We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little find!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheelin Tea Rooms

The Sheelin Tea Rooms
Ballanaleck, Enniskillen BT92 2BA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 6634 8232
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 54 Restaurants in Enniskillen
Restaurant details
Omagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little find!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Overall I really enjoyed the food and atmosphere after having visited the lace museum beside the tearooms which is also worth a look!!!

The staff were very friendly and they had an extensive list of specials for the day. I went on a Friday lunchtime and it as very busy. I had sampled some of their cupcakes and cheese and olive scones at a Farmers Market in Enniskillen and always wanted to try the tearooms but was slightly disappointed when they were none of the gorgeous treats that I had previously sampled were there but they still had a wide variety of treats and desserts but I missed the delicious cupcakes

My brother let slip it was my birthday and I received a free brownie which I thought was a lovely touch. I would definitely go again but bring back the cupcakes!!!

Worth a visit!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Dropped in here for a 2nd visit , as had been here last year and really enjoyed it. Were shocked to see that the fabulous selection of confectionery was not covered and exposed to the air. My husband and I were looking forward to scones with jam and cream but were really disappointed to see that there were flies walking on them!!. This could so easily be rectified , in this day and age by just covering the items. Poor hygiene with regard to flies is our pet hate and is very off putting , as if there is poor hygiene front of house, I would dread to think what the kitchens are like. We made our excuses and left. Will not be back!!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

In this tiny town, who would have expected such a gem. We visited the lace shop next door and were treated by this delightful tea shop. Great cakes and the strawberry meringue...out of this world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings but a tad expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We were visiting with an Australian visitor who wished to see the Lace Museum....we then had lunch....carrot soup and wheaten bread. The soup was more like they had just opened a tin of carrot juice and heated it up....sorry, but that's how it looked and tasted to me. The wheaten bread was just ok...nothing to write home about. The service was just passable...the surroundings in the main eating area are fine, yes, I agree with another poster that service was slow.
The toilets were freezing and very unwelcoming indeed. More attention needs to be given to this area. Yes, it was £18.00 for a bowl of soup (have to be fair and say it was a big bowl) wheaten bread and a cup of coffee for two and the same soup, wheaten bread and a drink of juice for one. Too expensive for the countryside where the rates would not be as high as in a big town. Compare this with £11.00 for the same meal for 3 on the North Antrim coast. Won't be eating there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but more options would be pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Came in here for tea after visiting the beautiful lace museum next door. Was reasonably busy, three members of staff were on as well as another working in the kitchen. The cafe was about two thirds full. Ordered a pot of tea, two coffees, a slice of victoria sponge and two apple tarts.

Sat down at the table, all the free tables were cluttered with plates, understandably, we presumed we came in after the lunchtime rush (this was about 1pm). Took about 20 minutes for our tea and coffees to arrive, the table nearest us seemed to be waiting quite a while for their sandwiches and drinks.

I had to remove plates and cups to another table to free some space, the girl didn't offer to clean down our dirty table, instead serving our food on it. Having worked in food service myself for many years it's a bit peeve of mine. Not so pleasant eating off a dirty table. The cream in the sponge was very sweet, sponge a bit dry, but I liked it well enough. The apple tart was decent. We went to pay and it cost about £18 for three of us, which was unexpected.

A lovely location, decent enough cake and tea, perhaps more attention needed to customer service - though that's not to say the girls serving us weren't perfectly sweet, just a little more attention to cleanliness. I'd like to see more vegetarian salad and sandwich options on the menu because what was available was limited or unimaginative. This place has great potential.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sheelin Tea Rooms also viewed

Bellanaleck, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to The Sheelin Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheelin Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.