We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to increase your waistine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J & J B & B

J & J B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & J B & B
Save
You added J & J B & B to your Saves list
'Bedrock' | Cromdale & Balmenach, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prepare to increase your waistine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently spent three nights at J & J b&b. This place is excellent with every thing you require to have a comfortable and highly enjoyable stay. Jenny and John are so thoughtful. Jenny baked a delicious strawberry and chocolate cake for my birthday. Prepare to put on weight, the breakfasts are amazing and made from locally sourced indredients. J&J is better than any 5 star hotel. The attention to detail in everything you might need during your stay is second to none. The bungalo is set in beautiful scenery, nice and quiet at night but still within easy reach to Granton on Spey. The views from our spotlessly clean and comfortable bedroom were awesome. This area is beautiful with so many things to see and do. We loved it and will definately return to this top notch accomodation. Thanks again Jenny and John, you deserve to do well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here at the end of May Bank Holiday for two nights. A very warm welcome by Jenny and John with hot tea/coffee and home made cakes on arrival. Rooms were spotless, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - make sure you have some of the home made jam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

well you will not be disappointed at this little gem of a place john and jenny are the perfect hosts and make you so welcome and give lots of advice on places to visit with listening to other guests they know which places are of interest are the best there certainly is so much to do in this area all very interesting so unfortunately for them we will have to go back .We certainly had a good start to the day with a delicious breakfast that keeps you going all day perfectly presented and nothing is too much trouble they will be a hard act to follow and certainly the best b and b for us.first class accommodation with top class hosts.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Jenny and John were very hospitable, friendly. We (young couple without children) stayed for one night. The accommodations were comfortable, clean, and decorated tastefully. The rooms had available tea and cookies. Upon arriving they made us feel right at home with hot tea and home baked breads. We were even able to arrange to wash a load of clothes for a small/reasonable fee. Breakfast was very tasty. Overall, it was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at.

Room Tip: The B/B does not come up as a correct location on Google maps (which is about 100meters off). The B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very welcoming. Transported 4 walkers from end and to start of 3 days walking. Accommodation excellent, breakfast great, check out the black pudding and the size of the on-site free range eggs! Packed lunches available on request. Hosts Jenny and John very friendly.
This was the best of 5 B&Bs used on our Speyside Way walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great B&B - in fact the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The welcome, the rooms and the breakfast were all absolutely first class and significantly better than many hotels that I have stayed in. If you are looking for a base in Moray or the Cairngorms this is really a fantastic option!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from walking part of the Speyside Way as a party of 5 ladies of 'a certain age'. Jenny and John put us all up in their lovely home and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Rooms and bathrooms were spotless, food was excellent and very good value, and the location is stunning. Our hosts really 'went the extra mile', helping us 'oldies' with lifts when we arrived cold and wet in nearby Cromdale. I can heartily recommend the accommodation 'Bedrock' has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to J & J B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & J B & B

Address: 'Bedrock' | Cromdale & Balmenach, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious bungalow in tranquil location, set in the beautiful Spey Valley, within the Cairngorms National Park. Luxury en-suite double or twin bedrooms with views of the surrounding countryside. Adjacent to the Balmenach distillery (est. 1823) and within easy walking distance to the River Spey. Three miles from the picturesque town of Grantown on Spey. Abundant wildlife on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
J & J B & B Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & J B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.