We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fowey Hall to your Saves list
Fowey Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location and fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed almost everything this hotel had to offer, the location and the accommodation. The front of house staff were excellent in every aspect, however the breakfast staff seemed a little under trained. The big let down is the cafe breakfast experience, it's so awful we strongly recommend you consider having breakfast in the town.
We would stay here again and recommend this hotel for two or three nights.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear 'Travelfriends1'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the location. However it was disappointing that breakfast service was not enjoyable for you. I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person in order that I can try to make amends.

Please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

I hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Kind regards

Chris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    65
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
158
105
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have very mixed feelings about our stay at Fowey Hall….Possibly best if I split my review into the good vs bad points:

We had a Suite in the recently refurbished annexe. We visited in October 2012.

The good:
• Cannot fault the location – the views are quite superb, and it’s only a short (steep) walk into Fowey.
• The staff were wonderfully friendly – even if sometimes not particularly efficient
• The children’s wii, table tennis, movie room etc meant that the children disappeared quite quickly after finishing their meal to play leaving us in relative peace and calm to finish our meal /glass of wine
• Swimming pool is good size, and as we were there during a quiet period, we sometimes had pool to ourselves - brilliant
• Very comfortable sitting room and snug with fireplaces to enjoy a post dinner coffee or post breakfast newspaper…

The bad:
• Décor – this is a personal taste thing, so I can’t comment strongly either way, however I would say it’s pretty standard / nothing particularly special or luxurious, (tho’ bed was comfortable.)
• On day one, neither our bedroom light nor our children’s bedside light had a working lightbulb. Exacerbated by the fact that that the energy saving lightbulb and pink light shade made the children’s room so dark we had to use a torch to find anything in the cupboard – not easy for children’s eyes when reading at night.
• Day one disappointment continued: No hot water - so cold showers all round on our return from our walk. Advised management and all fixed quickly.
• Day three: Minor bathroom flood when pipes in ceiling started to leak – again, we advised management and they were quick to apologise and remedy. Starting to feel like Fawlty Towers!
• Days two, three and four: Woken each morning at 6am when guests in room upstairs got up and started moving around. Also woken at midnight when same guests returned home late. They appeared to be stomping purposefully around their room, but I suspect they were simply walking normally, it’s just that the soundproofing between floors is particularly poor.
• No hanging space! Our Suite had a double room, and a separate room with bunk beds for the children. Perfect in theory, however with only one hanging cupboard with one large drawer in the children’s room, and a chest of drawers in the main bedroom , there was no dedicated hanging space for Mum and Dad (Dad had to go out early one morning, and was found rummaging with torch in the cupboard in their bedroom at 6am trying not to wake them - yes, torch to the rescue again!). I gave up and used the back of the armchair as my wardrobe for the week.
• Still on the hanging space topic…..Considering this is a Suite for 4 people: there were two bathrobes on our bed to welcome us (one with enormous hole under arm), but only one hook on back of bedroom door. Four people meant four winter coats, yet only one hook on back of entrance door. Four people meant four towels, yet only one small towel rail (not enough to open even two towels for drying) and only one hook on the back of the bathroom door – which banged on the loo seat every time it opened – so hardly where you want to hang your bath/face towel (and no option to use back of armchair, as that was already six deep in shirts / dresses).

Jury’s out as to whether it’s worth the price….
• Having paid for a Suite for 4, on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate, it was disappointing to discover that ALL children’s meal are charged for separately – including breakfast. So, Adults are at an inclusive rate, and children are not. Have never encountered this before. (And it would appear that breakfast is £7.50 /child regardless of whether they have a Full English, or a bowl of cornflakes).
• Children’s dinner - £6.50 ish for a main (small burger, or bowl of pasta) + £3 - £4.00 for desert + £3.50 for a drink….
• Daily rate for a Suite for a family of 4 on a DBB therefore ends up being significantly more than the advertised rate. Not sure it’s really worth it, especially when overlaid with cold showers, mini-
floods, and 6 am overhead stomping.

Maybe we just had bad luck with our room and the maintenance issues – however I can’t help feel it’s a case of “lots of potential, but not quite there yet”. (And a bottle of wine on the house to apologise for the Fawlty Towers experience would not have gone amiss). Not sure whether we’ll be back – despite the magnificent location.

Room Tip: Main hotel may be better than annex due to poor sound proofing between floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ‘Sunbird007’

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us, please accept my apologies for this.

Please do give us another chance, Luxury Family Hotels purchased Fowey Hall in December 2011 and work is under way to see the whole hotel renovated and upgraded.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person in order that I can make amends for the poor experience that you had. Please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to talking with you.

