We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't want to tell other people because it's so brill!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Hotel
Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't want to tell other people because it's so brill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A magnificent grand old building in a prime postion overlooking Grange and the seafront / salt marshes where sheep graze.Best ever breakfasts and superb five course dinners mean you won't want to eat much during the day.Place has a feeling of grandeur and service was of the highest standard.Friendly staff could not have done more for their guests.Swimming pool quite small though adequate when quiet.
The HIgh Street features quaint tearooms and shops with fresh produce from the area or made on the premises.The seafront was wonderfully peaceful and the railway with it's clean and excellently maintained station (best international small station 2007) is an added attraction as well as providing good local transport to the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Don't tell too many people about this hotel and you will be allocated a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    60
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
45
127
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ahhhhh, I have just come back from a very relaxing break at Grange hotel in Grange-Over-Sands and never have I felt more chilled out and stress-free, its a fantastic feeling!

Me and my partner stayed here for a weekend break and it was perfect. The location means there isn't a great deal to do, which is simply perfect for if you're looking to get away from the rat race and the hustle and bustle of everyday life. If you're looking to just switch over and escape, this is the place for you.

Because the hotel was reasonably quiet, we had full use of the indoor jacuzzi, pool and sauna facilities to ourselves which was an added surprise! Check-in was easy and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We decided to eat in the hotel as there was nothing around in walking distance. The food was delicious- ask for the bigger wine list too as we were spoilt for choice with this. We got chatting to the barman and he was a delight. The hotel itself had plenty of character and I loved the room, the bed was regal and grand and we had a view overlooking the estuary.

The breakfast next morning was plentiful, with lots of options whether hot or cold.

If you're looking for a base for plenty of things to see and do, this hotel won't tick your boxes. But if you want to do nothing but relax, or you want a bit of romance, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We will definitely be returning in the Summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay here, I was very happy with this stay .
Great location, has a commanding view over Grange and the sands.
Plenty of parking available which is always a good start.
Loved the decor, for me real olde' world which yes it was big pots and large over the top pictures and mirrors but it just suited the feel of the hotel really well.
Stayed in a front facing room, 2nd floor with a great view over the Grange, room itself was huge !!, really surprised how big it was, more like a suite, it was stunning, totally spotless lovely decor and furnishings, bed was huge .comfy, had a great nights sleep.
Bathroom had a nice modern feel, lovely big bath with large walk in shower, again spotlessly clean
Ate evening meal in the restaurant, lovely decor and nice atmosphere staff serving us was very attaintive, it was quiet but all the same, she was really pleasant and efficient, food was superb, cooked to perfection, I was highly recommend the pork and blackpudding, lush !! Don't think it was too pricey, good value for the location and quality.
Breakfast was buffet, both me and partner commented how much we enjoyed it, usual hearty fair, sausage, bacon, egg....you get my drift, fruit and cereals were also there in plentiful amounts. amounts, staff members were friendly and efficient.
I will be going back to the Grange in the summer for the weekend as this was a last minute job...as I side observation it was really nice to see one of the rooms being totally renovated which for me shows the hotel is progressively keeping things fresh.....I noted the room number so will be trying that room out next stay...Lovely hotel, worth a stop ...:)

Room Tip: Front facing ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent one night here and wished I could have stayed longer!
Smooth check in, lovely, spotlessly clean front facing room with great views. The room was the perfect temperature on a really cold night and a very comfy bed ensured a great nights sleep!
The 5 course evening meal was fantastic and pool, although small, was great for a quick swim.
Great location, handy for the town and great walks along the front, can't wait to return, hopefully for longer this time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The view was great only problem was we got a side room with no view. Surprising because the hotel was very quiet. The decor was a little gaudy. Big pots of plastic flowers everywhere and lots of pictures framed in big gold ornate frames. Good side was lots of towels in the room. We only ate breakfast there and it was good. Real English fare. The haddock was yummy. There is an indoor pool and spa area which is vey nice. Wouldn't recommend for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Odd title you may say, well your right. I cannot decide what word, words to use to describe the start point. Beyond dreams, amazing, superb, out of this world. I could go on, I can say I have never been so speechless. The hotel is un believable, not a spec of dust or item out of place. The food was superb, I had bay prawns from the bar menu it felt lie you were in the dining room. The prawns and avocado were to die for. The bar is well stocked and not over priced. The rooms are superb, large and spacious. Breakfast is a delight, the staff are fantastic and the surroundings are elegant. Quite to a point, I could not fault this hotel, I will be back time and time again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my other half were looking for a nice hotel in the lakes that let us book for just the Saturday night, and we struggled. We stumbled across this hotel online and thought we'd give it a shot.

Hotel - An old building with lots of character. Warm, comfortable and cosy in our room.

Food - We sat in the bar area and ordered from the Lounge menu. The food was very nice. I also ordered the house white wine which was a Chilean Chardonnay.This wine was very nice and reasonable at £15.95. Highly recommended. Breakfast was also good.

Staff - Very friendly and helpful. Especially the barman who also waited on us very well.

Facilities - I enjoyed a swim in the pool, relaxed in the jacuzzi and cooked in the sauna! This really added to the relaxing experience this hotel offers.

This hotel is recommended for a relaxing on a quiet 1/2 night stay. Grange over sands itself doesn't offer a great deal of activity so don't be surprised if you find yourself tied to the hotel. The promenade does offer some great views during the day though if you fancy a walk. I would definitely return for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Hotel

Address: Station Square, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional, Victorian hotel completely refurbished throughout with panoramic Bay views, private terraces/gardens & woodland. Offering 5-course table d`hote fine dining in addition to an extensive Lounge Bar menu. Full leisure facilities include heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and Beauty Salon. Lift to all floors. Perfect for all ages. Within easy reach of most major Lake District attractions with direct rail links to Scotland, the south and the west coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Over Sands
Grange Hotel Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.