We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Highland Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garth Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Highland Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Looking for a weekend break in Strathspey, we found the Garth Hotel on a late booking site and reserved three nights. Despite the last-minute reservation, our room, which was a 'standard double', was excellent with a (modern, steel-framed) four poster bed and, impressively, a small seating area in the bay window. The view was down the main street, over an ornamental garden, which in this location was probably about the best in the hotel.

The staff were all friendly and attentive and added to the experience. We dined in the restaurant on only one night, but the meal was of a very high standard and served promptly. The breakfasts comprised a buffet selection of cereals, juices and fruits, followed by the full highland selection of locally sourced meat and fish.

The bar is very small, but has a good selection of malt whiskies and other drinks, including the local beers. Outside seating is also available - but beware of the midges especially later in the evening.

Overall, an excellent stay at a very reasonable price. It is very likely we will return.

Room Tip: Room 11 (and 12, I believe) have the bay windows with seating overlooking the ornamental gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
78
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawford, lanarkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Managed to get in here at last minute and so pleased we did. Read some of the reviews and it seemed impressive so kept trying till a room came up. On arrival it was so quick and all in order, great room - room 4, bed a bit hard again but it was only one night. Booked in for dinner right away and so glad we did, it was mobbed and no wonder what amazing food and great value. When hotels make chips this good you know you are on a winner. Good selection of wines and pretty cool selection of Whisky - I hit the Ben Rinnes - stonking dram. Dont miss this place at all as you will regret it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are just home from an absolutely fantastic weekend at the Garth Hotel. We had a very small, informal wedding and Adrian and his staff got it spot on. They went so far above and beyond to make our day special that we can't thank them enough. Everyone said how much they enjoyed the weekend, the hotel looks exactly like a highland hotel should, but has nice modern rooms. The food was excellent - two of our party have allergies and the chef produced brilliant gluten free options. Thank you so much, we will be recommending you to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently attended a 21st Birthday in the Garth Hotel where we had a lovely meal. The menu had something for everyone and all of our party enjoyed their dishes tremendously. The waiter was very helpful all evening and we all had a blast. There was a nice atmosphere, appropriate tartan decorations - overall a very pleasant dinning experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Garth Hotel is situated at the end of the main street in Grantown on Spey,which is a charming town with many facilities,quieter than nearby Aviemore,and an ideal base from which to visit the many nearby tourist attractions and Cairngorm mountains.Parking is free in the hotel car park.
It is a lovely little Highland Hotel,very traditional and quaint,with 18 rooms,bar,cosy lounge with log fire and a good size restaurant/function area.There are also two nice public rooms upstairs which can be used for meetings or private family gatherings,etc.
The food at the Garth is simply wonderful,which is demonstrated by the many locals who choose to eat there on a regular basis,and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We stayed at the Garth for 3 nights,Fri-Sun as our son was marrying a local lass and the hotel hosted the wedding following a beautiful ceremony on the beach at Loch Morlich at the foot of the Cairngorm Mountain........stunning location!
We had a brilliant weekend,the highlight of which was a reception for 75 guests on the Saturday with full wedding meal, followed by the best wedding dance I have ever experienced in my life.
Manager Andrew and Staff provided great service throughout the weekend and their efforts on the wedding day were monumental.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from another amazing weekend in Speyside.
Staff from this hotel are excellent and will bend over backwards for you!
Would recommend the restaurant and the breakfast is full Scottish suited to your requirements.
Rooms are clean and all round excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You have to like tartan to stay at the Garth...a liking for malt whiskey and excellent food helps too. There's a lot to like about this small hotel and very few 'buts'....overall we had a great time just before New Year - the staff were all friendly and helpful, its in a great location for exploring and as a hotel/restaurant, it ticks all the boxes.
But(s)...the bar is a bit tired, felt a bit unloved and forgotten...the lounge with the log fire was nicer but separated from the bar and no-one seemed to be attending to customers in there. The rooms are very comfortable but there are some thin walls..so be aware, whichever side (noise maker or receiver) you are.For the most part the food was excellent but one breakfast was disappointing with very overcooked haddock.

We'll be going back - hopefully to make it a base to ski if the lifts are open...we definitely won't bother looking at the Grant Hotel over the road - we did think about having dinner there one night and went in to have a look at the menu and enquire...we won't be going back there - not helpful and uninspiring menu - you'll definitely get a better choice and meal at the Garth.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Castle Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garth Hotel, standing on the north end of the village square, in the heart of Grantown-on-Spey, was built in the 1850's and began its life as an Inn. Over the years the hotel has prospered, becoming the Premier Independent Hotel in Grantown-on-Spey. This Scottish hotel, near Aviemore, has recently been refurbished to encompass the perfect blend of elegant Victorian design and originality and all modern comforts. Fine hotel accommodation in the Scottish Highlands offering the standard of hospitality that Scotland has become renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Garth Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Hotel Grantown On Spey
Garth Hotel & Restaurant Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garth Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.