We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Leo

Cafe Leo
75 Westage, Grantham NG31 6LA, England
+44 1476 576742
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 125 Restaurants in Grantham
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Description: The café is open from 8.30am - 4.00pm Monday to Saturday for breakfasts, soups, sandwiches, baguettes, cakes, coffees and afternoon tea to eat in or takeaway. The café is fully licenced and is open for Bistro and Theme nights once a month, and is also available for private parties and Christmas dinners (during December of course!). We also provide corporate and private buffets which can be delivered to your door, as well as homemade cupcakes and celebration cakes for those special occasions.We look forward to welcoming you in the café soon…
Grantham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I do like to use Café Leo as a treat at work, reserve a potato as sometimes they run out! Doorstep sandwiches and generous fillings with homemade coleslaw, yum!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_Leo, Owner at Cafe Leo, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you had a good experience at Café Leo. We appriciate all feedback from our customers and hope to see you at the Café again soon.

Regards

Paul and Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Needs to do better,”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ordered a beef sandwich and a turkey sandwich and were very disappointed to be served sandwiches with a single layer or processed beef and processed turkey in them. Horrid.
The menu needs to be smaller and with better quality ingredients. Real beef and real turkey not processed pressed meat. I would not use processed meat at home.
The coleslaw was good and tasted homemade but I did not want coleslaw, I wanted a good quality turkey sandwich. I left the coleslaw. Please pay more for your turkey and beef and forget the trimmings.
We did not see any homemade cakes? There were some sliced items individually wrapped in cling film, but nothing to entice you to try.
Hallams in Grantham or The Cake hole in Barrowby my give you some ideas of how it could be done so much better. Tempting cakes, small menu with top quality ingredients, with little or no price difference.
Plus points, good staff and quick service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_Leo, Owner at Cafe Leo, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We do find it very sad that you didn't enjoy your Café Leo experience, also that we were not given the chance to rectify your complaint.
All our products are local produce and to a high standard. Your complaint about the fillings is the first we have had in 2 years so I do apologise it was not to your individual taste.
I find it very upsetting that you said our cakes are not homemade, as they all are and we are very proud of this. It is against trading standards to advertise them as homemade if they are not. They are all in individual cellophane cake bags (purpose made to store cakes) as dictated by Food Hygiene Standards.
We offer a wide selection of food to cater for all dietary requirements - the more choice the more variety of customers.
I know the Cake Hole and Hallams have an amazing reputation but we are Café Leo and it is important for local business to offer different menus and experiences so there is somewhere to suit everyone's tastes. I would also like to mention that Hallams has since been sold and The Cake Hole is up for sale.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fab coffee, home made soup i lovely, and the cakes ...well try for yourself. Very clean, staff are always friendly and polite

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_Leo, Owner at Cafe Leo, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you had a good experience at Café Leo. We appriciate all feedback from our customers and hope to see you at the Café again soon.

Regards

Paul and Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It is very cosy. Lovely staff. Lovely choice of food at good prices. We have been for their Saturday night specials and so far all of the ones we have attended have been excellent

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_Leo, Owner at Cafe Leo, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you had a good experience at Café Leo. We appriciate all feedback from our customers and hope to see you at the Café again soon.

Regards

Paul and Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a fab idea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had breakfast out with the girls and had waffles with bacon and maple syrup on Soooo tasty! For a small place they had a great range of things on the menu and the service was excellent. I'd definitely go back

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe_Leo, Owner at Cafe Leo, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you had a good experience at Café Leo. We appriciate all feedback from our customers and hope to see you at the Café again soon.

Regards

Paul and Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Leo also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Cafe Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Leo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.