounds and afternoon tea afterwards.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again, perhaps in the Summer when the gardens will look completely different! We also serve afternoon tea on the terrace overlooking the grounds in the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    105
    36
    20
    7
See reviews for
94
275
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Fabulous hotel and you couldn't ask for a warmer welcome! Every member of staff, without exception, were extremely polite, helpful and accommodating. The grounds were simply stunning and beautiful to stroll around after a light lunch in the bar! Superb evening meal and hearty breakfast! Totally recommend it!

V & L

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Cathy Nolan, Hotel Manager at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

I'm glad you were made to feel welcome during your stay and that our team looked after you so well.

I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and friends on the 5th Feb. Its our 2nd visit and i have to say i have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world but this is our favourite. From arrival, the staff cannot do enough for you, the reception staff are very professional and the rooms are to a very high standard. You can spend all day walking around the grounds, all makes for a perfect setting. Breakfast is also first class, as is the meals and service in the restaurant.

Felt perfectly relaxed.

Well done 'Gt Fosters' we will be back!

Room Tip: The Tapestry Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Managing Director, Richard Young at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on your recent visit to Great Fosters.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your favourite hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Amazing. Three friends and I stayed at Great Fosters for a night, just for a treat and some down time. We had no expectations, except for images of the beautiful hotel on its website. We couldn't have been better looked after. We were shown to lovely connected rooms, we ate the best cream tea I have ever had (I'm a bit of an expert ;)), the surroundings inside and out were beautiful. We relaxed, we ate a fantastic 3 course dinner served by lovely, lovely staff. In just over 24 hours, we, who were rather frazzled beforehand, came away calm and very, very pleased with ourselves. The staff couldn't have been more attentive or helpful, without being in our way - they seem to love working there. I would thoroughly recommend Great Fosters. I run a PR business, and have also recommended it to clients for conferences.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for writing a review and for recommending us to your clients.

I'm so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay here and that our photographs lived up to your expectations! I'm glad that you left more relaxed than when you arrived and hope that we can perform the same miracle again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Came with some colleagues from Germany and Austria for the afternoon tea as non-resident guests. We were all impressed, from the warm welcome from the staff to the open fires in the lounges. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were all excellent, and there is a large range of tea varieties, coffees and herbal infusions to choose from, all included in the price. Naturally, there was not a tea bag in sight (or even out of sight in the tea pots). This was a really enjoyable "English" experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the hotel for afternoon tea.

I was delighted to read that you and your guests enjoyed tea by one of our fires. Next time you will have to experience a Great Fosters 'Summer' afternoon tea and enjoy tea on our terrace overlooking the gardens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

10-02-12- Just enjoyed a fabulous lunch in the Oak Room at Great Fosters Hotel.
The food was delicious and the service was excellent.
Johnathan, the restuarant manager was superb. A knowledgable and attentive host, ensuring all our needs were met, including an after dinner coffee, by the fire, in the hotel bar!
It was a birthday treat from my wife so she was, having never been there before, thoroughly delighted.
A big thank you to all the staff but espiecially Jonathan...brilliant.
Scott & Julia Hart

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the hotel for lunch.

I was delighted you and your wife enjoyed her birthday celebration and have passed on your kind words to Jonathan and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Great Fosters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night for a romantic break. The room was lovely (we stayed in a coach house room) and spacious with iPod dock and 2 flat screen TV's. It is a very short walk to the main house. The grounds are lovely however there is some noise from the nearby M25.

The main house is like a museum. It is gorgeous with stunning carved ceilings and wood panelled walls. We sat by the huge main fire and drank several reasonably priced beers

Can't comment on the restaurant as we just ate from the bar menu which was OK. There is an excellent selection of beer & spirits though.

It is worth shopping around for a good deal if you are on a budget as it is an expensive place. Although it is unique.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RY1931, Hotel Manager, Cathy Nolan at Great Fosters, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Fosters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Fosters

Address: Stroude Road, Egham TW20 9UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Fosters 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably built as a Royal Hunting lodge and very much a stately home since the 16th century, Great Fosters is now a prestigious hotel. Set amongst 50 acres of gardens and parkland, the hotel is a Grade One listed building blessed with the grandeur of 16th century England and luxurious modern facilities. Its past is evident in the mullioned windows, tall chimneys, fireplaces and brick finials, while the Saxon moat, crossed by a Japanese bridge, surrounds three sides of the formal garden. All the suites and bedrooms are individually decorated. The bedrooms in the Main House are adorned with tapestries and antiques, whilst the bedrooms in The Cloisters are more contemporary in style. The Coach House, refurbished in 2008, offers luxurious accommodation with the latest plasma screens, i-pod docking stations and fabulous bathrooms. The hotel's restaurant The Estate Grill is less formal and serves a simple and seasonal menu with many of the dishes using produce grown on the estate and cooked on a Josper grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Great Fosters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Fosters Egham, Surrey, UK
Great Fosters Hotel Egham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Fosters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.