We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklynn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklynn Guest House
Save
You added Brooklynn Guest House to your Saves list
Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here with my sister and dog with some friends staying nearby at an activity centre. Alan and Silvia made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. Tea with scones in the lounge greeted us on our arrival. They were always willing to offer advice on our trips and were always on hand when we needed something. They were very friendly and humourous without being intrusive. I would definitly recommend The Brooklynn to friends and would stay there again if in the area. The food was great. The decor of the house was lovely and they even loaned us some brochures and maps for one of our signtseeing trips. Excellent hosts.

Room Tip: The room was excellent with full tea making facit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review for us. Well done for getting to the top of Cairngorm. Having such a sweet dog with such well behaved owners, you will all be welocme back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
54
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Alan and Syliva are the most delightful hosts, and made our stay at Brooklyn an extremely pleasant and comfortable one. They really seemed to care, and went the extra mile to make us feel 'at home'. My American husband, 7-year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunities we had to chat with our hosts over a delicious breakfast (the thought of their salmon and scrambled eggs still makes my mouth water!). The house is beautiful - eccentric and comfortable, with a wicked sense of fun. And the garden, where they grow many of the ingredients for the delicious meals, was equally gorgeous. We were sad to say 'goodbye', but have no doubt we'll stay with Alan and Sylvia again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company too. The plant you left us is doing very well and flowering beautifully in the lounge. Hope to see you at brooklynn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We chose Brooklynn as the base for our three day walking holiday in the Cairngorms. The house itself is perfectly situated in Grantown. Just one street away from the main street makes it quiet, yet only a two minute walk from the restaurants and pubs. Allan & Sylvia (the owners) are extremely friendly but fiendishly efficient. The exceptional breakfast (fresh fruit, cereal, followed by an extensive full-scottish) is always ready at the time you requested it. The rooms were great and the beds comfortable. I would most definitely return, and I would recommend Brooklyn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Schweiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

A highlight of our journey in Scotland are the days when we could stay at the lovely home "Brooklynn" of Alan and Silvia Woodier. We enjoyed the warm hospitality, the delicious food and the advice for interesting excursions. Thank you very much for everything. We miss your excellent breakfast and the very tasty dinner!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Great stay in this very nice B&B. Allan and Sylvia were extremely nice to us and gave us plenty of advices for our stay. We had a very nice room. They have a really nice garden. Breakfast was very good as well as diner that we had there. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed in Grantown-on-Spey because we wanted to explore Cairngorm National Park and Aviemore seemed too commercialized. We ended up really liking Grantown and our charming B&B, which had Oriental themed rooms, comfortable beds, and excellent scrambled eggs. The hosts were very chatty and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for your positive response. We enjoyed having you at Brooklynn and are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful Highlands of Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This B & B was picked at random off the internet and what a lucky choice! The house is immaculately presented and Alan and Sylvia the perfect hosts. The food was exceptionally good - in fact we never once felt the need during our stay to venture out for an evening meal as what was provided at Brooklynn was superbly selected and cooked and excellent value for money (£25 for sherry, canapes, a three course meal followed by coffee and treats!!). Thank you for an excellent stay.
Tony & Sue

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown, Owner at Brooklynn Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for your comments on Brooklynn, especially our dinners. We love cooking and do try to please our guests. It is always good to know we have been successful. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brooklynn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklynn Guest House

Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklynn is our lovely late Victorian home situated in the attractive Scottish Highlands town of Grantown-on-Spey which is in The Cairngorms National Park. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners delicious and the gardens pretty. Welcome; we hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklynn Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklynn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.