We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fantastic place in fowey !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fowey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
Trafalgar Square, Fowey PL23 1AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Fowey B&B and Inns
1 review
“Most fantastic place in fowey !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in December whilst visiting some friends. On arrival the staff greeting us like old friends and they couldn't be more helpful. Our room was spotless, cosy and comfy. Wasnt a problem that there was no ensuite as two bathrooms were just across the hall and were lovely and clean. Breakfast was lovely and huge ! Had dinner in pub one night and again was fantastic, burgers are fantastic. We had a great time and will definetly be staying again. Best place to stay in Fowey x

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Like a lot of places in Cornwall out of season, this place didn't do food on a Sunday night. Shame, as we enjoyed our couple of pints and would have liked to stay longer. Friendly staff and decent local ales in front of a roaring open fire.

Parking is really difficult - even in winter. You get about 30 minutes if you're lucky directly outside, but other than that, it's a trek down from the pay & display at the top of the town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

brillliant attentive staff, fantastic chef, lovely olde worlde atmosphere. Our room spotlessly clean {pity no en-suite}. Great real ale. STAY THERE!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We visit Fowey often and went to the SHip 3 times on our week's holiday - 2 of which were for food. Can heartilky recommend the Kernow Burger - so tasty and juicy! And Fish and Chips were delicious!
A pint of Cornish Rattler by the fire, chatting with friendly locals - can't beat it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were delighted with the recommendation we had for this pub. Great food, good variety, well presented with friendly service. Prices very reasonable for the quality we had. Would definitly visit this pub again if we are down Fowey way. Didn't stay but with the pleaseant experience we had, would definitely consider it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Had a great weekend staying at The Ship for a few days. The hospitality of Craig and Nicola, plus all the staff was excellent. The food was top notch, as was the ambiance of the pub which was friendly and full of locals and tourists alike. The rooms were comfortable, and well furnished and as quaint as you can get. If you like historic and character, this is the place for you, and it's right in the middle of one of Cornwall's most picturesque towns.
Will definitely be returning.

Stayed February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Wow! What a great pub! Me and my boyfriend stayed here on halloween after we had several recommendations off friends. We stayed in the old oak room which is beautifull, a real wow factor. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming,especially the landlord and landlady,Craig and Nicola, who couldnt have made us feel more welcome. We were looking for a fun night away in a good old fashioned pub, with a chance to mix with the locals. Thankyou to everyone at the Ship Inn for truly surpassing our expectations!! We cant wait to come and stay again.
Kate and John xxx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Trafalgar Square, Fowey PL23 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fowey
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Fowey
The Ship Inn Fowey, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.