We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 months on and still as great as ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Hotel
Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“12 months on and still as great as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Returned to The Grange for our 1st anniversary after getting married here last August. The reception staff recognised us straight away and automatically upgraded us to a superior room with bay view and complimentary champagne. (Thanks so much)

Room 215 was a huge room with 4 poster bed, separate dressing room and roll top bath. Quite impressive with amazing views across the bay.

In the evening we dined in Carriages restaurant and the food and service was exquisite. The seafood ravioli and venison was to die for and the filet steak was melt in the mouth. A truly memorable evening.

We spent the following day sat in the garden and strolling through Grange, the weather was amazing.

We will without doubt be returning next year for our 2nd anniversary, if not before.

Keep up the good work! Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Mr & Mrs Jones

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    64
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
146
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Needing two nights away by the sea in a place with a railway station, I chose the Grange Hotel after an internet search, and was glad I did. At first it seemed rather over-the-top in terms of decor - cupids over the bed, elaborate curtaining, vast urns of artificial flowers and ornate mirrors throughout. But on my second day they added to the charm rather than seeming extravagant.

There's not a lot to do in Grange itself, but the ornamental gardens, with imported wildfowl including bar-headed geese, is minutes from the hotel.

On my first night I had dinner in the restaurant, where the food is rather over-ambitious, and the vegetables were very overcooked - carrots disintegrated on the fork. The Rogan empire in nearby Cartmel might provide inspiration. The breakfasts - cooked to order on my first morning, from a buffet on the second, thanks to a wedding, are excellent.

The staff throughout are lovely, and the whole enterprise feels like a place backed with pride.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great place ,staff , location, rooms, and food excellent. We really enjoyed our 4 night stay. Really relaxed and comfortable atmosphere . Children and dogs welcome . Even has a resident peacock called Billy!
Verdict - 10/10.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived here on the Friday 25 th July and we leave on Tuesday 29th of July so we are halfway through our stay.
There have been two weddings during our stay ,Friday and Saturday and yes parking can be a bit tricky but the staff will move their own cars to ensure guests have a parking space.
My concerns at noise from these functions was completely unfounded, we could not hear a thing.
Our first night was in room 117.A lovely compact room but I had difficulties in the night due to the recent heatwave.I just couldn't cool down and the pollen count outside so high I had an asthma attack.At 4 am my husband rang the desk and they quickly arrived with a fan which helped me.The next morning we asked if we could swap our room on the front for a room facing the woodland if necessary paying for an upgrade and they were kind enough to give us a much larger room on the back which has been really helpful and at no extra charge.This room has a huge bathroom with a lovely slipper bath and a huge shower.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and the bar menu is actually off the main menu,we have had no microwave meals.
The breakfasts are typical hotel fare with a hot and cold buffet, but when the hotel was full of wedding guests they provided waiter service for those of us who were not and were very attentive to our needs on what was,a very busy day for their staff.
The Reception staff have been friendly and helpful with tips on routes to take etc on our days out.
We have been in the swimming pool and the steam room all immaculately clean.
This hotel is well maintained,everything is in good order.The furnishings, curtains and beds although ornate are in keeping with the style of the hotel and are in excellent quality fabrics.The huge urns of silk flowers may not be to everyone's taste but they are dust free and bright and they are obviously changed regularly.
The housekeepers are friendly and clean the rooms meticulously every day.
This is a hotel we intend to revisit soon and next time we will bring my 84 year old mother who will love it particularly the lift and slopes around the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are smaller with one window but have views of the bay.Rooms at the back are darke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend there whilst Cartmel races was on. It's in a lovely spot and the facade of the hotel is lovely.

When the hotel is busy, parking is a bit of a nightmare but you can seem to find somewhere even if it is a bit of a tight squeeze.

Bar staff particularly were lovely and helpful but found Reception a bit underwhelming.

Main criticism for me was the room - we had 112 which has absolutely no view of anything and is quite dark. The four poster bed was nice but then the Lino in the bathroom and the bright yellow bin were tacky and out of keeping. Plus there was a motion sensor on the light in bathroom which went out when you had been in shower for less than 5 mins. Did report of course.

Because there was a wedding on, breakfast on first morning was in a windowless function room although on second morning, it was in the room where wedding was previous day, which was lovely.

I also did not like the columns inside the hotel with artificial flowers.

All that being said, we had a great weekend, and I would go back but probably would try one of the other hotels first.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This impressive hotel is situated in an ideal location for touring the southern end of the Lake District. The quality of service is impeccable and extremely friendly. The only criticism would be that some elements of the catering lacked that 'wow' factor that one might anticipate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything was absolutely fantastic, although the food was hit and miss. The Malaysian curry from the bar menu was a microwave meal and the hash browns at breakfast were dreadful. The mattress was slightly too firm for us and the shower water pressure was poor. The staff were brilliant, location was fabulous and hotel was absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Hotel

Address: Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, Victorian hotel completely refurbished throughout with panoramic Bay views, private terraces/gardens & woodland. Offering 5-course table d`hote fine dining in addition to an extensive Lounge Bar menu. Full leisure facilities include heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and Beauty Salon. Lift to all floors. Perfect for all ages. Within easy reach of most major Lake District attractions with direct rail links to Scotland, the south and the west coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Over Sands
Grange Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.