We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a shopping break! Freezing cold restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Save Saved
You added Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MetroCentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free high speed internet
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Northumberland, England, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great for a shopping break! Freezing cold restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband recently booked this hotel as a last minute surprise for my daughter and me as we've been going through a rough time. We only live about 25minutes away and thought we were going shopping!

Reception was Ok - checked in as soon as we arrived. There was a (very noisy) wedding party in when we arrived and we asked to be placed in a quiet area of the hotel. We were given a room on the top floor away from the wedding party.

Typical Marriott room - we've stayed in many Marriott hotels from Bangkok to Curaçao to Spain etc. and the rooms are all pretty much the same. Fabulous Marriott bed - the most comfortable sleep anywhere!

The only problem with the rooms in this hotel is that they are very dark - something I particularly dislike in hotel rooms! This is due to the way it has been built with the windows all being mirrored on the outside - thus letting less light in. The lighting in the room needs to be re-thought perhaps - but I do find this in such a lot of hotel rooms to be fair.

We ate in the restaurant and to be honest we didn't expect the food to be that good, however, it was really very good indeed! Also enjoyed a wonderful bottle of wine. My only gripe - AND THIS SPOILED THE ENJOYMENT OF OUR MEAL - was that the air conditioning was SO FIERCE that my husband had to go back to the room to fetch jackets for my daughter and me. It was the same at breakfast the next morning too! PLEASE, PLEASE LISTEN TO THIS AND MAKE THE RESTAURANT A MORE COMFORTABLE TEMPERATURE - I realise the staff get hot with running around but the temperature should be for the comfort of the guests not the staff. This is the only reason why I chose to give 4stars instead of 5.

Sadly there is no executive lounge at this hotel! Perhaps another reason to give it 4stars instead of 5.

The spa and pool area have just been refurbished and they are so much improved since our last visit some years ago.
If anyone fancies a weekend shopping at the Metro Centre this would be the best choice as its just a couple of minutes walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if a weekend as the noise can travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    176
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
98
154
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

this hotel is much nicer on the inside, if you can get past the dated exterior which you cant do much about the rooms inside are very modern and spacious, ive held some really great conferences here in the past and they have never dissapointed with service.

Room Tip: 4th floor superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my cousin for a spot of shopping and a good catchup! Cannot fault the hotel. Room was lovely, spacious and above all clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served from 07.30 to 10.30am and there was plenty of selection. We were lucky enough to arrive just as the newly renovated leisure club was opened so we enjoyed a swim, jacuzzi and sauna. Excellent facilities. The Metro Centre is so close by. We could see Debenhams from our room! Loads of restaurants to choose from too. Had a fab time and would really recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

With the MetroCenter next door, this is exelent for shoppers. Hotel is a little dated and the staff are not realy up to the standard that you would think of Marriott. The gym / spa is beeing remodeled and the restaurante has good food. Just remember that the restaurante is closed on sundays. Lots of places to eat at the MetroCenter. Taks 5-10 min into towncenter.

Room Tip: Any room is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Gates... M, General Manager at Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you found the food to be good but disappointed that the hotel and staff did not meet your expectations. A major refurbishment of our leisure club has now been completed and all facilities including the gym and spa are once again available for use by our guests.
My sincere thanks once again for your comments.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLISLE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our 4th visit to this hotel,the check in was really quick,the rooms are very comfortable,with plenty of storage,mini bar,which has a section for your own goods,chair,coffe table and couch,flat screen tv with freeview channels,plus sky sports 1 and 3.
We were on the 1st floor this year,and found the room quite hot,the air con wasn't very good!
Never had this issue before,maybe something to do with the 1st floor,kitchens underneath?
The breakfasts are very good,all you could ask for and more.
The leisure centre was closed for refurb,but based on past visits is very good,and free to use for residents,it really is the perfect base for the Metro centre and Newcastle,£2.20 Into Newcastle on the bus or the train.

Room Tip: high floor,better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Marriott at Metro Gateshead is ideally located for Christmas shopping,drinks and meals.The hotel is clean and tidy and the welcome very friendly and genuine.Its a 6 minute walk to the Metro shops and after a busy shop there are plenty of eateries .We strolled back to the hotel for a lovely carvery.The on sight gym and pool is very welcoming and relaxing.We got all our Christmas shopping done and combined this with a weekend stay at the Marriott,Newcastle is only minutes away if you want the night life later.Great weekend break..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkham
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at The Marriott for a few days earlier this month it was perfect for some R&R. It's close to the city centre whilst on the doorstep of the Metro Centre - ideal for any keen shoppers out there.
The room was clean with a large comfy bed:)
We dined in the bar on several occasions each time we were not disappointed, the food was delicious and the service second to none. Staff could not be more welcoming and helpful. It is a nice change for every member of staff to look happy in their work, each member of staff we met took time out to smile and add a few friendly words:). This was the nicest part if the stay:)) Keep this up as this is the secret weapon that the Marriotts seem to possess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre

Address: MetroCentre, Gateshead NE11 9XF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#8 Business Hotel in Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the A1M next to the MetroCentre, Europe's largest leisure and retail complex, the Newcastle Marriott Hotel MetroCentre offers the location, exceptional service and amenities you'd expect from a 4-star hotel in Newcastle. If you're planning a business or social event, you'll find a 524-square-metre, technologically enhanced conference and meeting facility, backed by a professional staff who will anticipate your needs and quickly respond to your requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Marriott Metrocentre
Marriott Newcastle Upon Tyne
Marriott Gateshead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.