We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack of all trades, master of none...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taybarns

Taybarns
Derwent Haugh Road, Gateshead NE16 3 BL, England
+44 870 197 7283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 210 Restaurants in Gateshead
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: So here it is! The Ultimate Eatery has arrived. An all-you-can-eat experience offering 7 restaurants under 1 roof at amazing value and convenience. Our famous 34 metre food counter displays freshly-baked pizza straight from our pizza ovens, Spice dishes cooked in woks, freshly cooked joints of meat for a proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings in the carvery section, delicious rotisserie chickens you can see being roasted in the rotisserie oven. Crisp, healthy salads at the salad section and lots of indulgent puds! The foods we all love, all in a row, all cooked freshly in front of you by our chefs, and not forgetting our 'help yourself' drinks dispensers and delicious ice cream machines - all for one simple low price and all under one roof.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Jack of all trades, master of none...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Taybarns is one of those places where people love it or hate it, depends what your view on the all you can eat is.

If you are looking for somewhere to pay less than a tenner and literally eat until you burst, this is the place, and you could have 5 mains from different varieties: Sunday dinner, Chinese, Indian, salads, fish and chips, Grill and pizza/pasta. The pizza oven however was broken on my visit. The unlimited desserts are quite good which also adds to the value for money.

If you are a lover of quality rather than quantity, this may not be the place for you. Although I cant really pin point anything particularly bad, the food does not blow you away, for example, the Sunday lunch is no where near as good as the toby carvery, and the Chinese you couldn't compare with a Chinese restaurant etc.

But, it does the job as a one off, although I wouldn't rush back for at least 6 months.......although will no doubt end up back one day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    77
    59
    39
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, Tyne & Wear
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have a weak stomach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basic food, plenty of choice, low prices.
Food usually lukewarm, felt ill afterlast visit. excellent for families on a budget, but not if you are on a diet! Some of the clients are a bit rough

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience.
 
Could you please contact one of our management team on 0191 414 6308 to discuss the matter further and rectify the problems you encountered.
 
Once again thank you for you review the feedback we receive is invaluable in helping us to improve our offering to ensure we always get it right.
We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good buffet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Foods good, visited 3 times now whn shoppin at metro. Food not high quality but u get wht u pay for. There's plenty of choice to suit all and eat as much as u want. Drinks are good value as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Not the Place to Diet in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a fab place were the Buffet food is above average. Having visited Taybarns on several occassions we have found the food selection very good with fantasic desserts. You can eat as much as you like for a fixed price and there is something to eat for every age group; children will love the place. Beware there is not the place to visit if you are on a Diet. Great fullfilling experience and I will vist again

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value , lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We use South Shields Taybarns every Friday as a base for a family get together and have never been dissatisfied , food is great for the kids and adults , plenty of choice and lovely desserts .
All staff are very polite and friendly and do a great job of clearing your empty plates.... Even when they are really busy they still do a great job .
See you next Friday . The Wilson / Higgins families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure you feedback is shared with all of our team.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back into our Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taybarns also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Taybarns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taybarns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.