We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs better menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Syston Park Fruit Farm, Farm Shop & Cafe'

Syston Park Fruit Farm, Farm Shop & Cafe'
Syston Park | Syston, Grantham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 124 Restaurants in Grantham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: http://uktv.co.uk/food/outlet/aid/619660
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs better menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, children like it, but menu lacking, especially Breakfast. Would do so much better for some pastries and some afternoon team options and definitely FRESH MILKSHAKES for the children. You're a farm shop and your MILKSHAKES are artificial carton efforts which is a little scandalous to be fair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We came to this farm shop while visiting friends in Grantham and it was an absolute pleasure. We were able to walk around the fields and pick some strawberry's before settling down to some fresh coffee and a lunch comprising of entirely locally sourced produce.

The staff were happy and friendly and the prices, despite being slightly above average for the area were still reasonable. The location was gorgeous, upon asking a staff member who in turn rang the owner of the site we were given permission to take the dog for a quick walk up and around the lake as long as we cleaned up and kept him away from the fresh fruit which is understandable!

All in all a lovely afternoon and we would definitely go again when we are back in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Syston Fruit Farm over the years and have enjoyed many an afternoon picking fruit and enjoying a nice coffee and cake... This has not changed. However we booked for Sunday Lunch to celebrate after competing in a local triathlon. Having booked the table for 1:15pm we were looking forward to tucking into a lovely Sunday roast. To our absolute amazement when ordering we were told when we were eventually served that they had run out of Sunday roast!!!!! I can completely understand this happening towards the end of service at 3pm but not that early in the afternoon!! We were directed towards the specials board which was pretty bland and uninspired and ended up settling for a Brie and bacon tartlet which was served chilled and tasteless with a salad - not exactly the warming feast we had hoped for on a rainy Sunday afternoon. The children had to settle for a ciabatta pizza which was 80% onion, 5% cheese and bacon - a difficult pizza for a 5 and 7 yr old to tackle!! Really disappointing and will not be returning on a Sunday in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great scenery, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live locally so are lucky enough to be able to pop in regularly - which we do often! The views of the surrounding rolling hills are stunning and there is an attractive rustic wooden play park to keep children amused. Breakfast is always lovely but we have also enjoyed lunch as well as afternoon tea and cake. I always end up ordering the pate which I just love. It does get busy - especially during fruit season and just before Christmas but you can book a table and I have never had bad service. Get your Christmas tree there - you can walk out to the field and choose the one you want and they will either reserve it for you or cut it there and then! You don't get that at B and Q...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightfully different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a rare pleasure to find a farm restaurant offering authentic country cooking. I don't mean just bangers and mash but Game soup or Pheasant casserole made with ingredients sourced from the very farm that the place occupies. The surroundings are clean, bright and airy with seats outside if it ever warms up. I found the service polite and timely, I am happy to wait 10-15 minutes for a freshly prepared meal especially when it is as good as the aforementioned casserole.
A real gem

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syston Park Fruit Farm, Farm Shop & Cafe' also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Barrowby, Grantham
 

Been to Syston Park Fruit Farm, Farm Shop & Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syston Park Fruit Farm, Farm Shop & Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.