We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killyhevlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Killyhevlin Hotel to your Saves list
Killyhevlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belfast Road, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Enniskillen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here for 2 nights on a package deal that included dinner and 2 breakfasts. On arrival we asked for a lakeview room and were fortunate enough to be given one. It was so peaceful to be able to sit at the window and watch the boats sail by.

Our room was spacious with a king size bed and a single bed. My friend particualrly enjoyed the biscuits on the tea trays in the room. When we turned the tv on we found that the picture quality was so poor it was unwatchable. A quick phone call to reception and a maintenance man was with us in no time at all. The problem was fixed (faulty connection). The Bathroom had a selection of toiletries and was very clean. The only thing that let the room down was the carpet. It had a couple of rather large stains on it. They stains looked liked dried in fake tan or foundation make-up. The carpets in the hallway outside our room were being replaced while we were there so perhaps the rooms were going to be done too.

We had dinner in the hotel on our first night and the food was excellent. We both paid the extra supplement and had the steak. It was a good choice and cooked to our liking. My friend had sent hers back initially as she wanted it cooked a little more. This was done with the minimum of fuss and they brought fresh potato and vegtables to the table when they were bringing back her steak. Breakfast is buffet style - help yourself. There was a good selection of cereal, porrdige and cooked items with lots of tea, coffee and orange juice. We did comment that at breakfast the staff on duty seemed more preoccupied with talking to each other than keeping and eye on the tables. Small point I know but when you're paying for attentive service you expect to get it at all times.

We used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and hot tub. It was lovely to lie in the jacuzzi and look out at the cold Fermanagh day. Newspapers were provided and we enjoyed sitting in the lobby area after dinner reading the papers and watching the world go by.

The hotel is suituated on the edge of Enniskillen town. Its too far to walk but taxis are reasonable if you fancy a night out and don't want to drive.

