We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tai Pan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tai Pan
1 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AH, England
01726 833899
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 35 restaurants in Fowey
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“good and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we had take away and restaurant in taipan very nice food and staff is very friendly to talk will back again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    7
    11
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place had the worst service. It took 45 minutes to get our entrees, another 45 minutes to get our main courses which didn't come out all together and two dishes were forgotten. We had to get our own wine off the bar and they kept forgetting our beers. The food was cold and the portions were very small. And at the end the bill came to 235 pounds and it was worth about 30 pounds. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, even if they were starving!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good choice for big family dining in Fowey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We took 15 of our family out to The Tai Pan before our wedding. We knew the sister restaurant to this over in Wadebridge well so felt confident that the quality would be good. We were not disappointed. Admittedly the restaurant was quiet, however the service was very prompt and flexible to the needs of our family, especially the children. Drinks and prawn crackers were quickly presented and the food came fresh, hot and very tasty.

Great little restaurant that did us proud that evening. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Chinese restaurant and take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always go to the Tai Pan every time we visit Fowey. Lovely food and friendly staff .... always makes our holiday!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The food was very tasty. The monk fish dish we ordered had a good quantity of fish, but the other meat dishes did not have a decent amount of meat.

Price was a bit high for Chinese.

Service was very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai Pan also viewed

Fowey, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Been to Tai Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tai Pan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.