We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angel View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angel View Inn to your Saves list
Angel View Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Low Eighton, Gateshead NE9 7UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very quiet hotel with a lovely view of the Angel of the North, the bedroom was very nice, but the bathroom was not as up too date as I would have expected, old fashioned shower over the bath with mixer taps and the shower curtain was too short wetting the bathroom floor.

Not good value for money, very expensive and charged extra for breakfast, also breakfast finished too early for a Sunday morning, checkout was 11 am and breakfast finished at 9.30 am.

We decided to eat in the restaurant, the service was very slow even though it was not busy, Not very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    16
    14
    21
See reviews for
19
43
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A lovely location, staff very young , unsupportive, rude, and didnt know what they was doing x long way down loads of corridoors to bedroom, very small rooms expensive for money even though used late rooms , breakfast exspensive for money x

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate a special occasion and we were really impressed. We arrived at the Angel View fairly early and our room was not ready yet, so we decided to have something to eat in the restaurant, as the lovely cosy atmosphere of the place was calling our attention. The building still has it's history present as it used to be a farm with stables for horses and it's beautiful inside with the olden stone arches, and outside, where you can see the lovely views with the horses and the Angel of The North (check the pictures) Finish our delicious lunch, when someone from reception came into the restaurant to tell us our room was ready, still prior to the standard check in time. When we got to our Angel View room, which was what we booked for a extra £10.00 and it was more than worth it, as you could see the Angel statue and the horses as you looked out the window. Stayed for a special occasion and I must say the place, the staff and the food, definitely made it special! Thank you so much to all the team. Hope to see you soon :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip and enjoyed the stay. Staff very attentive and helpful and food good. Hotel room clean and service second to none. I would recommend a stay at this hotel and disregard any poor reviews as these people are comparing the angel to the ritz. This is a lovely place with easy access to surrounding areas.There was a power cut on 2nd night of staying but that's life and power back on in minutes. Thanks again for a lovely welcome and great stay and as for the people who rated the food poor, try cooking at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here in June for one night only on business, on arrival the hotel looks great, just as the photo's online.
Check in was flawless and swift, the young girl was polite and efficient.

Unfortunately there was no WiFi in anywhere other than the bar area. I needed it and booked the hotel as it had WiFi in the rooms so I could do some work for the following day. I tried to sit in the bar area but I personally found it too distracting to do any work.

My room (room 11) was rather tired looking and could really do with a bit of updating the trim looked a bit worse for wear and the towel rail was loose on the wall, there was tea and coffee and some complimentary shower gel/soap.
The bathroom had a small, chest height window that had no blind so luckily for anyone outside they had some nice eye candy as I got in and out of the shower. This never bothered me as it was quiet outside but lady travellers may not be so comfortable with it..

Breakfast is served in the restaurant and was very nice, I opted for the full English (to preserve my buff body for the next time I am ogled through the window) no issues whatsoever with this it would have got 4 * overall had I had WiFi as advertised and the room was a bit fresher.

Room Tip: Swerve room 11 unless it's been refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The angel view is what it says straight overlooking the angel of the north,lovely friendly hotel.Rooms nice and clean plenty of fresh towels and coffee and tea facilities ,wifi included although this was not working in the rooms when I stayed but worked in the restaurant area
Food is excellent and very reasonably prices and the place is obviously well known as lots of locals came to eat there ,breakfast good to .
would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wilts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having visited and stayed at the Angel View Inn for the first time with friends, I found the accomodation to be first class and the quality of the restaurant food was of equal standard. In close proximity to the Angel of The North you have spectacular views. Local bus services run 24hrs per day with regular services to and from Newcastle, North Shields and South Sheilds. The Metro route follows the old overland route of the old railway closed by Dr Beeching. It is like stepping back in history with many stations retaining there original structure and colour. A trip back in History.

Room Tip: If you are in a group or family up to 8 persons, try and book the converted cottage within the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel View Inn

Address: Low Eighton, Gateshead NE9 7UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angel View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel View Hotel Gateshead
Angel Inn View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.