We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liz 4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killyhevlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Killyhevlin Hotel to your Saves list
Killyhevlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belfast Road, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Liz 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

What can I say about the Killyhelvin? It is AB FAB for food, views, and the Personal Touch. We were given a room with a veranda overlooking the lake.the scenery is magnificent. Our visit was in January the time of gales and flooding We had booked for 2 days and then were travelling on down south to Donegal, but because we were not sure what the weather would hold for us we cancelled and stayed here for the other 2 days.We loved it!! The food here is exquisite, the service and manners of staff IMPECCABLE. At dining time the piano is played with harmonious sensitivity creating a carefree ambience which seems to suit the mood of the diners.After dinner we sat on 1 of the numerous sofas around the fireplace with a gas fire at the reception area and watched the world go by as we sipped at our brandies. Altho we do not use the leisure facilities we were assured they were 1st class by other residents. Breakfast was self service but what a selection, if something you wanted wasn't there you only had to ask and it was delivered with a smile,nothing any trouble for this staff.I would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Enniskillen. You won't be sorry

Room Tip: room overlooking the lake Fabulous but might be a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Liz4"
Thank you very much for such a kind review of your stay with us and for the excellent recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, kindest regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    230
    93
    49
    33
See reviews for
225
450
15
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just had two days in this hotel, this is my fifth stay here, and it only gets better. The hotel is lovely with beautiful views over the Fermanagh Lakes. All staff are wonderful, especially Anne and Myia at breakfast, nothing is a bother to those lovely ladies. The receptionist are also very very nice and professional and most helpful. Thank-you to everyone who made out stay so pleasant. I was here with my other half, my mother and her sister. Everyone had a great relaxing time. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Catherine C"
Your very kind with your review of your latest stay with us - quite the "regular"! Its good to read our people were looking after you well and found everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you return on many more occasions, kindest regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It has been a while since we stayed here but will post this review anyway. We stayed for one night on a dinner and breakfast deal. Paid a little extra for a lough view room and it really was worth it. A super room. Modern comfy and what a view. The leisure centre and pool are also very good. The steak dinner was excellent and breakfast also 1st class. All in all a very affordable and worthy alternative to the expensive lough erne resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Simon D"
Thank you very much for your feedback, much appreciated, kindest regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a three day stay at the killyhelvin. Normally we would stay for 2 but needed that extra day. When we arrived there was 3 receptionists checking people in as it was so busy. The lady who checked us in was excellent. Even though we have been to the hotel many times. She told us about breakfast and where are room was. The room that we had was lovely and spacious. The view we had was great looking out on the lough Erne. We had booked for afternoon tea and was really excited. The dainty cups and teapots. When our sandwiches and pastries had arrived we were told that we would be checked on to make sure everything was ok. After 5 minutes in a football team had came in and no one had checked on us. They were really busy which is understandable. After about 20 mins a waitress had checked on us and asked if there was anything else we needed. I think it was the waitress's first day. Just slightly disappointed in the experience. Also when we went down to go the swimming pool the staff were to busy with themselves than to let us in to the swimming pool. Also staff need to be aware that residents who are staying in the hotel can over hear their conversations especially near the bar area. The overall experience was really good except for those minor details. Will prob return later on in the year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Kimberley C"
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of your recent 3 day stay. Our Afternoon Tea has become popular and we are getting a lot of favourable comments about it including our choice of crockery. Your staff comments will be dealt with and we very much look forward to having you return on many more occasions, kindest regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had a absolutely fantastic time at the Killyhevlin celebrating my Hen Party! Couldn't think of a better place! Staff at hotel and spa were extremely helpful and happy! All 16 girls loved every minute of our stay and the chalets were brilliant! Many of the girls are planning to book the chalets for their summer breaks.

I would certainly recommend Killyhevlin to other Bride's to be and all my girls would agree! We loved everything especially the pool, new outdoor hot tub, cocktails and getting our nails done!!

Can't wait to have my wedding here!

