We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galleon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Galleon Inn to your Saves list
The Galleon Inn
Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Fowey B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't go wrong :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Yummy food, huge portions! Always busy which tells you something in itself! Definitely recommend the BBQ melt! The prices are very reasonable as well, always lots on the menu to choose from! Beautiful spot, watch out for the seagulls tho!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent two days in this Inn and I can't praise it enough. The room overlooking the estuary with lovely views was fully booked but we were extremely comfortable in the doubled bedded room at the side and had everything we needed. It rained for the majority of our two day stay, so it was convenient to have everything at our finger tips, a friendly pub to sit and enjoy a drink with wonderful views, as well as a pleasant restaurant. The food and service were excellent and the staff very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Galleon to anyone and will definitely be returning next year. We parked our car in the main car park at the top of the hill and walked down but it is worth noting that the Town Bus stops just around the corner by the Tourist Information Office and runs every 15 minutes and will drop you off there for a small fee. The driver goes out of her way to be helpful so, sometimes you will get a nice tour of Fowey whilst she drops off locals at different locations. We are not walkers but did the Hall Walk in the pouring rain which wasn't too strenuous, but be warned, it is about 4 miles if you do both Poluran and Bodinnick.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Fowey river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Keyne, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The restaurant staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. This was recommended by a lady when we were enquiring about take away places to eat on the harbour front as the evening weather was too good to sit indoors. However on learning there were no take away shops we had this recommendation. We arrived an took a table on the outside water front but by the time we were ready to eat the sun had moved on. We then moved tables to indoors where the sun still shone through the roof, which was not a problem with the staff and went on to have a really good plateful of food served to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pleasant place, great location. Lovely to have a bath after our day's walking. If you're in Fowey, it's a perfectly nice place to stay. Rooms not huge, but comfortable. I liked the big tea mugs - so many B&Bs have mean little cups. Breakfast in the conservatory very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited the galleon again, still not disappointed. It was a lovely if slightly breezy day. The place was packed inside and out, we sat in the consevertory looking over the bay, it was lovely and warm with the sun coming through the glass. But the service and food was still excellent. We all ordered different and no one was dissatisfied. Thankyou to all the staff we will be back again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have stayed in the galeeon a number of times over the last year, each time the staff have greated us with a warm welcome on arrival and gone out of their way to help with any queries. The room was cleaned and services to a high standard and at suitable times so it didnt interfere with our plans. We ate several meals in the pub during our stay and all were fantastic, the fresh fish is probably the best Ive had in years!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this pub for 4 nights in the easter break, expecting it to be a standard b and b. But boy were my expectations exceeded!
Me and my partner were shown to our room by a member of the very friendly bar staff, the room was lovely! So clean, and we had the most amazing view out over the whole fowey river! The bed was so comfy i never wanted to get out! But its worth it to be greeted by a sublime breakfast, so much choice!! Me and my partner both went for the full english and werent dissapointed!
The breakfast staff were warm and friendly and the view again out over the water was mind blowing!
We ate dinner at the galleon for 3 out of the 4 evenings, and again we werent dissapointed, my personal favorite being the fish and chips, which was the size of a whale!! And sooo tasty! And my partner loved the sausage and mash, served in a ginormous yorkie P! The other meals we saw being served looked just as yummy too, and the waitors/waitress' were very polite and attentive.
Overall we couldnt be more pleased with our stay at the galleon! Will definately definately be coming back! Thankyouu!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Inn

Address: Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Galleon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galleon Hotel Fowey
The Galleon Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galleon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.