We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, not good.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Restaurant - CLOSED

Commodore Restaurant
39a Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AH, England
01726 833594
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oh dear, not good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There is a very good reason why there are tables available here when all the other eateries are full. The place lacks atmosphere (probably due to the lack of customers and the decor), the food is poor and the service lacks finesse. The cheeseboard was laughable, but they do sell Asti Spumante

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    10
    16
    11
    8
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dry Tuna”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

After trying, unsuccessfully, to book a table at Sam's, we found ourselves on the doorstep of The Commodore. The menu promised a wide selection of fish at affordable prices. Warning bells should've sounded when we realised that a glass of the house white cost only £2 and that we were one of only a handful of diners on a Friday night.

We were shown to our table by a friendly waiter, who took our order (calamari, tuna steak and mussels). Our starter arrived in record time. We were presented with some limp rings of squid in a slimy batter. They were edible, but far from enjoyable.

Minutes after our starter was cleared away, our main courses arrived. My boyfriend's face fell as his tuna steak was put in front of him, prompting laughter from a passer by. Hopes had been raised after the waiter had asked how he would like the tuna steak cooked. These were dashed when it became apparent that the tuna steak could've been cooked in an underground oven for several days, and still be as tough as leather.

Needless to say, less than a few mouthfuls of the steak were eaten. When the waiter asked if everything was alright with the meal, we expressed our disdain. He thanked us "for our honesty", before asking us if we'd like to see the desert menu. Having spent long enough in Dante's seventh circle of hell, we opted for the bill, which was presented to us in full.

Although the waiting staff were excellent, we did not leave a tip, opting to save our pennies for a packet of crisps from the pub, on our way home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As, like the other reviews, we were the only ones having a meal and I have to agree, it looks like it was last decorated and dusted in 1950, but the meal was surprisingly good.
The starters arrived rather too quickly but there was absolutely nothing to cause offence.
Two very good lemon soles and an indifferent spicy Italian Chicken dish for main course, washed down with a bland white wine.
The service was odd to say the least.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We made the mistake of eating at this restaurant as our children don,t really eat fish & most of the restaurants we looked at had a lot of fish on their menus. The menu choice outside this restaurant was unimaginative but seemed ok for the kids. Unfortunately we were inside before we realised the restaurant was completely empty except for the staff who were all staring at the door! On closer inspection the decor was truly outdated, shabby & in need of a good clean. Our starters ( scallops) arrived on old fashion cafe style plates, with a few pieces of wet lettuce & was under-cooked. I would normally have asked for them to be re-done but I was keen to get through the meal as quickly as possible as the waitors did nothing but stare at us while we were eating! My husbands rump steak was poor and the pepper sauce was awful. The presence of several flies throughout the meal was the icing on the cake for a truly awful experience. The only good thing was the IPA beer but that was served from a bottle so how could it be messed up.

If you find it difficult to get a table elsewhere in Fowey then my advice would be to drive to another town rather than eat here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Retro without trying! - Unimaginative Food but Decent Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We ate here prior to reading any reviews and can see why it's received mixed responses. Walking into the restaurant is like stepping back in time to the 1970/80's, which is fine if it was bright and fresh - could certainly do with a lick of paint - it's retro without trying. We were greeted very warmly and ordered starters of whitebait and calamari - both were fresh and tasty. My husband had sea bass, whilst I had whitebait for mains. Both were simply prepared, fresh and tasty - my husband had mixed veg and this is where food fails to deliver - over cooked and rather bland - no imagination used. We also had a bottle of decent wine at a very reasonable price. Overall this is an unpretentious albeit unimaginative restaurant - food decent enough and I think the main problem is that within Fowey - it's not trendy/stylish enough for the "bright young things"! Reading over the other reviews I think it's a bit of a hit or miss situation with this establishment and luckily for us (it was very quiet) we hit lucky!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commodore Restaurant also viewed

 
Fowey, Cornwall
Fowey, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.