We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Customer Service and Attention To Detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Erne Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lough Erne Resort to your Saves list
Lough Erne Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belleek Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cavandub
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exquisite Customer Service and Attention To Detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

From the moment myself and my wife arrived we both were made feel so welcome. The front of house staff couldn't do enough for us. We had made the 2hr drive from Dublin after a long day in work and we were only short of being carried to our room! The concierge and the reception staff offered every assistance to us and like I said made us feel so welcome.

Our stay was then even more enhanced when we went to the bar for a meal and some drinks, the waiting staff were so attentive and pleasant the ambient music from the very personable Pianist was very relaxing.
We had a meal in the Catalina restaurant that evening where the food and again the customer service were exquisite!
My wife didn't want to leave.

I will definitely be returning to the resort and im looking forward to experiencing that same extremely high level of service once again. It is refreshing to see such a high standard and attention to detail still exists.

Room Tip: Room with a lakeside view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    171
    83
    51
    19
See reviews for
164
445
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

First class meeting at reception porters waiting to bring all luggage to the room.
Food, and in my case Vegetarian, excellent! different!
Next morning, breakfast superb, check out effortless.
Views, ambiance out of this world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Irenee H,
What a lovely review of the Wedding you attended recently.Our concierge team do a great job with guests on arrival and delighted you enjoyed your vegetarian meal.
kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the hotel. We had bar food on our first night and my husband thought it was one of the best he ever had! I really enjoyed mine. Our dinner on our second night was great. Loved it! The staff overall were really nice helpful and friendly. Nothing worse than staff who are too nice and constantly interupting a meal. My husband really enjoyed his spa treatment. I left my chargers in our room and the hotel housekeeping promptly responded and I received them in the post two days later.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Joan M,
It was great to read your compliments regarding the service and quality of offering you received across a number of areas in the Hotel.Praise for good service is always very welcome.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co meath ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for only one night during half term. The 2 bed lodges are certainly 5 star with beautiful views. Only had bar food which was very reasonably priced. We would love to return in the summertime and play the golf course.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear anned 123456,
Delighted you enjoyed the Lodges, we also offer self- catering villas on the property should you return to play golf in the summer.
Thank you for your kind review.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is very difficult to fault this place. My only slight criticism of the stay was with the size of the room. I booked a Lake-view room and thought it was good but not the best I have come across and this was my first 5* star hotel. Staff are very well trained and always attentive. The location of the Hotel is amazing and beautiful and we took a walk around the grounds and passed some golfers which added to the enjoyment. At our stay there was about 12 Ferraris driving around the resort which was pretty cool however put my car to shame.:) The highlight of the stay was with out doubt the food in the Catalina restaurant, the best meal I have ever eaten. if going the Beef bourguignon is a must and I couldn't fault the breakfast either. Overall very pleased with the stay, good job.

Room Tip: Room size was average and not the best I have had but the location was good to take the short cut to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear The Big A1234,
'Over all very pleased with the stay.good job' is a lovely compliment and very well received.The Beef Bourguignon is one of the most popular dishes in the Catalina Restaurant and glad you enjoyed it.Congratulations to Noel and his team who were awarded the Best Restaurant in Ulster at the Food and Wine Awards.
Regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My mum and I stayed at Lough Erne for 1 night in November, we had stayed in McNean's in Blacklion the previous night, so our expectations were high!
Lough Erne is beautiful, the food is amazing, staff generally are excellent, our lodge was wow, scenery etc. is something else. ...

