We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Netherwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Netherwood to your Saves list
Netherwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went to the Netherwood for afternoon tea and was very disappointed. The atmosphere and the Christmas decorations were excellent but the tea wasn't. We had ordered a vegetarian portion but the waitress had no knowledge of it. The scones were dry (the jam and cream helped to soften them up) and the variety of cakes was poor - other than one piece of fruit cake per person all of the other cakes were smothered in cream. Sandwiches were average. They ought to benchmark it against the Miller Howe and other Lake District hotels. Cost was £15 per person - poor value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    75
    30
    21
    12
See reviews for
87
112
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

just got back from Christmas Party and over night stay at hotel. We had a very warm welcome, enjoyed our meal, which was good quality but small portions. We were astounded when the bar staff closed the bar at 11.30. Very disappointed. Our rooms were even more disappointing. Very clean but also very shabby. Refurb required.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi there, Our Christmas meal last night at the netherwood at Grange over sands, Hotel on the outside and grounds was very beautiful however there were disappointments from the start, firstly there was only one bar staff serving drinks, didn't understand that at all, such a longtime to get served although the girl was very efficient,The hotel Christmas decorations were very chintzy and plastic,not the wonderland we all expected, a lot of the decor inside was very 80s style and just awful carpet, would be nice to see exposed floorboards for in keeping but that's down to my taste. Restaurant setting was a huge disappointing experience, we were packed in like absolute sardines, no room at all to eat hardly, staff were just doing there job and that was about it, felt like a complete rush and little time between courses was far to quick, not once were we offered drinks, the meal for all was only warm and not hot but tasted nice and well presented, the coffee that every was commenting on was very poor, not a good experience really,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very impressed with hotel and grounds. Views over the bay. Short walk into town. Open fires burning gave a good warming welcome from the cold outside. Lounge for the get together was quite large with its own fire and plenty of comfy chairsand sofas. Room set aside for our table was ideal and well decorated. Service and menu good, as were the meals. Bar service good as well. Hotel was well decorated in advance for christmas. Did not stay the night so cannot comment on rooms etc, but did notice pool and gym. Plenty of parking. Staff polite and helpful.
Lifts very useful as two of our party use motorised wheelchairs. No access problems.
Enjoyed the day and would recommend this venue for parties, get togethers and celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After enjoying delicious lunches here we decided to try a weekend break. The rooms are a little dated but very comfortable and you won't spend much time in them anyway. The charm of this hotel is in its cosy reception rooms with welcoming open fires, numerous comfortable leather armchairs, sofas and warm ambience. The food at dinner and breakfast was faultless as was the service. The spa and gym although small had everything you need to exercise or unwind with pool, sauna and jacuzzi. Unlike large chain hotels this place has a soul and personality. We left refreshed, relaxed, well looked after and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have fabulous sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A surprise night away courtesy of my hubby for our 10th wedding anniversary! How lovely to turn up the sweeping driveway to this splendid hotel, the views across the lune estuary are amazing from the entrance to the hotel and various balconies. We sat in the magnificent library with fire roaring and had afternoon tea. Pre dinner drinks in the bar, again another cosy room with lit real fire, menu perusing and were lead into restaurant by really friendly blonde lady, I wish I'd got her name, she was most helpful! My duck&orange terrine was really tasty, followed by venison, truly yummy! Dark chocolate tart to finish, rich but divine!
More food to follow in am after a good nights sleep. We will return, for the food and that view!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Last year we had chosen a hotel for a weekend away and had been disappointed with the experience, so this year we chose the Netherwood Hotel with my wife and I taking advantage of a special offer - Bed breakfast and evening meal for two days with a third days B&B free.
We had an absolutely amazing time. The room was lovely, the food included was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Afternoon tea in one of the lounges was very relaxing. Grange- over-Sands is quiet but the coastal scenery is wonderful and the Lakes are reasonably accessible. We are going back next year though we will pay the supplement for a room with a sea view next time. I thoroughly recommend this hotel foe a few quiet days away.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Netherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherwood

Address: Lindale Road, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Netherwood 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Netherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherwood Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria
Netherwood Hotel Grange Over Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.