We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meathop, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grange-over-Sands
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Date stayed:- 12-15/08/14

Staff:- Very friendly a tentative staff, that were willing to have a chat and make you welcome and feel at home. The breakfast staff were exceptional, making a special table up for us very morning in the bar for breakfast, so that our dog was not left alone.

Quality of room:- Our room was room 4. The room was bright, modern and very clean. The bed was comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The room has it's own LCD flat screen TV with Freeview channels. The bathroom was very modern, clean and very spacious.

Verdict:- The hotel is off the beaten track surrounded by a woods with no traffic noises at all. Unfortunately, our room was above the kitchen, and with the room windows open, you could hear the extractor fan, and got cooking smells in the room. This was the only negative to out stay. The location is great for exploring the Lakes, and Grange over sands is only about 5 minutes drive away. Would defiantly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were advised to book either room 2 or 4 in future, away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a week here last week. The hotel badley needs upgrading. Small rooms, very hot, without air con or fans.
The staff are friendly, but they have their hands full with an outdated product. Family stayed in one of the log cabins next to the hotel and were woken every morning by bin men or hotel deliveries. Also no wifi in the log cabins, only in hotel reception.

Room Tip: Insist on a larger room with bay windows and take your own fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whpl, Owner at Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
With most reviewers this year giving us 4 or 5 stars, we are puzzled by this guests comments.
We will, of course, discuss these comments and make any changes deemed appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at the Woodland Hotel as part of a birthday treat for my friend, also my jack russel ( Mitzy - hotel dog friendly). the hotel, was very comfortable. and staff very friendly.
The rooms clean,(cleaned daily), comfortable. All meals excellent, reasonable priced and good choice.As too the beer.... Within good distance to explore the surrounding Lakes and to take up adventures.(even in the rain).

It was only the weather that i can fault.... Rain, Rain, Rain. and more Rain....
thank you for a nice stay
H

Room Tip: All had garden views and .quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed in the Woodlands Hotel for 3 nights with my mum and found the Hotel to be in a brilliant position for exploring the Lake District with Grange over Sands being less than 5 minutes drive away from the Hotel. Also very close by is Windermere, Newby Bridge, Barrow in Furness, (which has excellent sandy beaches great for children to explore). Our double room was modernly furnished, very clean, with a really comfortable bed and lovely bath and shower. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room but have to say there wasn't much choice of other drinks i.e. herbal teas, hot chocolate sachets. However, the room was cleaned each day with replacement of tea/coffee/milk. We also noticed the bath was slow to fill and the water wasn't overly hot either. The breakfast was good but noticed there wasn't much choice of fruit/yoghurts, however you could choose what you liked for your cooked breakfast. The lady who greeted us each morning for our breakfast was very pleasant and friendly and I must say the nicest member of staff I spoke to whilst staying at Woodlands. We couldn't get a stay at the Lodges due to them being fully booked but would definitely love to stay in one they looked very luxurious and aren't' badly priced either. Overall, a lovely stay with one particular member of staff who made us feel really welcome whilst there.

Room Tip: Go for the Lodges if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A great time away, we had a lodge (dog friendly which was brilliant) and our parents had two rooms in the hotel. The lodges are comfortable and well equipped with a veranda to sit out on the sun and a grass outside to let the dog out and play games. The rooms at the hotel were plush, showers were lovely. All had great facilities. The food at the hotel was lovely and staff friendly.

In addition to this, I left my keys in the lodge on the Friday afternoon and by the Saturday morning they were in the post to me to arrive Monday morning. I couldn't have asked for better than that!

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

my wife, myself and our little lakeland terrier have just spent 4 great nights at this great little hotel, all the staff are friendly with nothing too much bother to them, the rooms are very luxurious and comfortable, the food is excellent as is the beer, set in a very quiet spot with great access to the lakes and Grange over sands, we will definately be back.

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in the Pine Lodges with family including a 4 year old child.

Liked the look and feel of pine lodge accommodation and furniture inside. Free Sauna within the lodge was a surprise and very well received.
Ample parking and quiet surrounding- didnt try the hotel food but could see happy faces around.

Bedrooms were average sized - what I didnt like was the electric heaters in the room(somehow not comfortable with them - so maybe its me!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges

Address: Meathop, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grange-over-Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Grange-Over-Sands
Woodlands Hotel And Pine Lodge
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges Grange-Over-Sands, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.