We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savill Court Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Savill Court Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishopsgate | Windsor Great Park, Egham TW20 0XN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here for one night on an 'Amazon Local' deal.Reception staff extremely pleasant and welcoming and gave us advice on where to park in Windsor. Room very clean and our evening meal, two courses as part of the deal,was excellent as was breakfast the following morning.Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Oxpasture,
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; I will pass on your kind feedback to our service teams.
Please do contact me if I can make a booking for you in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    241
    119
    70
    48
See reviews for
111
289
30
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night as part of a long awaited weekend trip to the Red Bull Air Race in nearby Ascot. Previous reviews looked good, research done, so we booked through Hotels.com. Confirmation was sent to us by them so, perhaps unwisely, we didn't think to phone the hotel directly to confirm until we were sitting in the grandstand at Ascot on Saturday afternoon. Long story short, it took two hours of phone calls and stress to finally get the hotel to find our booking and confirm it. We were cut off twice whilst 'holding' and seemed to have great difficulty explaining our situation. Anyway, drama over, bit of a dampener on the day but we put it behind us. It had however completely spoilt our first couple of hours at the air race.
We decided to eat elsewhere on the way to the hotel from Ascot despite being booked in to the Orangery restaurant, just in case. I tried twice to phone the hotel to advise them and cancel the restaurant but gave up, no reply.
Arrived, quite late so just went up to the room which in fairness was nice apart from the rather strange fold-away bed ( why would you have a fold away bed in a hotel, the type that goes into it's own little cubby hole in the wall? Answers on a postcard please....). We had our in laws with us so we decided to meet up in the bar for a quiet drink and to relax in sophisticated surroundings......errrm, no chance.
There had been a wedding and the 'disco' was in full swing in an adjoining room. Guests from the wedding party were using the bar so every time the double doors opened we were treated to a blast of tuneless bass heavy so called music interjected by a DJ who didn't really sound like he was talking, more sort of grunting and making strange noises at every available moment.
Eventually the doors were actually wedged open, so that was it. Whilst being subjected to this, my father-in-law had wandered off and unbeknown to us was making his feelings known with the duty manager. Hilarious moment...the manager apparently said there WAS another residents lounge we could sit in to escape the audio carnage and took dad in law in there to discuss things in private. Seems he was quite taken aback to discover that this 'residents lounge' was in fact just a room, devoid of any chairs, tables etc!
To be fair I think the manager seems to have dealt with the situation professionally and he reduced our room rates by around £40. Can't say fairer than that I thought.
In the end, we found two couches in the middle of reception and sat there to have our complimentary round of drinks ( another part of the manager's peace offering ), then we retired for a well earned night's sleep.
Ahaaaaaa ! The wedding guests had other ideas though. We were woken at around 0145 to be treated to screeching, shouting, loud conversation, giggling, heavy feet plodding up and down the corridor, for about 15 minutes before either we fell asleep through exhaustion or it quietened down, I'm not sure which. Then we were treated to the same display at around 0330 and again at 0500. I was about to go into the corridor to politely ask these people if they could perhaps show off their skills of complete ignorance and disregard for others elsewhere, out in the middle of Great Windsor Park perhaps, but my Wife advised me to stay put. Did I phone reception to complain ? No, it would have been perfectly obvious where the complaint had come from and you never know how people who clearly have no regard for anyone other than themselves would have reacted.
I fully appreciate that the night time problems were not directly the hotel's fault, although a bit of strategic room allocation might have helped, and that our night was ruined by the actions of selfish, ignorant, drunken fellow guests. We've stayed at hotels after weddings and had our fair share of drink but we ALWAYS respect other peoples' peace and quiet late at night.
So, red eyed and stressed, we headed for breakfast the next morning. Dad in law made a pit stop at the manager's desk and explained the problems we'd had and our room rate was further reduced by another £25, all very nice but I would have rather paid the full price and had a decent stay.
Final blow....my wife went through 4 cereal bowls before finding one that was clean enough to use...and I don't mean the odd tiny mark, they were caked in jam smears etc. She took them to one of the waiting on girls who just gave her a blank look and took them away, no "terribly sorry about that" or anything.
No, Dad in law didn't go back to the manager to negotiate a further reduction...we just wanted to get out of the place to be honest. God knows what would have happened if it was a two night stay, they'd have ended up paying US to stay there!
So in conclusion, having stayed in hotels all over the world but by NO means being 'snobs', this place looks nice on the outside but, whether through complacency because it's in an area that's awash with dosh or just our sheer bad luck, it isn't reflected in how they look after guests.
Sorry Savill Court, I HATE putting bad reviews on here, in fact this is the first time I've ever done so, but you need to have a long hard look at certain aspects of your operation.
One final footnote....it was satisfyingly nice to see some of the wedding guests heading down for breakfast as we were leaving, looking like they were REALLY reaping what they'd sown the night before! Glad you all had a good night folks....

Room Tip: Miles and miles away from any wedding guests....unless of course you're one anyway....:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear DaveandCaz

Thank you for your feedback, clearly you had encountered numerous issues which were dealt with by our Duty Manager Nick Bull and our Night Manager. As I mentioned on a previous review we had numerous issues with a few guests at this particular wedding who were being very noisy late in the evening, whilst this is most unusual it clearly did spoil your enjoyment for which we truly apologise.

We addressed the issues you have raised and we will take every possible step to ensure that there is no further disruption of this type.

