We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fowey Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fowey Hall to your Saves list
Fowey Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Fowey Hall Hotel is a grand, imposing building steeped in history. The location is excellent - five minutes walk from the centre of Fowey, yet set above the town with sweeping views and impressive grounds. I arrived on a blustery November day to be met with the smell of woodsmoke and a roaring fire in one of the lounges. Chris, the affable manager, appeared promptly and organised me a coffee - a warm welcome indeed. (Although all teas and coffees are logged and charged - not complimentary as one former reviewer had suspected. That would be a nice touch - at least one a day anyway?).

My room was spacious, comfy and clean - perhaps a little tired around the edges, particularly in the bathroom, but it gets away with it in the name of traditional chic. In fact, it adds to the whole experience. (There are also some newly refurbished rooms across the courtyard, rather than in the main building but I didn't see these).

The spa is across the car park and has an impressive outdoor hot tub with views over the estuary (suprisingly they don't make much of this on their web site), as well as a decent sized pool and spa treatments.

The staff are excellent and welcoming - particularly Irina who served breakfast, which was a good spread of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast and a choice of 4/5 hot dishes. The evening meal was average and very expensive for what it was. All very pleasant but not worth the money. You are better off going into town (even in the winter, Sam's the diner is open and highly recommended - it is, after all, where many of the locals go, and is buzzing even in winter. In summer you have a much wider choice.).

In all a lovely stay, like stepping back in time - roaring fires, a lounge and a library, efficient and welcoming staff. The only complaints? They need a bit of music in the lounge, particularly in the evening - a bit of jazz or something soulful in the background. Also, it is very dark walking down to town in the evening - they need more lights at the front and down the drive. One more grievance is not the hotel's fault, but the fault of the very noisy birds (crows?) in the glorious pine trees around the hotel. They start squawking at about 4am and keep going...not sure what the answer to that one is!

All in all - a lovely hotel and a great position But I got a £150 a night deal - not sure it quite justifies the full price tariff, unless they refurbish all the rooms?

Room Tip: Go for traditional rooms in the main building or the newly refurbished rooms across the courtyard, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear 'NKS74'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor- it helps us to adapt & evolve our offering. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us but the comments you have noted will be taken on board and we will do our best to address- although I am not sure what the solution is to the crows either! Luxury Family Hotels purchased the hotel in December last year and their extensive refurbishment program is under way which by the end of next year will see the whole hotel revitalised.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    64
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
158
105
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Yes it's a bit tired, but its a bloody joy and the very slight rough bits actually add to the fabulous character. It's just wonderful. The consideration for families is brilliant, but not overdone, they just understand what you need with littes ones in tow. Will come again and again. Would be a shame if they renovated away all the old charm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Womblefox'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family. Luxury Family Hotels purchased the hotel in December last year and their extensive refurbishment program is under way which by the end of next year will see the whole hotel revitalised but the design team will make sure this doesn't take away from the charm of the house!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The great thing about this hotel is the staff, especially the reception staff. We were greeted warmly when we arrived by a smiling receptionist and a waiter. They took our cases to our room and made us feel welcome. Throughout our 3 day stay the staff just could not do enough for you.
A lot needs to be done however to make it perfect. Our room "Violet" was large but it had almost no furniture or lighting. There was one comfy chair (for two) and the wall lights gave only a soft glow. There were few surfaces. As soon as we rang the desk the receptionist produced another chair, a table and a couple of office type standard lights.
Dinner was good but the menu did not change and we were not told about specials. Three days of this was enough. The cheese was good and there was no extra charge for it. The waiters were helpful, polite but appeared a little out of their depth. The breakfast waitress was Polish and she was first class and I suspect she was fully trained when she was hired. Breakfast itself was satisfactory but not great.
We discussed all this with the manager Chris, on our last day and he was sympathetic. He told us the hotel had recently been taken over and there was a refurbishment programme under-way. He was most concerned to know of all our complaints.
The most important thing about all this which must be emphasised was the warmth of the staff making staying here an enjoyable experience for all its faults.
I therefore recommend this hotel and would come again.

Room Tip: "Violet" is large but dim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Geraldmichael'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor- it helps us to adapt & evolve our offering. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us but the comments you have noted will be taken on board and we will do our best to address. I am pleased we had chance to have a chat before you departed and if you would like to visit us again please give me a call and I will personally handle all arrangements.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had 2 nights at the hotel with friends last weekend. As none of us have young children, we chose to go outside of school holiday time and it worked perfectly. There were a couple of children there but this was not a problem at all as we had the pool to ourselves at the times we chose to go - and what fantastic views, from the pool, hot tub, our rooms etc. The food was really good (especially the vegetarian choices) and the service spot on; friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The setting is perfect, with walking distance to a lovely small beach and to the town itself. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 'Terry O'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved Fowey as much as we do!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose Fowey Hall as our wedding venue in October '12 and from day 1 we felt we made the correct decision.