With kind regards

Chris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having stayed in Woolley Grange and Moonfleet (all part of the same group) we were excited about Fowey Hall. The setting is spectacular and the views amazing (although we were unlucky enough to have bad weather for all of our 3 night stay!). The service was a bit hit and miss in terms of attentiveness (sometimes had to wait about / search for a member of staff eg. when trying to order lunch / kid's tea) but everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. The thing that really detracted from our enjoyement was the distance from our room to the main house. We knew our room wouldn't be in the main house when booking and had tried to find out exactly how far. We've stayed outside the main house before at Woolley Grange and felt safe going to dinner with baby listening service as our room was only a few steps out of the main house, but we didn't feel we could leave our son alone as our room was a good 3-4 minutes walk away. The room itself was absolutely beautiful - modern, clean and huge - one of the best hotel rooms we've ever seen. But the distance from the main house meant that we didn't end up having the grown-up dinners/evenings that we'd hoped for. However the facilities and location of this hotel were great and had we been in the main house I think we would have had a much more relaxing and enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ' josiemmc'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you liked the location, views and facilities at Fowey Hall but I am sorry to hear that the service on occasion was not to its usual standard and that you were disappointed with the distance of your room from the main house which impacted your stay.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you in person in order that I can try to make amends.

Please give me a call at the hotel at your convenience.

I hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Kind regards

Chris Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 days over Christmas at Fowey Hall which was a real delight. No cooking or cleaning over the festive period, lots of children for ours to play with. A fabulous swimming pool and children's den, good food, very nice guests, attentive staff, gorgeous fishing village of Fowey situated below the hotel. It rained but but hey it's England and the sun came out on Boxing Day, light streaming through the hotel.
I really liked the slightly faded grandure of the building, it gave it charm. Our room was good, a suite with basically 3 bedrooms - comprising a small turret room, a single and double room which was nice as children could have their own rooms. Double bed very small, probably only complaint.
This is a family hotel and full of noisy children during the school holidays so probably not the place to go if you are looking for a romantic getaway over this period, but great fun for little ones and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear 'VMAW'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us with your family over the Christmas period. It's great to know you loved the charm of the building & enjoyed the facilities Fowey Hall has to offer.

We very much hope to welcome you back soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a beautiful crisp January day so we decided to go to Fowey Hall for lunch to enjoy the spectacular views. We weren't particularly hungry so we sat by the window in an alcove on big velvet sofas in the lovely old drawing room and had wine, delicious sandwiches and coffee and chatted to the very friendly staff. The best bit was being joined by Bramble, the hotel's very friendly Springer Spaniel. Next time we will try the set lunch or dinner which looked very good as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear 'nick h'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us in one of the cosy lounges & we hope to be able to tempt you back again soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager), Bramble & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over Xmas with our three children aged 6, 5 and three months in a family suite. We were slightly nervous prior to our visit due to a few average reviews and the hotel website but fortunately we needn't have been concerned. If you have young children and are looking for a break then this place comes highly recommended.

In short the rooms are good, with many about to be refurbished. The food is also good and the ability to eat as a couple away from the children was greatly appreciated. The location is great as are the spa and indoor poor. Similarly the childcare, with onside crèche and activities is good.

Granted some small things could be improved but what really makes this place special are the staff and the atmosphere they create. Nothing is too much trouble. If you are looking for fussy and formal this is not the place but for a relaxed and comfortable break with great facilities for the whole family then go there quickly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear 'Harry_Hindsight'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period. It's great to know you found Fowey Hall relaxing and comfortable for you and your family.

We very much hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was everything we could have wished for in a family break!
We had a great time. The food was lovely (even though in our 4 night stay 2 of the nights had the same menu - I have a feeling if we had asked for something off the menu it would have been made). We had a room in the courtyard which was sumptious in every way.
Our daughter did not want to leave and has now decided she wants to be Cornish!
We are so pleased that we did book it even though when we tried to book it and stay an extra night the person on reception was very unhelpful and completely not indicative of the rest of the staff. The complimentary bubbly when we arrived was a fabulous touch and more than made up for the poor booking process.
A special mention goes to Emma in the Den who works with the children - she is such a star and made sure our daughter had a wonderful time at the pool and pamper parties.
Would thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel.
The staff cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble.
Perfect start to 2013. Will definitely be back.
Chris is a great hands on Manager and is doing a fab job of running this boutique hotel.
Our first New Year in the UK and definitely not our last.

Room Tip: If you have a family definitely the new refurbed rooms in the courtyard, huge modern and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear 'samskyLondon'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year celebrations. It's great to know you found all the staff so friendly and welcoming this is what we pride ourselves on.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon so your daughter can become Cornish through and through!

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fowey Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.