We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built on a budget too” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre)
Derwent Haugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
An Englishman in New Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Built on a budget too”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed for one night, party of 4 (family) in a family room. Staff fantastic, warm welcome which was needed after a long day at work followed by a regular commute plus a further 2 hour drive. Reception explained on arrival the room would be dark as the curtains were drawn and there was a fan in the room. No air-con, see. The warm welcome downatsirs was nothing compared to the warm welcome upstairs.

The heating control never budged from showing 28 degrees all night. It was far too hot, thinking about using the good night sleep guarantee.

I can remember the hotel being built, with what used to be the pub next door (now a buffet style retaurant), and it's not that old, certainly recently enough to have had air-con fitted as standard, so obviously built on a budget. I find it poor when commercial shortcuts are taken that then impact on guests comfort. Not expecting luxuries, but being able to sleep is one of the basics. Not expecting fridge-like temperatures either, but almost 30 degrees overnight is just too hot.

Taybarns next door was great for breakfast. Standard Premier Inn buffet breakfast, no nonesense, nothing missing. If you stay in Premier Inns you'll know what it's like, it's the same in every one I've stayed in. For dinner, however, oh dear. Basic high volume "all you can eat" buffet which was OK for not wanting to go anywhere else, but I certainly would not have it as a "destination" eatery. Some of the lower turn-over food was dry or if not dry a bit greasy, jacket potatoes very waxy. Not to be repeated, if this was in the middle of nowhere I'd use it again to avoid a drive, but it's so close to the Metro Centre, Frankie & Benny's is at the opposite side of the roundabout, my advise is go elsewhere.

Overall a good stop-off location, but I certainly wouldn't stay here in summer again. And more to the point I will be asking other Premer Inns I am intending to use in future if they have the "luxury" of air-con before I book. It would be a different rating in a different season and having eaten elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms look across towards the Metro Centre, rooms at the back look over open space towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre), responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    126
    37
    12
    16
See reviews for
109
94
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Friendly reception with staff that cared. The facilities were spot on for an overnight stay or a base for short stay holiday. The breakfast was also good value buffet style. Wifi available in the room (30 mins free) ... Too many hotels that I've stayed in the past that only have wifi if you stand next to reception


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here on a 1 night stay.
On check in we were dealt with politely and in a very friendly manner.
Room was spacious, clean and cool despite it being a very hot day (a fan had been placed in situ and the curtains closed with the window open prior to our arrival.)
Bathroom was a little dated but water was hot whenever we needed it.
The adjoining Taybarn was used for breakfast and food was adequate but again staff deserve a mention for their friendly and attentive manner.
Checkout was a breeze with a lovely lady on reception wishing us well.
This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and was very adequate for our needs we will use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Premier Inns are always of a certain standard which is generally very acceptable but the people who work at this one at the Metro Centre make all the difference. The are very friendly and chatty and always greet you with a smile. We ad booked a double room but when the lady saw that it was my daughter and I who were staying, she made a point of checking if we would prefer a twin room instead-she did not have to do that, she just went that extra step to make sure we were happy with our stay.
The room was very clean as expected and the breakfast next door was very good indeed.
I will definitely use this one again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A short taxi ride from the city centre. Restaurant right next door that offers a range of food at a low price. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Lovely room and very comfortable bed. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

OK it's just somewhere to get your head down for the night so we don't expect the earth. It was just that, a clean room, a reasonably comfy bed (only a standard double) and hot water.
Plus points - on a very hot day the room had windows open (restrictor on windows) curtains were drawn and a fan circulating the air, we don't expect air-con at this price level.
Negative points - we booked three rooms as children in the group were over the regulation age and unlike some people we don't like to sneak more people into the room and had been promised rooms close together. They could not have been further apart and on different floors. The excuse was this was due to the hotel being full yet after a persuasive discussion the receptionist managed to allocate a much closer room.
We did not eat at the adjoining Taybarn after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor.
Although other reviewers comments indicated a poor location we did not feel this was an issue. It was easy to get to by car and close to main roads. Yes it is not within walking distance of the Metro Centre but is only 5 minutes drive. Noise did not seem to be a problem even with open windows, we have stayed in a lot worse!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times this month and both times the reception staff seemed to ignore the Q of people waiting while they took forever to check the person at the front of the Q in. Not sure what the problems were but everyone behind got checked in a lot quicker.... But we avoided the "chat".

I could be being a little unfair but there is a time and place for over friendly customer service. Not when there is a Q!

Otherwise, rooms are getting old. But are clean and tidy.

Windows triple glazed for ultimate quietness.

The "taybarn" eatery next door is fantastic! It's a few feet away from reception so ideally located and has a fantastic staff.

Overall a very good hotel. But just needs a slight nip n tuck to make it excellent!

Will I be back? Ive Already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre)

Address: Derwent Haugh Road | Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to big brands, top entertainment and fabulous food at the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle (Metro Centre). Just minutes from the UK's largest shopping and leisure centre, you'll also have all the business and cultural attractions of Newcastle right on hand. But it's not just about the bright lights and big city. You can also discover the peace and quiet of the Derwent Valley at National Trust haven Gibside or Derwent Walk Country Park. Then, after a day of indulgence or escape, return to our spacious rooms, Taybarns restaurant and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Gateshead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.