We had a lovely time and we will be back. My husband and I are already booked to stay there in November for a family wedding and we can't wait. Alot of the family are booking for 2-3 nights so we are looking forward to it being a really fun time with excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room. These can be reserved at a supplement but those not specifically reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear isabella1970
Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay with your friend. Glad you appreciated the views from your lakeview room as well as the room itself - and yes, bedroom carpets are scheduled for replacement as soon as the hallways are finished. Some work has to carry on while guests are present (such as laying carpet) but we do our best to cause minimal disruption and our guests know what is going on!! Our chefs and restaurant team offer quality locally sourced food - its good to know our steaks met with approval. The lounge is just the spot to read newspapers and relax while the rest of the world gets on with whatever its doing especially after you've had a wee dip in the pool and a soak in the jacuzzi and hot-tub!! When you come next time for your family wedding why not book an Elemis Spa treatment to really spoil yourself. Thanks once again, many regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    230
    93
    49
    33
See reviews for
225
450
15
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lisnagrot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed on a sleepy Sunday package .
Lovely room ,nice pool, great food .
All round a very nice stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Weejack666
Short and sweet and just what we want to read. Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to you returning, many regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our family recently stopped for lunch at the Killyhevlin Hotel, Enniskillen. We are very fond of Co. Fermanagh, which has such lovely scenery, well worth a visit. The restaurant at the Killyhevlin was reasonably busy but we were told just to find a table and someone would be over to take our order. We sat down to relax after a long journey and read the menu, deciding that a quick snack on this occasion would suit us rather than have the carvery, as we didn't have that much time.
We sat for quite some time before anyone came to take our order, which was two toasties, a plain sandwich, two teas and a fizzy water. We took in the lovely views and waited, thinking we would be back on the road soon. Twenty minutes later the teas and fizzy water arrived, being informed the sandwiches were on their way. Half an hour after that, two very plain toasties arrived along with the plain sandwich. By that time out tea was cold and I have to say the toasted sandwiches were extremely poor, very plain and greasy. They had obviously been sitting for some time as the cheese within both was nearly solid. Thank goodness my mother-in-law had the plain sandwich which wasn't that bad. After all that, I was presented with a bill for just short of £25.00.
I felt rather sorry for the young man who served us, as he could see the problem and did everything he could to get the food to us without much success. I don't mind paying £25.00 for a snack in a hotel but I expect it to be edible when I get it and served within a reasonable period of time. In my opinion, the restaurant catered only for those using the self service carvery and really didn't want to be bothered by those wanting something different from the table menu. What a pity the kitchen let such a nice hotel down so badly. We won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear "coantrimtripadviser"
Thank you for bringing your unfortunate experience at the Killyhevlin to our attention. We pride ourselves in providing a tasty and "cooked to order" snack menu alongside our "ready to eat" hot buffet menu which offers a choice of several hot dishes and a freshly carved roast joint very suitable for those who want to dine in a hurry. At peak times our team are generally very good at advising on how long the snacks are taking from kitchen to table as the orders are only prepared as they are ordered. However, on this occasion we obviously failed to meet the standard required and I can but offer sincere apologies on behalf the staff and management for this disappointment.
We do take all criticism on board and your comments have been fully investigated. Genuine feedback makes us aware of our shortfalls and assists us to review our systems and do better in the future. We never set out to ruin anyone's day and would like to hope that you will in time return and give us a second chance to show you how well we really do our jobs, can work as an effective team and how much we appreciate our guests.
Many regards, Leigh Watson, HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I visited the Killyhevlin whilst staying with friends over the easter weekend. We spent an evening catching up in the restaurant/bar area overlooking the beautiful views. We ordered cheese and biscuits to have whilst enjoying a couple of bottles of wine. The cheese board was supposedly for one but it could have easily been shared between two or three.
The restaurant was busy yet service was fairly prompt, there was a pianist playing in the background followed by a singer.
I would definitely return in the future for a meal or even to stay over night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear travellintitch
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your evening spent enjoying the restaurant, views and the company of your friends. A good cheeseboard and a some wine sounds hard to beat! Our pianists are delighted to get such great feedback. Why not come and stay for longer next time, thanks again, regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights in one of their Classic rooms while attending a local wedding and reception in the hotel. The hotel was very busy though this was probably due to Easter holidays. It is relatively modern, has 70 rooms with 13 chalets and is situated bedsde the main A4 road from Belfast. The front is mostly carpark. The back has lovely lawns which sweep down to one of the waterways connecting the Upper and Lower Loughs Earne. Anybody staying in the hotel should ask for a room overlooking the loch as the otherside overlooks carparks and some roofs. Our room was a good size and had a queen sized double bed as well as a single bed. It was generally clean with a few stains on the carpet. The television was a little small for the bedroom if one wanted to lie in bed and watch it. Bigger sized screens would be a lot easier on the eyes. There was no valuables safe. Free wi-fi is provided.This hotel tends to have a lot of wedding receptions. There were two in progress the first day we arrived. Therefore, if staying, ask for a room at the end away from where the wedding receptions are held. We dined out the first night in Enniskillen because we felt that the hotel facilities would be under too much pressure from the reception guests. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection, though because of its nature the cooked food tended to be a little overcooked with fried eggs being relatively solid and the bacon a little dry. Our toast was cold. The same comments applied to the breakfast we had in our room the first morning. We enjoyed the wedding dinner that was served to us at the reception. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Bantai
Thank you for a very comprehensive description of the hotel and our location. In house we actually refer to the lakeside as the front and the road side as the back!! Lakeview rooms come highly recommended and the scenery changes on a daily basis according to the weather!! We do cater for a large number of weddings during the course of a year with enough space that, on the occasion of two weddings on the same day, they don't interfere with each other. Our restaurant and grill bar are fully operational during weddings as we have several kitchens and we advise and organise table reservations accordingly, usually on check-in. Glad you enjoyed your wedding banquet and found our staff both helpful and friendly. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us on the occasion of attending a wedding, kind regards, Leigh Watson, HR manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel.facilities are great. Fab for weddings- ours was here in 2008 and they couldn't have been more helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hi Gillian G,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a Tripadvisor review.

We are delighted to read that you rate both the facilities and staff so highly.

Hopefully married life is treating you well- time sure is flying by!

The hotel has actually been shortlisted as Wedding Venue of the Year in the Wedding Journal Awards 2012 (so fingers crossed).

We look forward to welcoming you back...

Kind regards,
Jonathan

Jonathan Gallagher
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hotel was excellent front rooms are Fab overlooking loch Erene Rear facing rooms have some noise check first as air condition fans go all night

Room Tip: choose rooms facing Loch well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager180, Manager at Killyhevlin Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Hamish1943,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a Tripadvisor review.

We are delighted to read that you have rated the Killyhevlin Hotel as "excellent". The Lakeview Guest Rooms really do offer stunning views of Lough Erne and we are glad that you got to avail. We have noted your comment regarding the air conditioning units as this is a rare problem.

There is no mention of the "wedding" however we hope you had a great day.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon...

Kind regards,
Jonathan

Jonathan Gallagher
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killyhevlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyhevlin Hotel

Address: Belfast Road, Enniskillen BT74 6RW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Enniskillen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Enniskillen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Enniskillen
#5 Business Hotel in Enniskillen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyhevlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare to be greeted with sheer beauty and style at the award winning 4* Killyhevlin Hotel and Chalets. With breathtaking views overlooking scenic Lough Erne and Health Club to enjoy- this hotel truly has it all. Surrounded by private grounds and lakeside gardens, this family run hotel is located only 1km from the town of Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh. Why not go that one step further and spoil yourself at the Elemis Spa, complete with Relaxation Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Killyhevlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killyhevlin Hotel Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Hotel Killyhevlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killyhevlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.