We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lough Erne Resort to your Saves list
Lough Erne Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belleek Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lough Erne for two nights recently for a mini-getaway. The resort is very scenic and the hotel decor is of a high standard. The breakfast was very good, nice menu choices, with excellent service. We ate in the Catalina restaurant one night and I thought the food was fantastic, although the dessert wasn't on par with the starter and main course. We ate in the clubhouse another night, my husband thought his steak was overpriced for what he got but the meal was enjoyable nontheless and again the service was very good.
The leisure facilities are also good, the pool and changing area were spotless and well equipped. I have visited the spa on a previous visit and I really enjoyed my massage there.

Our only gripe is that the hotel doesn't seem to be geared up for warm weather, which is disappointing for a 7 year old 5* Hotel. I live 60 miles away from the hotel so I know that hot days are unusual around these parts, but there was no air conditioning in the room, the windows opened about half an inch and the desktop fan provided wasn't very powerful so the room was like an oven. Reception did arrange for 'summer' bedding to be put on which helped, as did a dip in the refreshingly cool pool, but going into a nice cool room on a hot summer day would have been fantastic. The common areas however are air conditioned - alongside roaring fires when it was tipping 28 celcius outside...
Also my husband commented that it would have been nice to have somewhere comfy to sit outside in the nice weather, the options were the grass or cast iron chairs so on our last day we didn't hang around for lunch/drinks and went home to sit in our own back garden :-)

I would definitely stay here again, in any season except summer.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay during warm weather don't book a courtyard room, the bigger rooms seem to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    171
    83
    51
    19
See reviews for
164
445
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastleton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Went for a meal at being of July with it being local though would sample the reviews of everyone I had spoke to keeping a open mind my wife and I loved the wheaten bread you were given it wasn't dry lovely and moist and warm the starters was lovely and mains were also but after the mains were served that's where the good services finished the waitress looked to have friends arrive they were tables not cleared she was sitting chatting to this couple which looked liked friends showing and playing with her phone luckily a waiter seen us sitting with plates empty and then took them away and have us dessert menu to choice from then took our order my wife loved the banana soufflé I wished I had choose it after dessert had passed we sat for a good 15mins upon waiting for plates again to be cleared "1st waitress with chatting with friends" did not come over at all so we went to the desk and paid I will go back as the food was good but waiting side needs vast improvement

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great welcome at the door by a few members of staff, our bags were taken off us and taken to our room while we headed off to the spa. (fantastic as we were running late).

We were both booked in for massages, it was fantastic, great relaxing experience.
After our massage we were taken into a beautiful room that over looked Castle Hume Lough, we were given tea and some fruit.

One negative would be there wasn't a lot of staff around to replenish your tea or to offer you water.
Pool area was lovely and quiet perfect for relaxing.

Rooms and bathrooms were large and beautiful.

Food in the restaurant was lovely however small portions, staff were very friendly.

We were rudely awakened around ten to four by three drunken men coming from a wedding, it took staff around ten mins to approach these men at the front of the building.

When going for breakfast we were seated at the window with fantastic views.

Staff however were slow to take our order for tea/coffee - we had our breakfast ate by the time our tea, coffee and toast arrived.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the golf course early and the drive up to the club house really set the scene for an amazing day.

The club house, the course were all top class.

We tried for breakfast before our round but only over priced dry scones were available but this didn't put us off.

After a terrible round of golf on my end on what could only be described as the best parkland course I have ever played we decided to have food in the club house.

It kills me to say this but the service was terrible, I haven't never seen such poor bar / waiting staff in a long time. We eventually had to call the staff to our table to give our food order, we waited a further 40 minutes for our food and then my RibEye was a ball of fat:((

Over all I would happily return, just a wee bit more pep from the staff and some thought put in to the food is v much needed.

Thanks
N

Ps we didn't stay but the lodges looked amazing:)







  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had our wedding at the Lough Erne in June and i can safely say it was amazing, amazing amazing !!! We are seasoned travelers and have pretty high standards when it comes to hotels and restaurants, and i can safely Lough Erne as a wedding venue did not disappoint !!! From the stunning views of the lakes to the beautiful old world charming interiors it was a perfect choice.

Our guests which were mostly from UK, USA & Europe all loved the hotel in particular the huge rooms, the fabulous food particularly on the day of the wedding and the amazing care and attention of the staff, who are exceptional.

From the wedding planning with Shweta which was pretty painless, to the on the day planning and scheduling with Claire and Adrian, every detail had been thought of and everything went off with out a hitch !!!

The staff are absolutely exceptional, they cooked extra kids meals when the kids decided they didn't like my choice and wanted chicken coujons instead !!!! they also had a seamstress to help me with an issue on my dress !!The special breakfast for our guest the morning after the wedding in a private room was such a lovely touch as no-one felt rushed and could chat away. !!!The bridal suite was amazing, we wished we could have spent longer in it, we were completely spoilt by the staff !!! i could go on and on !!! the staff cannot do enough for you and we can;t wait to go back and spend some time there as many of our guests enjoyed all the walks around the lakes !!!

I can;t rave about this hotel and staff enough we are so happy we hosted our wedding here
!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswego
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just arriving through the entry is very nice. There are walking trails along the golf course & lake. The staff is quite friendly & welcoming. The lobby & public areas are very Irish-the fireplace is always going & charming. Huge bathroom & nice rooms. I do not think there is a poor view anywhere. The one problem is no air conditioning. We did not feel either restaurant was very friendly & poor service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent five days driving around the sights of Galway and Connemara so by the time we reached the Lough Erne, we were ready for a rest. Perfect! We were greeted as if we were already friends and I have never experienced such warmth and professionalism from luxury hotel staff before. Special mention must go to Neil. Thank you Neil.
The hotel, the setting, the food and facilities, all superb! We had afternoon tea and it is truly the best I have had.
We have promised ourselves that we will return and ----- we will!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room so didn't expect a view but that was not a problem. We were above the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: Belleek Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Erne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.