The downsides - we wanted to have coffee/scones when we arrived, but were told we could not have it in Afternoon tea area as it was fully booked and for 'afternoon teas only'....however it was never fully booked. We were sent into the Bar area, where the service was terrible. From the time we sat down until we left, no waiting staff came near us....I had to get up 3 times to ask for service, and for simple things like 'milk'. The bar man (who in my opinion was certainly not used to serving tea), spilt over the whole pot of tea on the carpet when he arrived, he was upset and it was not his fault, as far as I could see he was a barman and should not have been serving teas and coffees. We were given cookies as we left, from one of the ladies serving in the afternoon tea area to make up for the disastrous tea, which was a nice gesture. The lady could see we did not have a good experience.
The second issue we had was cleanliness in our lodge, there was an old tissue and a lot of dust behind the bedside locker - as I pulled it out to plug in a phone charger, and worse than that there were 'nail clippings' in the sitting room area which was quite disgusting. This was not cleaning as you expect in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Tarlam,
Delighted to read that you thought the Lodges were 'wow', they are very popular with all our guests, especially families.Afternoon Tea is our signature dish and it is always advisable to make a reservation.The points raised regarding service in the Blaney Bar and houskeeping in the Lodges have been duly noted.
Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went for a weekend with friends.We were booked into one of the two bedroom lodges. The one we had was a three bedroom one set back from the lough.We did have one or two issues,like cigarette ends and bottles on the patio. We were later offered a move to a lodge on the waterfront. We were quite happy where we were,but it became obvious that they needed the three bedroom one for the Saturday because of a wedding. We agreed to move the next day. They gave us a complimentary bottle of wine at dinner which we thought was a nice touch,but it was a bit of a pain to have to move when you are only there for two nights.
The accomodation in each lodge was very good and of a high standard. A bit twee with cherubs on plinths in the bedrooms and rather jaded vases of artificial flowers.so could benefit from a bit of updating.
We had dinner in the restaurant the first night,which was excellent both in service and food. We could not get in there the second night so we ate at the clubhouse. The food was good but it lacked atmosphere.
As it was half term,and with two weddings,the place was very busy and breakfast for people staying in the lodges was in the clubhouse. Breakfast was adequate.
My husband and friends played gold and thoroughly enjoyed the course. I went to the spa for a facial which was fine,nothing special. The downside is that you have to get changed into your robe in the quite small general pool changing room,which I really disliked.

Room Tip: It was a very wet weekend when we were there. The lodges,whilst great for families,we're a dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0neill, Manager at Lough Erne Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Barbara P,
Half term was certainly a busy period at Lough Erne Resort and thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and service in the Catalina Restaurant.The Loughside Lodges
are very popular with our guests and your co-operation in moving was very much appreciated.
Kind regards
JOHN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Erne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Erne Resort

Address: Belleek Road, Enniskillen BT93 7ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Erne Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Erne Resort, Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh, host venue to the G 8 Summit 2013 is the first AA and NITB Five Star Hotel in Northern Ireland and was awarded 'Best Hotel' at the 2011 Northern Ireland Tourism Awards. In 2010, it was awarded ‘Golf Resort of The Year’ by the Irish Golf Tour Operators Association. The Resort is the ultimate expression in old world heritage and new world luxury, set on its very own 600 acre peninsula, between Castle Hume Lough and Lower Lough Erne, just outside Enniskillen, with stunning panoramic views from almost every vantage point. This unique luxury Fermanagh hotel’s facilities include: •120 luxury Rooms and Suites•Two Championship Golf Courses including The Faldo Course, a Golf World & Golf Monthly Top 20 Course (UK & Ireland) and the Championship Castle Hume Course•Rory McIlroy has been its Touring Professional representing The Resort around the World•The Golf Academy, a state of the art Practice and Tuition centre•Authentic Thai Spa, with Thai Therapists using Thai Products and techniques•A variety of innovative Dining Experiences with menus composed by Award winning Chef, Noel McMeel. Including: The Catalina Restaurant, The Blaney Bar with an Exclusive collection of 101 Irish Whiskies; The Loughside Bar & Grill, a variety of Afternoon Teas in The Garden Hall and The Halfway House located behind the 9th Green of The Faldo Championship Course•6 Conference & Meeting Rooms•Cygnets The 'BIG' Experience for our younger guests (0-11 years)•One of Ireland’s most romantic Wedding Venues. All this combined with warm, friendly and attentive service make Lough Erne Resort one of the world’s most magical destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lough Erne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Erne Hotel Enniskillen
Lough Erne Enniskillen
Lough Erne Resort Enniskillen, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Erne Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.