We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian splenda with modern service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Fowey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fowey
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Victorian splenda with modern service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked a mid week break for 2 nights for my husband and myself in October half term. Booked through Secret Escapes and what a bargain it was. Paid less than £250 for 2 nights, inland room, with breakfast and a main meal at dinner. Also included 1 bottle of house wine and a mini afternoon tea.

Firstly my inland room (room 210) was fabulous, big, spacious, recently refurbished but still had a victorian splenda feel about it, it was a corner room with dual aspect and we had a slight view of the sea. But as it went dark at 5pm didnt think I would benefit from paying the extra for the view. Room had tea/coffee (coffee was selection for the caffetia which was a nice touch) and you could request extra from the cleaning team. Bathroom spotless and well stocked.

To get to the centre of Fowey was so easy, just a walk down the steps through the garden and then a very flat walk for about 5 minutes and we were there.

Restaurant was fabulous, try the smoked Haddock for breakfast but remember to ask for eggs etc to go with it, or it comes on its own.

With Secret escapes, you only get the main course included, for any other courses (and its worth paying for them) it was £6.50 per course extra.

Staff really attentive. Think Downton Abbey and this sums The Fowey Hotel up completely. Wouldn't have been surprised if Mr Carson suddenly appeared and said "Good morning"

The people who gave this hotel a negative comment, need to recognise that this hotel is not modern, not sterile, not impersonnal. Its grand, traditional with impeccable service. A true Victorian example of how Hotels should be run.

Will be going again in February, and if I went again in the summer months, then the sea view would be worth the supplement.

Book this hotel and you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: The views are spectacular, but I staying in an inland room as it went dark at 5pm, so the view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    170
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
71
455
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Fowey Hotel on numerous occasions, both as a family, for Christmas breaks and for the occasional mini break. Yes it is a bit dated but we have always found the food excellent, the staff helpful and efficient and the view wonderful. On each occasion our rooms have been clean and comfortable, and I wonder if some of the negative reviewers actually stayed there! The parking is a problem - but parking throughout Fowey is a problem and I do object to them hiking the price at Christmas! Our most recent midweek mini break was fine as usual and only mildly spoiled by the rude and arrogant behaviour of some other guests towards the staff. Regarding price - when we held a family function at the Fowey Hotel and some people decided to price up other local options the Fowey compared very favourably with local pubs for B & B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The decided to stop in this little town in our personal tour in Cornwall, we were very lucky to find this gem as most of the hotels in town apparently do not have parking facilities as this one, we had a room with sea view which was superb, although we did not have any parking space booked in advance, the porter was very kind to find one for us, that was great as many people can tell, the parking facilities in Fowey are not that great as the streets are very narrow and the car parks are quite far from this hotel. The room was average, especially if you like period time architecture and feel comfortable staying in one of them with the noises of wooden structures that always are common things in this sort of buildings (I wonder how is it in high season as when we went was very quite), the view was fantastic, but it would be better if the the windows were cleaned more often as ours were a bit dissapointing when looking through (Especially when GBP 50 extra are paid for the room with view).The restaurant was beautiful with excellent views as well, average continental breakfast and good one a la carte, not many tables for the size of the hotel, I imagine that in summer time or school holidays it could be a bit of a nightmare to find tables and service, hope that is not the case. The wi-fi was on and off most of the time in our room (205). Do not know if they own the car park, but it looks that is in need of resurfacing. Nice gardens, and again, the views from the hotel in general are great! I would be happy to go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Reviewing Spinnakers restaurant at the Fowey Hotel only here. Ate here with my wife and Mother in law as a birthday treat for her, and what a treat it was!
A warm and friendly welcome greeted us and we were seated in the bar area for a pre dinner drink and to browse the menu.
We all elected to start with the gravadlax and quails egg with Russian salad to start, followed by a fillet steak, duck breast and for myself the Cornish hake.
We sat down to a selection of lovely fresh breads to nibble on swiftly followed with our starters. The gravadlax was superb as was all dressings and accompaniments, Mains followed, I was lucky enough to sample all 3, the fillet was one of the tastiest I have tried, the duck superbly cooked and my hake was perfect. Again all the accompaniments matched perfectly with the dishes.
Desserts were equally as good, as was the cheeseboard.
The restaurant itself is for my taste, too brightly lit and a bit open but this is really a very minor criticism - it was dark when we visited but still a lovely view across the Fowey - stunning in daylight. Friendly and attentive Maitre de although one of the young waiters was slightly out of his depth!
Highly recommended and I will be saving up for another visit soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Fowey Hotel is our favourite hotel in England - first stayed there about 14 years ago and keep going back. The food is excellent, very high quality and the staff are really friendly.
Well worth paying for a parking space as alternative is the main public carpark.
The location is to die for and the actual town interesting and quaint.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Old fashion quality hotel with great views and a good restaurant which can't always be said of UK hotels. Staff very friendly but car parking was a bit awkward in view of restricted space. One plus point was a Real Ale on tap - well done to the management as most hotels are not bothered about offering good quality beer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Efficient and welcoming. A diplomatically worded charter for your dog encouraging them (you) to be thoughtful, a lovely doggy bag for your dogs including blankets, poo bags, treat. A great view from the room over the estuary. Bed a bit soft for our backs but the bath was great after walking the coastal path for the day. Excellent meals, good choices. Car park small but efficiently managed to get everyone in, your name posted on the car park slot is a welcome sight when you arrive. This was our second visit to this hotel, we took two large dogs with us and received smiles from all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for estuary view, it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fowey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.