Room Tip: Chalet's are fully equipped with amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear " Kelly-Ann J"
Thank you very much for your kind review of your "Hen Party" weekend. Its great to read how everything met with your expectations and you had an opportunity to relax and enjoy our facilities. We look forward to seeing you all again, kindest regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aughnacloy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yesterday I celebrated my son's wedding at the Killyhevlin Hotel Enniskillen, the hotel is beautiful and set in the most gorgeous setting overlooking Lough Erne. Compliments to the chef as the carvary was very tasty, and plenty of it, the only thing I would point out, with over 150 guests, the delivery of food was very slow, with only two small food stations to cater for so many tables. I would suggest larger hot food stations and at least three of them to cater for larger numbers of guests so that they all eating together. The Function manager was very professional, attentive and looked after everyone brilliantly ensuring all the disabled guests were attended to. The hotel catering staff were very helpful, friendly, and diligent in carrying out their duties both at the Wedding function and breakfast next day, however the bar staff working at the wedding reception and the next morning, were very rude, sullen and extremely unhelpful, real large chips on their shoulders. With over 20 guests complaining about their behaviour to the bridal party this is a situation that needs addressing immediately! Also as the groom was giving his speech, his words were drowned out by volume of a number of TV's and the cheering from the public bar, with the rugby match in full flow. Now we are a rugby mad family travelling all over the country to support Ireland however we found it very disrespectful to have all the TV's on full pelt during the speeches. We believe the Manager did attempt to make them turn them down but the bar staff ignored his requests! The hotel itself was spotlessly clean. Our guests stayed in both the hotel rooms and the chalets leaving the hotel fully booked and all were very impressed with their quarters. However two guests had been given the wrong room keys, one guest had been given room 240 when in fact a friend with him when he was checking in, remembered the correct room number 218 for the key, and not the one written down by the hotel checking in staff. The grooms grandmother was not so lucky. She is disabled and booked a room suitable for her mobility needs, she got the furthest room away. When she FINALLY reached her room door, a man in his underpants opened the door and gave her a mouthful! Wrong room and wrong key!!!!. Totally unacceptable. Overall the Killyhevlin Hotel scored high in my opinion, hosted a great wedding, but there are serious issues with their bar staff, and unfortunately this reflects in my remarks, instead of excellent I have awarded good. Sort that out and I have no bother in recommending this hotel to our friends and family

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Lough Erne. Absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Heather W"
Thank you for your comments on the occasion of your son's wedding. While delighted to receive compliments, our General Manager does not dismiss less favourable comments: he treats them very seriously, investigating and taking action as required. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the company and we would like to see you return to avail of our excellent service. Kind regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

stayed here last nite and to be honest never again,when giving yur keys not a word frm the receptionist about where yur breakfast will be,what time or nothing went to are room,overlooking flat felt roof,didnt know that u need to state a room with a lake view"my mistake",as for the wedding we were at the poor bridal party trying to do the speeches with the rugby coming through the pa system,yes the manager who was over seeing the room did run in and out to the main bar area from the function room to get sum off the staff to turn it down but after this continuing after 10mins or so he did maange to get the tv turned off in the bar to stop this being played at a wedding function.the bar staff that nite cudnt have been any more cheeky if they had a tried i never saw worse guys not shaven "yes i know the stubble look is in" but they were rough looking very ignorant barmen who did the bar the nite off the after party,yes the may look well in there waist coats but this isnt there mouth,then in the grooms grandmother was given her key to go to the door to find it was the wrong key and to have a half naked man come to the door she was given at 2AM that is wasnt her room!! yes the guy who was at the reception last nite "nite porter" couldnt have been any nicer to sort it out.couldnt be bothered going for breakfast as just wanted to check out and go and get sumthing to eat sumwhere else "the vally hotel fivemiletown got the £58 fot the 5 off us for are lunch,pity the killyhevlin staff let it down or i wud have stayed.there no poing in repling to my comment by saying they will take all on board when nothing is done about it!!! it seems to me the hotel is more a tourist hotel and not really for to keep the loyalty off its northern ireland patrons.... im in the hospotality trade myself in banbridge and my business partner wrked for years in hotels in dungannon and omagh so do notice these things,i dont think i will be the only 1 replying either via email,letter or trip advisor from what the family have told me the day b4 we left for banbridge.... on one note a young guy called "micheal" was very pleasent all nite to are table and to the rest off the grooms family they informed me today "pat on shoulder mre watson" for this guy but good tip we often find is to be present when big functions are on and yull see yurself the way sum staff can ruin you as we say they dont care there getting there pay so ta pot with ya etc my dad would say have a good meal in an eatery,hotel etc and you will go out and tell ten off yur friends have a bed experience nasty staff who will make yur time,stay etc unpleasent yull go out and tell the country!!!!!! will praise teh hotels round banbridge more after a dissapointing time here :(

Room Tip: room with a lake view,oh and bring your own staff!!!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear "Stephen M"
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to meticulously appraise your recent stay for the occasion of celebrating a wedding. Your criticisms are duly noted and should you feel it necessary, you may contact our General Manager directly. Regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killyhevlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyhevlin Hotel

Address: Belfast Road, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyhevlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be greeted with sheer beauty and style at the award winning 4* Killyhevlin Hotel and Chalets. With breathtaking views overlooking scenic Lough Erne and Health Club to enjoy- this hotel truly has it all. Surrounded by private grounds and lakeside gardens, this family run hotel is located only 1km from the town of Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh. Why not go that one step further and spoil yourself at the Elemis Spa, complete with Relaxation Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Killyhevlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killyhevlin Hotel Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Hotel Killyhevlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killyhevlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.