We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bankfield House

Saved Save
You added Bankfield House to your Saves list.
The house from the paddock
The house from the paddock
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
The conservatory
Grange-over-Sands
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAURA B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Cracking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A group of ten of us have just returned from an amazing stay at Bankfield House. We are all experiencing fairly severe cases of post-holiday blues after coming home from such a lovely place to stay. Well-equipped and beautiful I would recommend a stay at this enormous property to anyone! Within walking distance to the sea and surrounded by rolling hills Bankfield House is a real gem in a wonderful area of the country. Thanks so much to Eric and Helen for providing us with such a lovely backdrop to our perfect weekend!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2013
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your kind words and such a glowing review.
Helen and I are so happy you had a great time and please come back again !!!!

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JodieRidd...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Another incredible stay in Bankfield House.
We were particularly impressed with the warmth of the house on what was otherwise a chilly November weekend, and the increased fridge-space to keep the drinks cool!
We had a great time preparing our meal for Saturday night, making good use of the eclectic crockery and of course the Aga.
And of course, we all fell in love with the stunning bedrooms and beautiful views.
Thank you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Master Bedroom
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2013
Hi Jodie,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review and you know you are always welcome to return anytime.
Take care,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
S L
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family get-away...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here with a large group for dad's 60th; Eric and Helen were both excellent hosts and ensured that the house was suitably set up to cater for large family and a cot bed for the baby...
The house was great; there were more than enough family rooms for relaxation and fantastic bedrooms with beautiful views over the bay.
Only a few minutes drive from Grange centre and lovely walks along the promenade... We also did a brilliant walk up Hampsfell, setting off from Grange centre and 360 degree views of the surrounding bay and Lake District... Highly recommended walk.
We would certainly recommend a stay at Banksfield house, everyone had a great time and we hope to all go back there again one day.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2013
very kind of you to post a review and hopefully we can hit five stars the next time you come back.
take care,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Barnabyan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We were warmly greeted by Eric & Helen on arrival and were thoroughly looked after - we had a grand tour and were left with a welcome basket of goodies - very kind and much appreciated. The house still has some of the original features and is really beautiful and the views are amazing - we could see the sea from the sitting room! The entire setting is so relaxing, warm and welcoming that we really didn't want to come back to reality. Thank you so much for providing a wonderful holiday home.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2013
Hi Barnaby and Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always very heart warming for Helen and I to read such kind words.Glad your stay was so enjoyable and haste ye back !!
Best regards,

Eric and helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sheenagh...
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“best birthday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

we went to bankfield house for my 50th birthday as it was half way beteen us and our friends, we were all very happy with the house so much so it was the best birthday ever there was 11 of us and the amount of bathrooms no one had to wait to get ready in the morning, every one said it was the best sleep they had had in a long time the beds were so comfortable, it was very clean and had everything possible you could need or want and from arriving to going home eric and helen were very warm and friendly and we will all be returning at a later date. thank you for a lovely house and week x

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you Sheenagh for making time to post this review as we know you are having a hectic time at the moment !
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bankfield House,best wishes to you both

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Glyn H
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“This property has everything and more, good location, views and excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Excellent property ,warm welcoming reception from helpful owners, included all you would expect and more, with, stunning views of Morecambe bay and nice walk to bay via the promenade close by. Fantastic house for group entertaining. Good location for visiting local amenities ( especially friendly welcoming Pub) good walks close by.
in all very good value for money.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house, the views, the locality and the friendly warm reception from the owners
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike in our experience-other than the 'runner' in the hall which needed to be replaced or attched to the main carpet.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Hi Glyn,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It is always rewarding when our guests say such good things about their time at Bankfield House.Glad you all enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back some time,take care and our very best regards.

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Benedicte...
Cergy, France
1 review
“A wonderful place in a beautiful district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Eric and Helen were very friendly and helpul.
The house is really exceptional : very large and comfortable, the sights from it are beautiful. Besides, it has an historical character and the atmosphere is especially cosy.
The area is very interesting : it's near breathtaking landscapes and most people were very nice. We had a great time and excellent memories.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Our guests'reception and discretion as well as the beauty of the house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.It has been a busy year for Helen and I and it gives us a real boost to read such kind words.
retournez ici et a bientot.

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$257
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Helen E
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing