We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder mystery weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cumbria Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cumbria Grand to your Saves list
The Cumbria Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Murder mystery weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A Great hotel with lots of character. suites are highly recommend. Staff are helpful and friendly. There are some Good weekend Dinner bed and breakfast deals. Makes an Ideal base for exploring the lakes or Yorkshire dales.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at The Cumbria Grand, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on the hotel.The Murder Mystery weekends are still as popular as ever.See you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    168
    61
    37
    29
See reviews for
45
159
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed for three nights over the New Year. The hotel was well organised and catered for all tastes with particular emphasis on the Scottish theme. There were many Scots down from over the border .Food excellent and staff friendly and efficient .A room on the second floor recommended with views over the bay towards Morecombe

Room Tip: Second floor. Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
248MarkR248, Guest Relations Manager at The Cumbria Grand, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
New Year at the hotel there was a great atmosphere and we have received many positive reviews like yours, which we thank you for.
With five hotels in Scotland and two in the North of England, we make sure that New Year packages carry a bit of the Scottish tradition and theme and it always proves to be a success.Look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very good location for The Lake District without being too touristy & as the brochure keeps coming through the post, thought, why not.
Hotel with character as we expected, along with all that brings. Views from rooms with 'odd' number looked over the Kent Water ? (Morecombe Bay seemed to be further round on our map).
Well, the carvery dinner. Seems they have a run on anything to do with pork. There was an A la Carte menu which looked very tempting, only to find for our entire stay there was an 'issue' in the kitchen, so it was not available.
The meals looked rather bland with not a carrot in sight to liven the meat, potatoes & white veg up. Fair enough the main meat was carved & moist, the best part.
Breakfast self service buffet, we are sorry to say, looked & tasted like it had been cooked the night before. We guess this is the trend now to cut down on staff - no personal service like the old days which would really suit this lovely building. So on day 2 we went down when it opened & still the same.
We spotted someone had porridge as we left the restaurant & asked at reception about a 'breakfast' menu only to be told it was in the restaurant. Apparently you have to ask for it. Why is it, the toast is brought out the minute they bring the hot drink & you have not even started your cereals - seems worldwide thing ? Surely fewer slices of a thicker bread would be better - sorry, pet hate.
Interesting that the gammon or pork from the night before is sliced up & put out on the chiller at breakfast.
Best idea would be to choose something off 'other' menu, so hopefully it would be prepared to order.
The 'overseas' staff were all very pleasant & could not be more helpful.
The single beds were a bit hard & lumpy so we folded the quilted bedcover under the bottom sheets which helped.
Yes, TV's do need upgrading, as when the weather is inclement & trying to catch up on the news, not good viewing.
On check out morning, at 9.45am the maid knocked - upon my answering the door, she said she wanted to see if it was empty, as they had a 'busy' day. I asked her, was check-out still 11am, which she said it was. Fine.
On the way down to check-out at 10.15am, I was then told by my partner that the same maid had knocked their door, walked in saying 'hello', they said 'hello', she said 'sorry' then walked out.
There was a queue at reception. I was asked if our stay was ok. Not wishing to cause a fuss, I asked if there were any feedback forms, only to be snapped at & told they were in the rooms.
Not having seen it, I asked if there was a spare one to be had. I then double-checked about check-out time, only to be snapped at, so I calmly went on to explain how the maid had let herself in BEFORE check-out time, only to be talked over by the receptionist with cries of 'if you give me chance to explain that they need to check if the rooms are empty early'.
I then tried to explain that most hotel receptions informed the maids as soon as a guest checked out if they were that desperate to get into a room. What could be simpler. Guest checks out - reception rings housekeeping to say room vacant.
But she did not want to listen - a 'sorry about that' would have nice. So we just left the queue aghast at her attitude & said we found their policy very interesting.
All said, you get what you pay for we guess. Great place to give your dogs a holiday too. Not sure what some guests were doing carrying owls on their arms during our time there ?

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers seem to overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with my wife.
The food was excellent and the staff very efficient, friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located in a beautiful area, great for walking and they are "dog friendly"
We had 3 wonderful nights stay, the highlight being New Years Eve, we were served with drinks and Haggis.
I must mention the entertainment in the ballroom , The Ian Lawrence band, they were excellent, true professionals and really made the night special.
I can not fault this hotel except that the beds were rather hard and lumpy.
We I'll most certainly return in the future and I would recommend The Cumbria Grand to Anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

just had the great pleasure of staying here for a new break and I'd like to say what a super fantastic time we had . excellent welcome at check in , quick and very efficient considering we arrived in a coach party of 48 people . the staff were lovely and very helpful . the food was amazing with supersized portions if wanted . it was served buffet style so you tell them if you want more or less . breakfast was the same and no dried up food all fresh as if it had been just cooked . all they did was feed us . beautiful massive buffet for lunch again as much or as little as you wanted . on the other day for lunch the choice was chicken curry , fish pie and a vegetarian choice . I really cant't wait for another visit . entertainment also excellent in afternoons and evenings . prize and cash bingo on 1st day and quiz on 2nd day , all good fun . beautiful big lounges with plenty seating for everyone . on new years eve we had a great band with 2 great singers who had the Victoria ballroom jumping from start to finish . 1st and 3rd night it was 2 different guys singing and playing guitar again music to suit every one . a massive thank you to urquart tours for having this GRAND HOTEL in your brochure and an even BIGGER thank you tho the management and staff for giving us 1 of our best new years . THANK YOU ALL FROM A VERY HAPPY GUEST :-)

Room Tip: ask for a room with the view of Morecambe Bay . odd numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from our annual twixmas break at the hotel, very good as usual, they had a big roaring log fire in the bar everynight which hasnt happened before and the entertainment was mostly back in the victorian ballroom after missing out last year for some reason. A couple of minor glitches with one of the lifts mean the stairs where the only option and for a few folk that was hard going.
And they now require paying upfront for the room when you check in and of course you have to settle up your room bill when you check out so that meant queuing twice! logic escapes me but thats their rules. Great food and plenty of it a bit pricey in the bar these days as well but where isn't?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is a lovely old rambling building, staff very friendly and welcoming. Carvery in the restaurant in the evening was very nice and buffet breakfast had everything you'd want. Bedroom was warm, nicely decorated with a refurbished bathroom and balcony with a view of the bay.
The only complaint was that - we had booked on their December special offer and upgraded to a mini suite with balcony - on arrival the receptionist wanted us to pay £60 more than we had been quoted (luckily I had the confirmation email with me). All sorted out pleasantly.. but.. on departure we were given a bill for £60 and had to go through the whole scenario again... quite embarrassing when there are other guests waiting to check out and can overhear.

Apart from that, really enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cumbria Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumbria Grand

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumbria Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque English Lake District, by the popular tourist town of Grange over Sands, the Cumbria Grand Hotel is a perfect base for a relaxing break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cumbria Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumbria Grand Hotel Grange-Over-Sands
Cumbria Grand Grange Over Sands
Cumbria Grand Hotel
The Cumbria Grand Grange-Over-Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cumbria Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.