We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galleon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Galleon Inn to your Saves list
The Galleon Inn
Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Fowey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

A great place and excellent value for money both the rooms in which we stayed and also the cost of a pint was brilliant value too. Food was good too with a wide range of choice. Nikki & Lee and staff were all pleasant nice and always willing to help. We will definitely stay their again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've stayed here a few times now and all in all this Bed and Breakfast is very good value for Money. We visit Fowey often and this is an ideal base for all the local towns. Although this B&B is located over a Pub we have never experienced a disturbed nights sleep from noise or entertainment. We've only ever had 1 Complaint and this was dealt with immediately and we were compensated accordingly (the bed in room 1 is a bit beyond it's life I think, every time you turned you'd be woken by the squeaking bed frame). Breakfast is fabulous and the Dinner served in the Pub is also very nice and at a good price.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate at the Galleon on one occasion and drank there a number of times during the week, because the liked the place and the service.
Service was good on all occasions and it's good if you can get the window seat and watch the waves crash in if it's a blustery day outside. Alternatively if sunny, why not sit outside and enjoy the goings on in the harbour?
The food was served in large portions, my partner had the chicken Gujons (starter size) and was served with a plateful of well prepared food. I had sausage and chips in a giant Yorkshire pudding and enjoyed every bit of it. Sometimes larger portions mean poorer quality food, not in this case and also quite reasonable compared some of the other, more finer dining establishments in the town.
The ales are plentyful and good quality St Austell Tribute was available on tap at the time of our visit.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you love Fowey, you'll love the Galleon because it has a central position, rivers views and is incredibly luxurious for the money. If you think Fowey isn't a patch on what it once was, you'll still love the Galleon because it is unpretentious and is popular with locals.
What I loved - luxury touches like DVD player in room, free toiletries, good class biscuits in the room, excellent coffee at the bar and at breakfast, breakfast cooked to order of top quality ingredients. I also applaud the kindness to smokers, so rare these days, with ample rain cover and HEAT for us addicts. And I don't want to jinx it, but the rates for singles in their own super-comfy double rooms is much appreciated. Large pubby menu which included plenty of home-cooked food, was generous and excellent value. The whole atmosphere was friendly and inclusive. By far the best b&b I've stayed in in Fowey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great food! Great Beer! Great Views!
Had wonderful fresh mackerel and Hubby and Son had the sunday dinners which were good sized portions. I think the food prices are great value! You cant beat the view over the estuary while supping a cornish pint of beer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

For anyone who doesn't know, most of the little B&B's in Fowey are one narrow, one car, one way streets so loading and unloading is a challenge. Get past that and you will find the most wonderful accomodations, the best in Fowey being The Galleon. Right on the waterfront, with a huge patio overlooking the harbour, this place is very old and has lots of character. We had breakfast cooked to order every day, so it was always hot. Full English breakfasts are large meals that kept us going most of the day, except when we wandered by the bakery next door and had to sample some the fresh cream donuts, real cinnamon rolls, Devon cakes, etc. Even the Cornish pasties and sausage rolls were always fresh, nothing left over from yesterday in these places. We took a boat trip to Mevagissey where we watched the tide go out and leave all the boats stranded, and return again six hours later to get everything floating. We also took the water taxi to the other side of the harbor where you can walk the cliff tops to the next town nine miles away. Great place for a holiday. I don't drink beer but my cousin said the Doom Beer was very tasty.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbor. There are only two of them I believe, so they are hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good food menu and a choice of local ales etc.. it's always a pleasure to return to this lovely spot in Fowey. We visit the town maybe two of three times a year for personal reasons and we always have a meal with friends in the Galleon whilst we are there. On a sunny day...sit on the patio and you have a lovely view of the Fowey estuary...with all the many boats in the harbour. Lovely place to eat and socialise...I would recommend this is a must to visit if you are in Fowey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Inn

Address: Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Galleon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galleon Hotel Fowey
The Galleon Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galleon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.