We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Flookburgh Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7RQ, England
01539532239
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Pheasant is a family run free house owned by the Jones family since 2005. We aim to provide great locally sourced food in a friendly and relaxed environment. We also offer a great range of real ales, wines, lagers and spirits. Situated in the pretty south Lakeland village of allithwaite we are popular with locals and tourists alike. The conservatory offers stunning views across Morecambe Bay and Humphrey Head where you can walk the Cumbrian way or admire Peregrine falcons. Food is served daily 12-9pm where we offer our full menu in addition to daily specials and the lunchtime offer 2 meals £10 served 12-4 Mon- Sat. On Sunday's we offer The Great British sunday roast with meats from local butchers Higginson and Proctor and turkey from the Fylde coast farmer Peter Willacy. The menu offers variety from simple pub classics such as fresh beer battered haddock, chips and mushy peas to signature dishes such as Cartmel Valley Game crispy confit of duck leg with a sweet plum jus, cabbage and bacon and spring onion mashed potato. We also offer a young diners menu and welcome families.
Ledbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend the Pheasant Inn highly enough. I've been a couple of times, and on both occasions the food has been brilliant, the service second to none, a very friendly atmosphere and overall excellent value for money. Anyone visiting Allithwaite really should go here, you won't be let down!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    60
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powys
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family run friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were staying up the road for a week. We wanted good beer and somewhere to eat out where we could take the dogs. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Would have gone there more if our waistlines and wallets could have coped!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely views over Morecambe bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had an excellent meal a few weeks ago .Good portions and value for money .
Very pleasant staff and good service .
Some of our family have been a few times so we had a late lunch as its always very busy on Sundays you really need to book .
Very pleasant location we will be back .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab meal, with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food here is great, one of the best beef burgers ever!!! The pasta was yummy too. The service was great from one waitress, but the other was just going through the motions. The view from the conservatory was lovely over looking the bay. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“2 good meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked in advance for sunday 8th June based on the positive reviews it had, we had a lovely lunch, were treated well by the friendly staff and the land lady went out of her way to talk to us. We enjoyed the experience so much that we booked a table for the Friday evening for the last night of our holiday. We found the staff all very friendly and the food was served in a reasonable time, it was all hot and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.