We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and un-sung” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Tables

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Four Tables
22 Bridge End Road, Grantham NG31 6JQ, England
1476572410
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 116 restaurants in Grantham
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and un-sung”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Absolutely fantastic food and service I had been meaning to go here for a while and then did last minute... The food was brilliant and the owner who was serving me and my partner was faultless. A very relaxed atmosphere and delicious food, good combination!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    24
    0
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linconshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“amazing food, hidden gem really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

if you think you know your food then eat here! its a french and Italian cuisine and the bloke who has it and cooks is a Michelin chef and he knows how to cook great food .Good choice of food and i wouldn't say your being charged too much for what you get so ignore them remarks! the portion sizes are pretty good i never manage to make it to dessert its that good!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What an amazing little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

After having the Four Tables recomended to me by my son my partner and i decided to give this place a try and wow what a lovely surprise, the moment we walked in the door the place and decor made us feel as if we were abroad, the smell of the food was amazing, we were greeted by Ali the owner and made to feel very welcome, we were invited to sit in the waiting area wich was very pleasent and had pots of nibbles readily available, the choice of the menu was varied and i think would cover everybody's taste,we ordered starters and a main course each, we were served with the most wonderful salad, dips and bread selection as an accompaniment, the starters were prepared and presented in a very professional manner and tasted wonderful, the main course was of the same standard, the service was second to none and at no time did we feel pressured in any way. All in all and absolute pleasure and we will using the Four Tables again for sure, thay say you pay for what you get and in this case that is so true,when you have food and a service like this you don't mind paying that little bit extra. P.S. look at the exotic menu, amazing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced And No Atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The place smelt of fust as soon as I walked through the door ... ( It looked like somones dated living room ) Then they sat us at a wobbly table !!
The meal was ok but overpriced, there was also too many staff serving us which made me feel uncomfortable, When we had finished our meal we wanted to stay and chat with friends over a few drinks and coffee ... It was only 10pm and they started to turn off the lights ... All in all a very unpleasant experience not to be repeated.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent! A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to give this place a try as we were feeling lazy and cpuldn't be bothered to drive out of town. So glad we did. We were spoiled for choice menu wise, but finally decided upon the calamari and moules marinier for starters. As soon as we'd ordered, we were served a complimentary salad which was fresh, crisp and well presented. We were also served warm crusty bread, with a selection of delicious home-made dips. Wonderful and very tasty. The starters were faultless. I have never eaten mussels so large and meaty, and the calamari was cooked to perfection. Very generous portions and well presented. For our mains, we chose the kangaroo steak, and the swordfish. Again, the portions were huge and wonderfully presented. Everything was clearly fresh and lovingly prepared. Just as we were gazing upon our beautiful plates of food, and wondering how we were going to fit all in, we were served with a huge dish of rosemary potatoes and roasted courgettes. Our only regret was that we just couldn't finish it all, though it tasted so good that we certainly gave it a good go! We arrived early on a Tuesday night and were the only customers, but the gentleman who greeted us, served us and cooked for us, managed to make us feel welcome and was courteous without being intrusive. The restaurant itself is small, but I found it both quaint and a bit quirky. Can't recommend highly enough. Worth every single penny!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Tables also viewed

 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Four Tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Tables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.