We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Tables

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Four Tables
22 Bridge End Road, Grantham NG31 6JQ, England
1476572410
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 125 Restaurants in Grantham
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I went here as a romantic evening for my birthday & it couldnt if been more perfect, I had the most delicious food, the chef couldn't be more helpfull and would basically cook me anything I wanted to suit my diatry requirements. The staff were welcoming and friendly and couldn't do enough for you, yes you may have to wait a while but everything is cooked from scratch and well worth a wait & that's the whole point you go there to spend the evening, it's not a fast food restaurant. they don't rush you and want to make your evening as special as they can which they certainly did.
The prices for the service, experience & food you recieve are far better than reasonable and I most certainly would recommend everyone to give this place a try..... Oh & the lemon cheese cake is to die for!!! Xxx thank you four tables xxx we will most defenatly be back!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    0
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire, england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Overseasoned and overpriced.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

After checking the reviews I thought I'd give it a try. I read about the interesting menu ie bison, crocodile, shark etc. only to find that none were available. I ordered beef pâté to start, accompanied by red onion marmalade. The pate contained large pieces of what I assume was bone and gristle. The red onion marmalade which I assumed to be like a chutney an sweet to cut through the beef, actually was marmalade with a huge orange segment. The onion mixed with the bitter orange made it inedible. Not only that, but my plate had a pesto drizzle and was accompanied by a basil leaf. Just too many flavours and not well thought out. My main sea bass was cooked ok but I think included mussels kept in brine and was oversalted and impossible to finish. The Chablis I ordered turned out to be Morrisons supermarket. Totally unacceptable.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Myself and two colleagues have been combing Grantham's restaurants on Trip Advisor for two weeks now, selecting a new one each night. To be frank, Four Tables is the best we've had - we all agree.

The food is exotic. The chef is a very nice man, although at first he seems a little grey. Try talking to him. He has an impressive history in his field. Look through his book while you're waiting to be seated - you'll see he's a master of his domain.

Now, on to the food. I had a zebra steak, another colleague had crocodile, and the third had marlin. All three we're absolutely gorgeous meals with delicious pallets, all natural ingredients, and absolutely stunning presentation. In addition, we were offered complementary salads, bread crisps and four great dips while we waited.

My advice to gentlemen would be, if you're in town and you have a date, or you're going out for a business dinner, choose the Four Tables. Make a reservation, go sit down in their peaceful environment, chat for hours, order something off the exotic steaks/fish menu and enjoy the delicious food. Don't be hesitant to talk to the chef - he has a lot of stories to tell about his career as a chef. You will not be disappointed... Oh, and get the Tiramisu for dessert. It is to die for. Cheers!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Wanted something bit special for wifes birthday treat. Pre ordered as 8 of us. Due to various locations of family could only manage a Sunday. Ali opened Sunday afternoon & treated us royaly with banners & cake included. The food is something you have got to taste to believe, from starters to desset your taste buds are in for some amazing sensations. Well done Ali & his girls.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a fantastic Birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My boyfriend organised my 40th birthday with family and friends at the Four Tables. What a fantastic night. Ali helped create a varied and very tasty menu from wild bore, monk fish and wildebeast to french, italian or anything you can think of (with a little warning) and decorated the resturant. We had the whole place to ourselves for most of the night which was probably a good thing as we were rather noisy! It didn't bother the staff, thankfully. The service was very good and the food was to die for. Ali presented me with his own signed recipe book and a beautiful birthday cake. We and our family and friends would definately recommend the Four Tables for a party of maximum 22 to a quiet, intimate dinner for two.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Tables also viewed

 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Four Tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Tables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.