We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gem in the Lakelands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbank House

Save Saved
You added Willowbank House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Willowbank House
Bellevue Road, Enniskillen BT74 4JH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Enniskillen B&B and Inns
Co.Down
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Gem in the Lakelands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have just returned from a four night break staying at Willowbank. I went for a relaxing ,quite break and I got so much more. I am home refreshed.and enthused. The house and gardens are beautifully maintained . The B/B is very professionally run yet has a relaxed homely feel. Joan and Tom make everyone feel so welcome and relaxed. The smiles on peoples faces tells it all. The breakfast menu is the most varied and lengthy one I have ever seen . The food is all farm fresh ,sourced locally . Joan's homemade breads and scones are wonderful. Thank You Tom and Joan for a wonderful break. I will be back !!!! (sorry about the swimming pool rating . got carried away going down the list ).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello Mary,

thank you for all your very kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you feel renewed and refreshed. Providing the best quality food is paramount as breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
We really enjoyed getting to know you and feel we have made a new friend. Hopefully you will find the time for another little break in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
62
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This house is in a stunning situation and the hosts are very helpful and accommodating but the room was crowded because of the single/double bed in it.it is also a little far out if you're going to events in enniskillen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
So sorry folks you were not entirely satisfied with your stay in our home. You had reserved a double en suite room and were allocated a lake view family room which can accommodate 4 people, so how 2 people can find the room "CRAMPED" is really quite baffling.
As for our location I do agree it is stunning but if you wish to be in the town of Enniskillen for local events then perhaps a town establishment would be more suited to your needs. However we are only 3.5 miles out of the town and most of our guests prefer to be out of the rat race and appreciate the peace and tranquility.

At least our hosting skills met your expectations.

Regards

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for three nights. This was maybe our 5th or 6th stay with Joan and Tom, and to be honest we would stay nowhere else in Enniskillen but here. You are made so welcome from the moment you step in the door until you are leaving. Breakfast is amazing and no hotel would compare to it.
My mum is coeliac and Joan goes out of her way to provide everything for her, unlike the local hotels.
An amazing place to stay and really is home from home

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello Anne,

How lovely to see you both again. Really enjoyed catching up and seeing the wedding photos.
Thank you both for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to be able to provide gluten free bread for mum and really no trouble at all. It is so gratifying to be appreciated so publicly and very much appreciated.
Tom and I look forward to your next visit which hopefully will be sooner than later.

Warmest Regards

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't already been said?
We stayed here for 2 nights for a much needed spot of rest and relaxation and couldn't have chosen better, the peace and quiet and stunning views were glorious.
Joan and Tom have a business and reputation that they can be very proud of.
From our arrival to departure we felt we were in very professional, capable hands.
Breakfast was superb and the home baked wheaten was the best I have tasted in a long while, I would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful home and hope to return again someday soon.
Thank you so much Joan & Tom.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Patricia and Henry,

A thousand thanks for your very warm and complimentary comments. It was our pleasure to share our home with you. Positive feedback is very rewarding and reassures us that what we do is appreciated.

I will email the recipe for "Willowbank" wheaten bread shortly.

We look forward to meeting you both again soon (perhaps in warmer climes)

Warmest Regards

Joan and Tom

Joan and Tom (Folks on the Hill)
Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmachar
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely location down a single track road to the lake. Joan and Tom were very welcoming and we had a lovely room at the front of the house overlooking the lake. The breakfast was better than most hotels with great selection of cereals and fruit to start witrh then all the usual cooked breakfast choices. The breakfast room is light and airy overlooking a well maintained large garden. We would have stayed another night but the B 1 B was fully booked.

I would definitely recommend Willowbank

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Kenneth,

Thanks for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry you could not spend another night with us but perhaps next time you will be able to stay a little longer.

Warmest Regards

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Joan and Tom are truly genuine people who really make your stay memorable.
Additionally, my husband went fishing with Colin - recommended on their web and had a great day. I had a result on the genealogy front through another recommendation, Frankie.
The Ulster people are just so warm and friendly.
When it comes to breakfast - Well! they truly are THE BEST IN NORTHERN IRELAND.
We are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: I am disabled and had a lovely ground floor room with easy walk in shower. very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Alex,

Thanks for your wonderful comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us even if the fishing wasnt the best. When you come back we will try and provide a few more fish to catch.
We hope that will be sooner rather than later now that you have found your family roots.

Warmest Regards

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We attended a family wedding and my family all stayed in this wonderful guest house i cannot recommend it highly enough.Tom and Joan were lovely they couldnt do enough for us It was pure heaven after the stressful week we had.What a beautiful home they have and Tom come and stay with me and sort out my garden .The surroundings were gorgeous.As for the food all home made and prepared by Joan delicious.Go and try this superb guest house you will definately not be disappointed.Thank you once again and we WILL see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbank, Owner at Willowbank House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Carol,

Thanks for your comments. We loved meeting you all. Sorry I cannot lend Tom for the gardening but perhaps we could negotiate a deal on your next visit.
Love to all.

Joan and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willowbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank House

Address: Bellevue Road, Enniskillen BT74 4JH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Willowbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank House Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.