We believe that a guest prior to your arrival at the buffet had spilt some syrup/jam over the plates area, this was quickly resolved, however we are every sorry that you spotted it before we resolved it.

Please do contact me if you would like to return in the future and if I can assist you any further.

Yours Sincerely,

Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We checked into this hotel, one tea bag in the room, called for milk and more tea bags. Milk arrived in 15 minutes and 2 tea bags arrived 30 minutes after. The room was next to the service elevator and extremely noisy.

Extremely slack service, would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear LisaM
Thank you for your feedback, we apologise for the delay in our complimentary tea and fresh milk room service, this will be reviewed with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager Nick Bull.
Please do try us again when you are in the area and contact me at any time and I will make a booking for you personally. Please accept my apology for this lapse in service which has now been addressed
Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

It is currently 2.00am. We have paid over £100 to stay here tonight. Our room is so small that the bed has to be next to the wall and the bathroom door bangs into the toilet when you open it. The worst thing though is that it is a popular Wedding venue and there has been a Wedding here today. Currently, the guests are continuing to celebrate in all the rooms around us and outside and we are wide awake!

We chose to stay in this 'luxury' hotel as a treat and to be near the Red Bull Air Race at Ascot tomorrow. I wish we'd stayed at home and got up early in the (this) morning instead. These guests are disgusting but the hotel should have warned us and not put us in a room next door to where the continuing party is going on. Oh and by the way, breakfast is not included.

I will never stay here again and neither should you if you have any sense.

Room Tip: Don't come
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear JillF
Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry that you were disturbed by some noisy wedding guests.
Whilst we are a popular wedding venue we always do our best to ensure that any noise is kept to a minimum, however on this particular occasion there were a handful of guests who were quite noisy at this event which has also been observed by another guest on this website.
We wish to apologise for any disturbance and offer our asssurance that we are extra vigilant to noise at night. Any guests who wish to enquire as to whether a wedding is taking place should contact us at the hotel and we will be more than happy to offer our advice and meet your requirements.
Yours Sincerely
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Good location, set in own grounds.
Impressive exterior.
Found the room too small for a double, very little wardrobe & drawer space. Several minor defects.
Dining room staff polite and friendly but not well organised.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear 472john,
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your bedroom experience, we would have been happy to offer you an alternative.
Should you wish to stay with us in the future I will be delighted to assist you, please do contact me at anytime and I will offer you every assistance.
Yours Sincerely
Mayank Singh
Guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked an executive room for our wedding anniversary we had room 362 a very hot small room the window would only open about 2" so no air came through we did have a fan which we had to keep on all the time. The walk in shower was so small you could not turn round in it also the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working properly. The safe was also broken,

Think we must have picked the wrong weekend as their were three weddings so everywhere was so busy there was nowhere to sit so spent the weekend in our room or out of the hotel very nice restaurant near by
we did not go into the restaurant as it was so busy with wedding guests I think it is just your luck what room number you are given

Room Tip: make sure you are not above the sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Janetr
Thank you for your feedback, we are very sorry that you were dissapointed; we have investigated your comments and we have passed on your feedback to our service managers.
Please be assured that the bathroom fans are silent in our newer bedrooms and that regular maintenace checks are carried out by our team.
Please do try us again in the future and contact me at anytime.
Yours Sincerely
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Found this hotel via a Legoland link suggesting it and another 3 or 4. So glad we chose Savill Court - very impressed with it's stately appearance and it's position in Windsor Great Park. Reception staff were so pleasant and knowlegeable. Public rooms are wonderful and obvious choices for weddings and special occasions. Our room 142 was on 1st Floor and when we arrived we could only see one bed - we were expecting a roll up bed for our daughter so we did inspect every nook and cranny incase it wasn't obvious, however it wasn't there, but a few minutes later a Z-bed was delivered and made up for her. A nice room and a welcome fruitbowl and notecard was a very nice touch. There was already a fan operating in the room and the chap who brought the bed, offered us another fan as it was exceptionally warm and only wee side windows which could open (and like every other reviewer has mentioned - no air conditioning). Must admit it's the first time I've had to sleep all night without any bedcovers over me. I suppose England is not noted for it's heatwaves so air conditioning might not be priority but I would hope that it was on the "to do" list, Nice bathroom with nice toiletries.
We sat outside on the lovely terrace for drinks before dinner and were going to eat outside but after our starter we had to give in and move inside to escape some flying ants and wasps. Most folk had aready discovered this and were enjoying the cool air-conditioning of the restaurant. The meal was lovely and the waitresses were very very professional and friendly at the same time. In fact this staff were more attentive and made a better impression in one evening than we had had in another hotel over a fortnight. The breakfast was superb, lots of choice at the buffet and our daughter who is an expert on sausages rated this hotel's as the best. We had the bar meal the next evening and it was also excellent. Used the swimming pool the next morning and it was very pleasant, good high standard and luxury appearance. All in all a very pleasant stay - and I would love to come here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ops_Savillcourt, Guest Relations Manager at Savill Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Singinsuzy
Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we will be delighted to pass your comments onto our service teams.
Please do contact me when you wish to return, I will be delighted to assist you.
Yours Sincerely,
Mayank Singh
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savill Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savill Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Bishopsgate | Windsor Great Park, Egham TW20 0XN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Egham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savill Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Savill Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savill Court Hotel Egham
Savill Court Hotel And Spa
Savill Court Egham
Hotel Savill Court
Court Hotel Savill
Savill Court Hotel & Spa Egham, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savill Court Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.