We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Fowey Hotel to your Saves list
The Fowey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yet again Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just had another break at the Fowey Hotel, our second visit.
This is a wonderful hotel to relax in. The food is excellent well worth being DBB. The customer service from all the staff is always faultless.
Even in January the hotel looked full which just goes to show it's not just us who love this hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a sew view room it really is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    207
    50
    16
    12
See reviews for
99
590
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at The Fowey Hotel many times over the years. This time I returned after a stay at the Waldorf Astoria in New York where 'charm and manners' were absent across the entire hotel - one example being a two hour wait for room service to bring me soft drinks . . . nothing could be more opposite at The Fowey Hotel where old fashioned service courtesy and manners were evident troughout my visit - and where ones' requests were met with efficiency with no 2 hour wait! In my experience of staying at hotels it is rare to find one which has such exacting standards and where the staff actually appear to be pleased to see you!
Having had no reply to my five page complaints to the Waldorf Astoria I intend to conntact them again and sugest that their staff might benefit from a training session in courtesy and manners from the Fowey Hotel. I very much look forward to my next stay in March.
Vivienne Plummer

Room Tip: I particulary like rooms 101 and 102 which have a sideways Estuary view and are excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a 1 night stay and wished it could have been a bit longer. It is a classically British Victorian hotel with all the period features you would expect including a great old lift. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and we felt well looked after. It probably has some of the best views in Fowey which we enjoyed from the bar over pre-dinner drinks. We plan on another visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As other reviewers have commented, this is a traditional hotel, full of character, friendly & helpful staff and wonderful food.

It is situated right at the mouth of the river, with spectacular views up the river and also out to sea.

It's also just a five minute walk into town, or a great centre for strolling further afield.

Room Tip: We were in room 303 (top floor) - great room overlooking the sea and estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent an overnight stay here it was delightful.

The staff could not have been more helpful as this was a surprise (en route to a rental home in Cornwall) for my husbands birthday. The staff were "in" on the surprise and could not do enough to help it be a success. Even to the point of putting pseudo names in the car park so as not to alert my husband of their arrival!

The rooms were warm, comfortable and a reasonably good size. The dinner was excellent although in hindsight it might have been better to have had a round table with a group of 6 people. The chef did a great job.

Breakfast was very good with some good choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've just returned from our first stay at the Fowey Hotel, and have to say, it's absolutely charming. The hotel is situated overlooking the Fowey estuary; idyllic! I note that some have commented about the hotel being old-fashioned, but for us, that was part of its charm. We were not expecting to find a state-of-the-art hotel, but rather, enjoyed the grand character that the Fowey Hotel had to offer; the old lift was fabulous too. How rare to find a functioning lift of this nature nowadays. My fiancee upgraded our room to one with a seaview, and I have to say it was simply stunning! An amazing Christmas treat.

In terms of the food, whilst the food WAS good, it didn't have the wow-factor. We felt the menu was quite limited too, though having said that, don't get us wrong, it was still good.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room and be sure to book parking as parking spaces and fees are at a premium in Fowey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights just before christmas on the recomendation of friends. We found the hotel dated with nothing in the decor or menus to indicate that we were in cornwall. how this hotels warrants 4 stars is a mystery the staff were friendly but we found service old fashiond the position is stunning and it could be a great hotel but unfortunatly it needs a fortune spent on it and from the amount of customers we encounted in the bar and around the place thats not going to happen pity .The chef needs to eat out more the world of dining has moved on since he took the helm at the hotel all in all if you like the care home feel stay here.

Room Tip: we had one of the cheaper inland view rooms glad we did not pay anymore
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fowey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.