We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maingate, Kingsway North | Team Valley, Gateshead NE11 ONU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £64
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing but the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Visiting family who live nearby. Staff extremely helpful, polite and welcoming. Arrived just before lunchtime and lady on reception couldnt do enough to check us in early. Was mums birthday the next day and she was presented with a lovely card and chocolates off the hotel staff which was a lovely surprise. Went out of there way to help with anything you asked for including changing menus to suit different needs. Hotel spotlessly clean. Beds very comfy and rooms very big which is great when you have children with you. The staff made sure we were not placed next to rooms with groups in as hotel full due to races being on. Couldnt do enough for us and would definately recommend this hotel and will be coming again. Bus stop opposite hotel and is ten minutes to city centre. Overall a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    120
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
125
110
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

When we got to this hotel, There appeared to be a lot of locals hanging around. Sadly many had been sent there due to insurance claims.

The first night we were nearly caught up in a fight. The lift was rather full with one family, but there was plenty of room for us and another three people.Their language was very choice, despite having a child in the push chair, It got increasing worse when 3 people from Asia entered the lift.

I may be white British but i have never felt so embarrased to admit that i was from the same country as these people.

Anyway less of the moaning. You cant account for the people that stay in the same hotel as you. The hotel food was fab. The quality of the food was excellent and the service despite all the problems was fantastic. So keep up the excellent work guys,

Please take note that freinds of ours have stayed on various occasions and reassured us that this was not the normal type of guests that the hotel receives. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Often stay here as convenient for visiting family. This time had additional family with us which included someone who has a strict gluten free diet. The staff could not have been more helpful. A separate menu is available for gluten free as well as the option to take your own bread etc and they will keep for you in the kitchen. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Requests for additional pillows was not an issue as well as requests for extra milk, tea, coffee to our rooms. Reception staff always acknowledge you as you come and go with a welcoming smile and explain very clearly at check in guide for your stay. Although this is 10 mins from main city centre an ideal base as it includes free parking which many of the hotels in the hub of city do not offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a standard level that does not deviate due to price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night while visiting gateshead athletics stadium. Ten minutes away from our venue, room large, booked a double but our room had two double beds in, good hot shower, clean, comfy beds, flat screen tv, quiet. Was bothered there would be hen and stag dos but it was very quiet. Had a meal in the hotel very good but I think service could have been a little better, had to wait ages after sitting down to be offered a drink which I found a little strange. Thats the first thing I would expect whilst browsing the menu. Anyway apart from that I would stay here again if we have anymore events. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cant comment on that, we found a cafe near the stadium J J's kitchen saltmeadows road £4.50 full english, toast and tea, exxcellent would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for a week from the 14th July - first time that we were in Newcastle (husband, daughter and myself). Our flight was in late - so we were advised to get a taxi to the hotel- this cost 22pounds which I thought was a bit expensive. To others who may not know the area and are relying on public transport - the metro will take you from the airport to Gateshead station and then you can get the 94, 96 or 97 bus from there to right outside the hotel. Much cheaper and not too long a journey either. We returned to the airport this way! Would advise anyone using public transport to purchase a travel card as you definitely rely on the bus services to go anywhere outside the hotel. Services are very regular and easy to get use to. People are very friendly and helpful - so you are never stuck.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, bed and pillows were comfortable. No bath - but spacious shower with seating area and plenty of hot water. Sink was located in the bedroom. Sliding door leading in to bathroom - this was difficult to slide open and closed.

We only had breakfast on one morning. The main reason for this was that this hotel only offers the full buffet breakfast at 8.25 pounds - i enjoyed the breakfast but would not eat that everyday - would have preferred a continental breakfast. Children under 16 do eat free breakfast when accompanying an adult. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening time. There are some shops close to the hotel - O'Briens and Greggs coffee shops and a newsagent and also the fx leisure place which offers beauty treatments at good rates (if you want to spoil yourself)!

Only one issue that we had was the volume of the TV was capped at 15 - it was very difficult to hear without any noise at all in the room. We did make a complaint about this - and although it was not resolved for our stay - we understand that it was in the process of getting resolved when we were leaving. So we felt that we had been listened to also. Overall a very enjoyable stay - even though we were not lucky enough to have paid only 29 pounds per night ....if only!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed Sunday 15th July first time my husband an i have stayed at this hotel and it definately will not be the last
We paid £29 for a saver room and the quality of the room was excellent.
Receptionist was extreemly helpful as was the young girl at the bar.
Did not eat in the restaurant so cannot make any comment on that
Would certainly reccommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently stayed at the Premier Inn Team Valley. The accommodation was very good. However my experience in the restaurant was not up to expectations. I and three other colleagues stayed on a Friday night and took advantage of the Meal Deal. We took our seats at the table which we had booked earlier to be told there was no Steak or Fish available. (this was at 8pm). The starters was served and we waited for approximately 1 hour before the main meals arrived. At the time of taking our order the waiter explained that the Profiteroles were not available from the sweet menu. On completion of the main course the waiter again came to us to tell us that the Cheesecake that was chosen instead of Profiteroles was also unavailable. It would have been easier if we were told what was available as it seems they didn't have anything in the kitchen at the start of a busy weekend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but be assured that the incident will be investigated to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley

Address: Maingate, Kingsway North | Team Valley, Gateshead NE11 ONU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#2 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle (Team Valley) Hotel Gateshead
Premier Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tulip Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Team Valley Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.