We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklynn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklynn Guest House
Save
You added Brooklynn Guest House to your Saves list
Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the sixth year in a row that my wife and I and some friends have visited Grantown for the golf week and stayed at Brooklynn Guest House. We were not dissapointed! The accommodation was as good as ever and the food was still superb; great breakfasts and wonderful evening meals.
Alan and Silvia, as usual, were the perfect hosts.
After a round of golf we spent some very enjoyable time with our friends in Alan and Silvia's back garden playing cards and eating delicious strawberries straight from the garden.
If you want a comfortable room, great food and first class hosts look no further than Brooklynn.
The weather was also very kind to us in what has been a dreadful summer.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are sunny in the morning but those to the rear are more private and overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you too for making your stay so pleasant for us - even though there are now no strawberries left! We are already looking forward to next year's Golf Open and your annual visit to Grantown. Please say 'hello' to all the others and welcome back soon.

All the best from the beautiful, if a wee bit wet today, Cairngorms National Park in the wonderful Highlands of Scotland!

Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
54
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Travelling for work I have stayed in many B and B's, but I have to say that The Brooklyn was hands down the best! Alan and Silvia were amazing attentive hosts, ready to assist with any request. The rooms were beautiful and large and the attached bath was surprisingly spacious. The breakfasts were gourmet treasures with many homemade (yoghurt, fruit coulis, jams) and locally sourced items. The fresh fruit salad followed a custom cooked breakfast were the perfect way to start the day. The quirky decorating, a product of travels around the world, just added to the overall charm of Brooklyn. I highly recommend if you are staying in the Strathspey area to stay with Alan and Silvia at the Brooklyn Guest House!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your very flattering review. We are very happy to hear that we made your stay with us so pleasant. It was fun talking to you and discovering more about this beautiful area. Don't wait for business, come back for pleasure. We would welcome the opportunity to make a second stay as comfortable. Thank you. Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a lovely stay with Silvia and Alan for three nights, enjoying their hospitality, surroundings and cooking to the full. Brooklyn is a grand base in Speyside to access all the goodies the area has to offer - walking, cycling, distillery visits! After a gap of nine years it was as if we had been regular visitors, such was the welcome Silvia and Alan gave us. The home made food and cooking just adds to the overall personal touch which makes this such a pleasant place to stay - we hope to return sooner next time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Well, thank you for your review. Even though it was 9 years since your last visit, it was still a great pleasure to welcome you back. Thank goodness the weather was not too bad for your cycling and distillery jaunts. Although we are the longest established Guest House in Grantown - will we still be here in 9 years time? Don't wait so long! Thank you. Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed with Alan and Silvia to walk in the environment of Grantown and to taste some whiskies. We had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the single rooms which were comfortable. Shower and bath were great.

Enjoyed the scotish breakfast, homemade bread and especially the homemade yoghurt.

Sylvia and Alan are very good hosts. They have a big library with books and maps so you don't will be bored. Nice (little) place. We can recommend Robbies bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks for the good review. We appreciate you taking the time. Next time stay for longer - there are still so many whiskies to taste! All the best, Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have just spent three nights at the Brooklyn Guesthouse in Grantown on Spey. What a wonderful welcome we received from the owners Silvia and Alan. Home baking and coffee on arrival served in their comfortable guest lounge. The house is jam packed with interesting cornucopia from their travels around the world. The bedroom was spacious and well presented. The breakfasts were cooked to order and never disappointing. Highlight of our stay was an evening meal prepared by Alan. A five star culinary delight. We would highly recommend the Brooklyn Guesthouse to all who wish to stay in Grantown on Spey.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for writing such a splendid and wholly applicable review! Alan will be delighted to read your dinner comments. We love cooking and it is especially rewarding with such appreciative guests. We look forward to your next stay in Grantown and to solving all the world's problems over after dinner coffee!

Thanks again,

Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

There's not a lot to be said about the house which has not already been said by other reviewers...the rooms are (very) clean, the house is nicely decorated (altough we were afraid to stumble into the items after returning from "the legion"), the breakfast is really awesome and Silvia and Alan are just lovely!
PS thanks for the idea to visit Applecross. It was really quite an adventure to get there! Once we arrived there we were awarded with an open BBQ and music. We even got a blink on the Olympic torch in Edinburgh since we missed our plane and had to stay another night :-)
Greetings from the swiss guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Well, thank you! You two really seem to have had a good time in Scotland - a party at nearly every stop. So glad you enjoyed the road to Applecross - one of Scotland's highlights, but only if you have a head for heights!

Thank you for extending your stay with us and your kind comments. You will be very welcome back to Brooklynn in the future.

With our best wishes to you and Basel!

Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just back from a fantastic couple of days staying at Brooklynn. Sylvia and Alan made us feel very welcome, with a lovely slice of cake and hot drinks on arrival. Very reasonably priced, with an excellent home-cooked breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We really enjoyed having you stay with us at Brooklynn and we look forward to welcoming you back, with or without your friends, for an autumn break, dinner and great golf.

With best wishes from Alan and Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklynn Guest House

Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklynn is our lovely late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners delicious and the gardens pretty. Welcome; we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklynn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklynn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.