We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arts in Newcastle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
Gateshead Quays, South Shore Road, Gateshead NE8 3BA, England
+44 191 478 1810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Gateshead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a landmark industrial building on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC presents an ever-changing calendar of dynamic, diverse & international contemporary visual art exhibitions and events. Also houses BALTIC SHOP, a cafe/bar. Library & Archive and Six rooftop restaurant.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Arts in Newcastle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to the Baltic center For a couple of hours very interesting.
Had a snack Lunch in the Cafe there, all very nice bit pricy but find these places usually are

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    115
    94
    47
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great views - out the windows”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

There's a box on the way in asking for a voluntary £5 donation, my advice is don't make your donation until you're leaving because otherwise you'll want your money back. If you're in the vicinity it is worth going for the views though, especially if it coincides with the Millenium Bridge is tilting (I think it happens once a day) as it's the best place to view it from, but the exhibitions when we were there were dismal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only one gallery open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's just as well the suggested £5 donation is voluntary as we certainly wouldn't have got our money's worth here. All but one gallery were closed for rehanging and we didn't think much what we saw (Simon Bill's oval paintings). The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

Having said that, the building is great and the view from the top is incredible. The shop is excellent - interesting selection of products in every range.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Some might call it art...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

A beautiful building overlooking the river Tyne just by the side of the Millennium bridge. We saw two exhibitions, one was a montage of 3 videos played in a dark room. Can't remember the artists name but we enjoyed the work. Another one I found hard to appreciate, (not being an artist or connected to the arts world, i,e, just an ordinary member of the public) a small pile of nuts, (ironmongery, not the grows on trees variety) and, separately, 2 screws tip to tip glued to make them stand on end. Hmmm, maybe I'm a bit thick?
What I did enjoy were the views from the platform on level 4 and the glass of wine in the bar on level 6, again overlooking the river and Newcastle beyond just as the sun was beginning to set, now that I DO call art, spectacular.
Obviously the exhibitions change regularly, it's probably pot luck as to what you get and if you like it, art is very subjective after all.
There is also a very nice gift shop on the ground floor

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Always an education”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It may not look like art but its always interesting and generally there is more than one display
The top floor restaurant is great for lunch

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.