We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art

Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
Gateshead Quays, South Shore Road, Gateshead NE8 3BA, England
+44 191 478 1810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Shopping in Gateshead
Type: Art Galleries, Historic Sites, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a landmark industrial building on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC presents an ever-changing calendar of dynamic, diverse & international contemporary visual art exhibitions and events. Also houses BALTIC SHOP, a cafe/bar. Library & Archive and Six rooftop restaurant.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know it was so cultured oop north! Fabrice Hyber exhibition was stimulating and interactive. Cool building. Inspiring views over the Tyne.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    102
    84
    42
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Boldon United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After shopping in Newcastle we decided that we would have a quick sandwich in the Baltic cafe. It was on our way home and we were in a hurry. What a mistake! We waited over 25minutes for a prawn sandwich and an open steak sandwich. We had long finished our coffees before our food came! The cafe was not particularly busy and there were plenty of staff.
We were also disappointed in the menu which was very limited. There was a lovely breakfast menu but unfortunately that was only available until lunch time. What's wrong with having French toast at any time of the day?
We won't rush back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Friendly enthusiastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Saw the Fabrice Hyber exhibition 'Raw Materials' which consists of very wacky installations most of which you are encouraged to interact with. I appreciated how the staff took time to enthusiastically explain things. Comfortable ground floor cafe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“when money is short - this is not the way to spend it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The building is very interesting and the views from the top are stunning but the content is disgraceful - poor quality, lacking in inspiration, flair and imagination and basically, to put it simply we felt they were taking the p***! Luckily there was no entry charge or I would have asked for my money back.(They weren't asking for feedback - I wonder why?) Left feeling very very underwhelmed - decided to walk to the Biscuit Factory (about 15 mins away) what a contrast - just shows what a bit of commercialisation can do for art - it was excellent and highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Somerset
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Looking for something to do while my husband watched football I decided to visit and I am so glad I did, I spent 5 hours there, including a meal, and enjoyed every moment. Viewing area is brilliant I enjoyed just watching people crossing the bridge below. The exhibitions were different and interesting, the attendants were so friendly and helpful and really made the visit for me. I ate at the cafe downstairs and the restaurant on the 6th floor and had a really enjoyable time. Look out for the Kittiwakes sheltering along the wall if you visit the Outdoor Viewing sight.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.