We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable tasty fish dishes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's

Sam's
20 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
+44 1726 832273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Fowey
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sams, opened in 1987. Still standing the test of time.Something for everyone. Hope you enjoy.
liskeard
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Reliable tasty fish dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We ate at SAMs twice in 2012. We took our children on both occasions and received excellent service. Everyone is exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We are pleased to say that the menu hasn't changed a lot in ten years, or indeed the prices which are very reasonable. We had bouillabaisse on one occasion and seafood platter on another. Both accompanied with fresh bread, we topped up our orders with fries which meant our children could share the fish with us and try new thing flavours and textures without it costing a fortune or food being wasted. What is really best is the relaxed atmosphere, you can chill out, not worry too much about children being fidgety or noisy and just have a nice healthy enjoyable fantastic food experience without any pomp or formality but still receive the service and quality you would expect from a top restaurant. Our fav place to eat in Cornwall!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    196
    57
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly and Fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Been to SAMs a number of times with family and friends. Last visited on New Years Day with my family and we all had a wonderful meal. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and told we would have to wait about 30 minutes for a table which was fine. We had a drink and ordered our lunch and within 20 mins we had a table and our food came shortly after. I had the scallops which were cooked superbly, and a very large portion of Moules which were also terrific. The kids had the homemade burgers which I have tried before and really enjoyed. The staff are really friendly and chatty, the music is brilliant, and it is no wonder this place is always busy! would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting Fowey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loucestershire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am a sucker for old buildings, so here is one with great food and a good view. Great seafood, but the wood baked pizza's are to die for. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sam's is a fun, funky restaurant which serves great food. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is different to the boring norm and is very tasty. Being a vegetarian I am often resigned to a cheese and onion tart, a pasta dish I could easily make myself, or a mushroom risotto. At Sam's some fantastic, healthy, very tasty veg meals are offered. We love going here and will continue to do so.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited mid afternoon whilst the restaurant was busy and we were immediately welcomed and served.
Great Cappucino, wonderful and fresh seafood, the seafood platter for two was really great. Large portions and served with a Very fresh salad and crusty bread, bliss.

We would thoroughly recommend this place and do go in, even if it is busy. A real treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's also viewed

 

Been to Sam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.