We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Would certainly go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dulnain Bridge | Morayshire, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
“Wonderful! Would certainly go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at Muckrach last year, and it was very pleasant. Although we're not the sort who generally post reviews, we just had to comment on our recent return there. The rooms were clean, and the superior room we had was big, spacious and comfortable. The food however, was absolutely amazing, and a hundred times better than last year. There is a new chef, and you can tell because the quality is the best we have ever had in Scotland. We stayed for three days and had intended to try the restaurants in the area, but after our first night's dinner at Muckrach, and after looking at the menus of other places, we decided to eat at the hotel every night. The menu changes every day, so there was lots of choice. We had venison, beef, sole and lobster and we remember each dish still. The staff are really polite, friendly but not intrusive, and looked after us really well. Top marks and we'll definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    30
    13
    15
See reviews for
12
87
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale FL USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We did not stay at the hotel, only dined in restaurant. The atmosphere was fabulous: the surrounding gardens were beautiful and easily enjoyed through the glass walls of the dining room. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was very fresh, but the fish and steak were a little overcooked.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ediburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We had a superb dinner and breakfast- a real stand out in terms of our stay. Our room was a little 'dusty' and perhaps the hotel as a whole would appreciate an interior designer colour scheme make over, (admittedly a very personal opinion) but we we couldn't fault our welcome. And it's in a great location for things to do.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Excellent food . Friendly atmosphere with a cosy bar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I don't know who gave this property four stars, but it is definitely time for a review...The breakfast buffet is a joke. It looks like the leftover pickings after an army has moved through, even first thing in the morning.
The decor is complety random (Andy Picheta's directorial awards, china plates, ultra modern collage, off-the-rack 'fine art' , vintage luggage, whimsical bird sculptures, chinese terracotta, and in the bathroom, a seaside theme?? in the Highlands??)
The rooms are comfortable enough, but the bed in our room proved to be two twins shoved together, as we discovered in the middle of the night, as they had begun to pull apart and I had to wrench my arm from the resulting crevasse!
The restaurant is good, but the menu is very small, and the waitstaff don't seem very well armed...every question we put to our waiter sent him scurrying back to the kitchen, only to return with half an answer or no answer at all.
The lounge is so full of furniture, seemingly thrown in, that in order to rfeach the sofa from the bar, we actually had to move a few large leather chairs out of our way! The following night, we wanted to sit by the fire, and had to re-arrange even more furniture!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diabolo666, Director at Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Muckrach is designated by the Scottish Tourist Board as a three star country house hotel with an overall score of 78%

The breakfast service is usually cooked to order from fresh, local ingredients each morning. A breakfast buffet is used only at the request of corporate or other clients taking the entire hotel. There has not been a buffet for private guests since Christmas, when this method of breakfast service was briefly used to alleviate staff shortages.

Very occasionally guests will book a twin room and change their minds on arrival, requesting conversion to a double. Some rooms are better as twins, and we request guests to specify their choice prior to arrival.

The remainder of this review is a matter of individual opinion not shared by the vast majority of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My husband and I escaped without our children for a weekend in November last year.

We found Muckrach (and a great deal on the rate) through the laterooms website.

The driveway is a bit potholed and bumpy, but this only added to the rustic charm of the approach to this beautiful Victorian hunting lodge.

The owners are very hands-on managers, and over the course of our stay both Andy and Rebecca were very friendly and interesting to chat to (without being in any way intrusive).

We were allocated a fabulous room - the 'Castle Suite', so named because the windows overlook one! It was like having our own private apartment, with a large main bedroom with sitting area and a second smaller room with 2 single beds. Along our own corridor lay a large and well stocked bathroom with lots of gorgeous L'Occitane toiletries and plenty of warm, fluffy and spotlessly white towels.

Due to the fact that the suite was tucked up in the eaves of the house, it was completely peaceful, and we felt as if we could have been the only guests there.

The food in the restaurant was SO amazing. We had dinner and breakfast there both days and can't praise the chef highly enough - the food was amongst the best I've ever eaten anywhere in the world. Without exaggeration!

If you're looking for cosy, romantic, open fires, tartan carpets and the real romantic Scottish experience, then this is the place for you.

Just don't tell everyone how fabulous it is - let's keep it as our secret!!

  • Liked — The complete feeling of escape! Very relaxing...
  • Disliked — Going home...
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dulnain Bridge | Morayshire, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MUCKRACH COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL IS CURRENTLY UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT & WILL RE-OPEN IN JANUARY 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckrach Hotel Grantown On Spey
Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muckrach Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.