We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It's a newish hotel on the Gateshead side of the river, but don't let "Gateshead" in the title put you off. Newcastle is a 200 yard walk across the footbridge, it's ideally located, 10-15 minute walk into the shopping centre and the bigg market, 5 mins to the quayside bars and restaurants and right next to the Baltic mill, and sage.

We drove and parked in the adjacent car park, it was very easy to find.

Rooms were modern and clean, bar and restaurant area, looked nice, but we didn't eat so can't comment on this.

Reception and bar staff were friendly and efficient, can't say much more really. We paid around £60 per room, so in my opinion very good value for money, great location and overall good stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    229
    109
    41
    10
See reviews for
76
210
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for the Great North Run so the hotel was full but they still did a good job at looking after us and breakfast was decent enough. We had a little issue on check in whereby we were allocated to a disabled room, which we had changed by reception.
If you are arriving by car then there is very limited car parking, and you may need to use the pay and display adjacent to the hotel car park.
The rooms are clean and functional and of a good size.
The hotel is in an excellent location near the quayside and the millenium bridge, with easy access to the restaurants and bars in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice view over the river and the quayside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from two nights at the Jurys Inn Gateshead Quays. The hotel is modern, clean and rooms on the river side enjoy fantastic views of Newcastle. However, there is a lack of atmosphere and parking is a joke!! We spent the weekend moving our car between the Baltic car park and the road outside the hotel. If you don't get a space in the hotel car park (£6.50 a day) you will end up paying £1 an hour. Considering that rooms aren't cheap in the first place this ended up being a very expensive weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was attending a conference at the Sage. The hotel is about 5 mins from the Sage which is very convenient. Great balance between quality and price. The room was just basic yet cosy. There was no fridge but not important as we were there for business. The service was great and they were very helpful. The hotel is also near the river and you can enjoy a morning coffee or evening beer outside as well.

Room Tip: You can ask a room on the side of the Sage, the view is awesome. Especially during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on business trip in September. Overall appearance was that hotel was clean and staff were pleasant and helpful. My room was on second floor and was tidy. It did however have an unpleasant sewage smell to it. Whilst incessant overbearing it was noticeable.

The shape of the hotel meant that my room overlooked the rooms opposite. The only curtains were the blackout ones which meant during the day unless you shut the light out others were able to easily see into your room.

The bar and restaurant were quite small but the food was nice enough and usual hotel prices for beverages.

All in all it was not a bad stay, the views of the quayside and the Tyne and Millennium Bridges made the surroundings nice especially at night when all lit up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Jury's Inn Gateshead whilst attending a concert at the Sage. We were really impressed with the hotel overall. The only drawback is the tiny car park, however we were very fortunate to obtain a space. The hotel was a little expensive for B&B but what we received was worth it. We stayed in room 426 which has a splendid river view (photo's included with this review). The bed was very comfy and we had a really powerful shower. Our breakfast was also very good. From what I could tell rooms 414 through to 426 offer a river view.

Room Tip: Rooms 414 through to 426 offer a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

There are two positives to this hotel, it's a short walk in to Newcastle and its clean. The negatives however are that it is not worth the money. The rooms are very basic and overlooked. The beds are rock hard and the shower curtain only just touches the top of the bath. The remote doesn't work for the tv which only works when it feels like it as the signal is rubbish. The staff are ignorant and disorganised and I wouldn't give the food to my dog! I could have stayed at the premier inn for cheaper and probably got a better service and maybe even a smile from the staff. You can get a lot better value for money nearby so shop around before you decide on this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Address: South Shore Road | Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Newcastlegateshead Quays Hotel Gateshead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.