We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and relaxing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Watermill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Watermill
Penventinue Lane, Fowey PL23 1JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Fowey B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in the Millstones room for one night and really enjoyed the stay. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable kingsize bead and its own private access separate from the house. It has a lovely feel to the place, and the host was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was served to us in our room, which was a big bonus to us as I am pregnant and food seems to be the first thing on the agenda when I wake up, and my husband wanted to watch the rugby on the TV! The breakfast menu was extensive, and very well cooked. I imagine in the Summer it would be lovely having breakfast outside, or a bottle of wine in the evening!

There is a five minute drive into Fowey (or you could walk it easily), and there are plenty of places to visit locally. You could easily spend a week in the area and you would have plenty to do and see.

I would highly recommend this place, its very peaceful and relaxing, and I am sure we will visit again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for four nights at Millstones. The room was lovely & cosy and lovely big king size bed. Modern but keeping old touches, plenty of lovely running hot water!!! The breakfasts were amazing and delivered to your door every morning at specified time. The place was so tranquil and just a stones throw from the town itself. Carrie & Graham were very helpful, giving us useful info on where to eat & drink and Graham printed us off a walk which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. We had a wonderful time and didn't want to come home. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A really lovely Place to stay. Nicely decorated rooms. Breakfast wonderful.Beautiful setting and very friendly but not overbearing host.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed four nights in the Millstones B&B room at the Old Watermill. There are also some other converted barns called Coriander Cottage (some reviews there too for Millstones). There is a larger self catering apartment next door.
The room was clean and spacious with TV, DVD player and Ipod dock. There is free internet connection too and in the cupboard there is a fridge and microwave. Bathroom also spacious with plenty of hot water. Lovely decor and comfy beds.
The room has patio doors. Outside is a gravel courtyard with a small area cordoned off by small olive trees for the Millstone room. We had breakfast out there on two mornings in the sun.
The breakfasts are huge with lots on offer and Carrie (the owner) will do something different for any dietary needs.
It's a bit of a hike (20-30 mins) into Fowey, but you'll work off those large breakfasts or your fish and chips on the walk back (take a torch and watch out for badgers running across your path!).
Room is cleaned each day and clean towels supplied.
We would return to this B&B and Carrie was really helpful giving tips on where to eat and short cuts. We didn't fully explore the garden or find the shetland pony - so maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Watermill

Address: Penventinue Lane, Fowey PL23 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted 17C watermill accommodation in a rural location in the coastal town of Fowey. Bed and Breakfast in courtyard rooms around a cyderpress fountain and self catering cottages with views, log burner, farmhouse kitchen,funky summerhouse with BBQ and "sundowners" terrace.Large gardens complete with ducks on the mill pond, just 5 minutes drive from the picturesque harbourside town. Woodland, coastal and riverbank walks from the doorstep. Pets by arrangement. Free parking and wi-fi.Luxury packages and upgrades including private boat charter available. Bed and Breakfast rooms include a full Cornish breakfast delivered to your accommodation or around the millpond. Two self catering cottages sleeping 6 and 4. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Watermill Fowey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Watermill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Watermill to your Saves list