We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Cala Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Cala Guest House
Save
You added An Cala Guest House to your Saves list
Woodlands Terrace,, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ohio, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quintessential B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed for one night of a two week tour of Scotland and Ireland at this B& B. As a previous reviewer stated, my only regret is that we did not have time to stay longer. The home is beautiful and the hosts are absolutely the warmest most wonderful hosts that you can imagine. We arrived quite late at night, however Val was very gracious and offered us a spot of tea before we retired. We had a lovely converstion and she did not make us feel like we were keeping her up at all. the room was just gorgeous with a huge bathroom and all the ameneties that you could want. In the morning we had breakfast in a beautiful dining room with another couple from the US and we discussed our trips. Keith gave us a great tip on a travel route that avoided all the lorries and was a stupendous advantage over our prior route. We went to visit several of the distilleries and he provided guidance on the best tours and the best routes from one to another. the other couple was also doing distillery tours and so Val provided us with a couple jellie jars so that we could taste and still drive. The exterior of this 120 year old home is just as lovely as the interior and the hosts. In my opinion, this was far and away the best of the 8 bed and breakfasts that we stayed at in our 2 week visit and I would highly recommend that everyone stay here!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — that we could not stay longer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Innisfil, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at An Cala in Grantown-on-Spey during our honeymoon in Scotland. We stayed for 2 nights, and it was one of the highlights of our 2 weeks. Val Dickinson was a wonderful hostess, and greeted us warmly on our arrival. We immediately felt welcome. The rooms were wonderful, there was a lovely common room to use, and the breakfast was delicious. It is also well placed to take in the surrounding area and activities (like a free tour of Glenlivet distillery). If I had one complaint, it would be that we didn't get to stay longer. I would recommend An Cala without hesitation.

  • Liked — Hospitality, Atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

An excellent experience all around. Great breakfasts, rooms were very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Val and Keith Dickinson (your hosts) are just the best. Could not have been more helpful and engaging. Look no further!

  • Liked — The friendly service and food!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

My wife and I have just returned from a short break to Grantown on Spey where we stayed at the An Cala guest house.
The rooms are spacious, well appointed, comfortable and elegantly furnished. The owners were warm and hospitable and made every effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
There is also a large lounge in which to relax and unwind.
There was a huge choice on the menu for breakfast and all the food was beautifully prepared and presented. You won't need lunch after this meal !
It is located in a quiet part of town yet only a few minutes walk from the town's amenities.
Grantown on Spey is a perfect base for touring this area of the highlands which has many attractive activities to offer. If you plan to come here then the An Cala guest house would be an excellent choice of place to stay and represents outstanding value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

Just had 2 lovely nights at this warm and welcoming guest house.

Val and Keith are the perfect hosts, friendly, welcoming, helpful, and fun. They do a really good breakfast and, as the smell of dinner cooking was so good,we plan to eat in next time. Menus are available for local restaurants and phone bookings are offered.

Val and Keith are very knowledgable about the local area and offer great advice and tips to make this a perfect base for the area. Rooms are warm, spotlessly clean, spacious and well furnished with period pieces. All are en suite. Use of the lounge with log fire is a welcome bonus after a full days activities..

Excellent value for money.
We plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

What a welcome, greeted by Val & Keith with a smile, cup of tea and cake,.
Very friendly atmosphere, you are "one of the family".

Excellent accommodation, beautifully appointed bedrooms and bathrooms

Fabulous breakfast all home cooked and locally produced.

Extremely good value for money.

Well located in the highlands for all the amenities.

Would go back without hesitation.

Tell your friends.

Arlene & David
28 May 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

We recently had 2 nights at this bed and breakfast and the owner val made us very welcome. The rooms are just so grande and you feel like you are in a castle in fact one of the rooms dones have a bed from one. The rooms are all very spacious and decorated very nicely. The breakfast is very fresh and was eaten in this lovely dining room. They even helped us to organise our dinner at a lovely scottish pub.I could recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting the scottish highlands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Cala Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Cala Guest House

Address: Woodlands Terrace,, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
An Cala Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Cala Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.