The reason for chosing Fowey Hall was:

1. They are very family orientated and we had a lot kids we wished to be happy and involved in our wedding
2. The setting and location is one of the best in Cornwall
3. The packages and support for weddings offered by Fowey Hall was the best and most flexible we saw in Cornwall when choosing our venue
4. We could house all our guests (80+) under one roof and not need to travel at all on the Wedding day
5. Their food and drink are exceptional, the kitchen being very supportive of our needs and requests

That is what swung the decision to hold the wedding at Fowey Hall, however, did the delivery match the selection criteria?

Yes, yes and very much yes!!!!

Mel, Chris, Ben and the whole team at Fowey Hall got on board with the relaxed and family orientated concept we mapped out for our wedding, delivered all that was asked for, were immensely flexible on the day as the we worked through the itinerary and took ownership of delivering the best possible day for us. It surpassed our expectations completely.

Fowey Hall's facilities are unique in the family and child focus they offer. The creche was used in the morning by many of the children attending the wedding - all having a great time. Everyone used the pool and the hot tub proved a massive attraction. The layout, listening service, games room, cinema room, gardens and child orientated dining all helped keep the small ones happy which in turn meant parents were happy to relax. All the staff took an interest in our guests and the wedding and were particularly attentive to looking after the children and supporting the parents.

My wife and I could not ask for more and cannot thank Fowey Hall enough. They delivered the dream fully and we would recommend them to anyone. Our decision was fully endorsed by the wonderful feedback we got from all our guests and a number will be returning to Fowey Hall for future holidays.

To everyone at Fowey Hall Hotel, in particular Mel, Chris and Ben for leading the teams so well and making our special day amazing - thank you! xxx

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view of the sea. For a special occasion, go for one of the turret su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear 'RColtz'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your special day at Fowey Hall - thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your big day. I am glad all of your guests (including the little ones) enjoyed the facilities and the day at the hall.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall- perhaps for your anniversary!

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights here at the end of half term. We stayed in a 2 room suite, one bedroom, a sitting room with sofa bed and z-bed for the children and a bathroom and separate toilet. Lots of room for our family of 5 to spread out. Not recently decorated, but maybe that was the shabby chic look, but clean and tidy.
Facilities were good, pool was nice with a great view from the hot tub over the river. Crèche had good space and lots of toys, but not as warm a welcome for the children as I have experienced in other locations, maybe this was why it was difficult to settle our youngest and he didn't want to go on the second day. The playroom for the children was popular, with a wii and a projector tv showing films every night during adult dinner.

Adult food very good, and very good value on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate. Also, some nice touches -the hotel has a dog which you can take for a walk - perfect for our daughter who has been begging for one for years; collecting the eggs from the hotel chickens was a high spot for our toddler; also, providing wellies, buckets and spades for use on the beach is a nice idea. The lounge area in the hotel was lovely with 2 log fires and plenty of comfy sofas, also the staff were very attentive and the lack of a bar was not an issue as they would pounce as soon as you sat down to see if you wanted a drink.

Just a few things that make this less than perfect - there is a limited children's menu and no options for children's snacks during the day (just the same menu as for the evening meal), also the children's portions are small and the food is expensive - £5.50 for some plain pasta and cheese for our toddler, £8 for a single round of ham sandwiches for our daughter. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were poor, the kettle lead too short to use and a poor supply of tea bags and milk - although the tea served in the lounge area was complementary (at least on our bill). Also, the activities are geared towards young children with little organised activity for our older two (10 and 12), but they were quite happy in the pool or playroom once they had made a few friends - but some initial activities to break the ice would be nice. And maybe a supervised activity during the adult's dinner would avoid the constant patter of tiny feet into the dining room, not that it caused any disturbance to anyone except the parents but would allow them to enjoy their dinner in peace.

Overall, a lovely short break, the combination of a very relaxed atmosphere, coupled with very attentive service made the weekend a joy, and the children's facilities and freedom they had around the hotel meant they enjoyed themselves equally.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 'MyNameWasTakenAlread'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor- it helps us to adapt & evolve our offering. I was pleased to read that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us but the comments you have noted will be taken on board and we will do our best to address. If you would like to discuss anything in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at Fowey Hall Hotel. Luxurious, comfortable and incredibly child-friendly. Lovely new touches - for example, the cinema room for children, a little "spa party" for children one of the evenings and a "Splash" pool party another evening. The staff were top-rate - we were warmly and personally greeted (which is rare!), the nursery staff were wonderful with the kids and the restaurant team were warm and friendly. A couple of nights' pre-dinner drinks were slow, but that's a very minor quibble in a week long stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoweyHallHotel, General Manager at Fowey Hall, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 'MarniW'

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed some of the new facilities and activities we have put on for the children during the half term holiday - we found the splash party in particular a big hit!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fowey Hall soon

Warm regards

Chris Williams (General Manager) & The Fowey Hall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fowey Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowey Hall

Address: Hanson Drive, Fowey PL23 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fowey Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fowey Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fowey Hall Hotel Fowey
Hall Hotel Fowey
Fowey Hall Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fowey Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.